Michele and Esse
Very Active Member
Daily Digest:
Esse AMPS=80. Token dose of 0.5U. Fed Innova.
+4=85
+8=165
+11=240
PMPS=258. Fed wellness. Shot 3
+2=222
*********************
Eeyore AMPS=175. s2. Fed Innova
+4=133
+8=143
+11=233
PMPS=258. Fed Wellness. Shot s2
+2=50.
*********************
Esse WCR: Surprising green to wake with. Second time in the last few days she's been in the 80s at shot time, so I'm emptying her shed a tad. Food changes seem to be working. All Ps in order, very snuggly over the last few days - it's been unusually chilly, so it's not uncommon to find her tucked between pillows and other cats (and me) when I wake. After yesterday's trauma/drama, I expected her (and Eeyore) to be wonky today, but no...it's all good.
Eeyore WCR: Wow, 175 for Amps. Pretty darned pleased there. Food changes seem to have helped, and I've been decreasing his dose a bit over the last few days; asking his body to step up and to do what it apparently can do...which is provide needed fuel when his exogenous fuel runs low. Still seeing the dramatic V, but the changes are starting to work, and that's good.
This is what I've changed. I had been giving a lot of food during the day, because of his weight issues, as well as making sure the other 9 have enough to eat. Now that he's a great weight (15.8 pounds, as opposed to the 7.8 he came to me at), and his body has changed...I figured that if I can start limiting the food, maybe his highs won't be so high. I have also come to the conclusion that I have to work **with** his liver, so that we can get a partnership going.
So instead of as much food as possible, I've started limiting. They get a whole large can for breakfast, split between the 10. Then, at +4, 1/2 large can (again split). Then at +8, the rest of the can. Then, for PM, a large can. Then, just before bed, I put out 1/2 of a can, as well as 6 raw medallions (chicken is the current fave; they don't seem to like lamb at all...).
I've also started shortening his dose a bit. A few days ago, I went from f2 to 2. Today, I went to a s2. He did hop into the 4s, but only once since this started...mostly, it's been pinks and yellows...except for this morning, which was a gorgeous blue. I figure if I shorten his dose a tad every few days, we can find the perfect dose for him. I honestly believe, with nadirs in the 50s (that I've caught; some could be lower, some higher), that there is NO room for an increase; and that instead, a decrease is called for. But the last time I did this, it was abrupt, and large...0.5u instead of backing down slowly, and asking his body to come back on line. This time, I'm edging it down a bit, gradually, and seeing where this leads us. I am very happy with the results so far, but then again, it could just be the moon. (However, with Esse's numbers coming down too, I'm thinking...well, maybe the food plan is working, as well as the shortening of the dose. We will see....we will see...).
***LET ME BE PLAIN***: this is not how other people should deal with their kitties' highs. Eeyore is a special case, and, as such, is requiring special tweaking and manipulation. Further, I am well versed in diabetes, both human and feline, AND have a medical background. And lastly, I have tried everything else I can think of before deciding to go this route. DO NOT think I'm endorsing this for every cat, nor for even more than just Eeyore. And I still don't know if this will work; it's very early into things, and we may just be seeing shed emtpying and not a 'clean' number. DO NOT DO THIS AT HOME, in other words. Don't follow my lead - I don't know where this path goes.
As for reference to yesterday's drama/trauma, my bathroom basically exploded. Water pouring out of the drain in the tub, toilet overflowing, sink filling...not pretty in the least; and very stinky. When I noticed bits of wood, I realized...ah, we've got roots in the main pipes. So I called the landlord, who called a huge plumbing team, who went onto the roof and snaked out the pipes, thus frightening every living thing (including me) in the house. After the water drained, I spent hours cleaning (and still will do more today), and not one cat has returned to the windowsill in the bathroom. LOL. So it was pretty wild here yesterday, plumbers tromping in and out, climbing the roof and going under the house, noise in the pipes, geyers in the bath. I expected some weird things on the kitties' numbers this morning, but...happily, nope.
Bean WCR: still having a very hard time. Took Tango to the opening show of the season, and didn't even ride. Someone tried to buy him, though, which made me smile. And our instructor did take him over 3 foot fences in the practice arena, which he doesn't do at home (yet...how things will change now...). Dad is leaving to film a movie in Canada today, and I'm beside myself with worry. Yes, I know there are Drs in Canada...but still. I'm very worried. And my class graduates without me tomorrow, and that makes me very sad. And on and on...
Jus thought I'd pop in and let you all know how my pair of sugarbabies are doing...
best-
Michele
Esse AMPS=80. Token dose of 0.5U. Fed Innova.
+4=85
+8=165
+11=240
PMPS=258. Fed wellness. Shot 3
+2=222
*********************
Eeyore AMPS=175. s2. Fed Innova
+4=133
+8=143
+11=233
PMPS=258. Fed Wellness. Shot s2
+2=50.
*********************
Esse WCR: Surprising green to wake with. Second time in the last few days she's been in the 80s at shot time, so I'm emptying her shed a tad. Food changes seem to be working. All Ps in order, very snuggly over the last few days - it's been unusually chilly, so it's not uncommon to find her tucked between pillows and other cats (and me) when I wake. After yesterday's trauma/drama, I expected her (and Eeyore) to be wonky today, but no...it's all good.
Eeyore WCR: Wow, 175 for Amps. Pretty darned pleased there. Food changes seem to have helped, and I've been decreasing his dose a bit over the last few days; asking his body to step up and to do what it apparently can do...which is provide needed fuel when his exogenous fuel runs low. Still seeing the dramatic V, but the changes are starting to work, and that's good.
This is what I've changed. I had been giving a lot of food during the day, because of his weight issues, as well as making sure the other 9 have enough to eat. Now that he's a great weight (15.8 pounds, as opposed to the 7.8 he came to me at), and his body has changed...I figured that if I can start limiting the food, maybe his highs won't be so high. I have also come to the conclusion that I have to work **with** his liver, so that we can get a partnership going.
So instead of as much food as possible, I've started limiting. They get a whole large can for breakfast, split between the 10. Then, at +4, 1/2 large can (again split). Then at +8, the rest of the can. Then, for PM, a large can. Then, just before bed, I put out 1/2 of a can, as well as 6 raw medallions (chicken is the current fave; they don't seem to like lamb at all...).
I've also started shortening his dose a bit. A few days ago, I went from f2 to 2. Today, I went to a s2. He did hop into the 4s, but only once since this started...mostly, it's been pinks and yellows...except for this morning, which was a gorgeous blue. I figure if I shorten his dose a tad every few days, we can find the perfect dose for him. I honestly believe, with nadirs in the 50s (that I've caught; some could be lower, some higher), that there is NO room for an increase; and that instead, a decrease is called for. But the last time I did this, it was abrupt, and large...0.5u instead of backing down slowly, and asking his body to come back on line. This time, I'm edging it down a bit, gradually, and seeing where this leads us. I am very happy with the results so far, but then again, it could just be the moon. (However, with Esse's numbers coming down too, I'm thinking...well, maybe the food plan is working, as well as the shortening of the dose. We will see....we will see...).
***LET ME BE PLAIN***: this is not how other people should deal with their kitties' highs. Eeyore is a special case, and, as such, is requiring special tweaking and manipulation. Further, I am well versed in diabetes, both human and feline, AND have a medical background. And lastly, I have tried everything else I can think of before deciding to go this route. DO NOT think I'm endorsing this for every cat, nor for even more than just Eeyore. And I still don't know if this will work; it's very early into things, and we may just be seeing shed emtpying and not a 'clean' number. DO NOT DO THIS AT HOME, in other words. Don't follow my lead - I don't know where this path goes.
As for reference to yesterday's drama/trauma, my bathroom basically exploded. Water pouring out of the drain in the tub, toilet overflowing, sink filling...not pretty in the least; and very stinky. When I noticed bits of wood, I realized...ah, we've got roots in the main pipes. So I called the landlord, who called a huge plumbing team, who went onto the roof and snaked out the pipes, thus frightening every living thing (including me) in the house. After the water drained, I spent hours cleaning (and still will do more today), and not one cat has returned to the windowsill in the bathroom. LOL. So it was pretty wild here yesterday, plumbers tromping in and out, climbing the roof and going under the house, noise in the pipes, geyers in the bath. I expected some weird things on the kitties' numbers this morning, but...happily, nope.
Bean WCR: still having a very hard time. Took Tango to the opening show of the season, and didn't even ride. Someone tried to buy him, though, which made me smile. And our instructor did take him over 3 foot fences in the practice arena, which he doesn't do at home (yet...how things will change now...). Dad is leaving to film a movie in Canada today, and I'm beside myself with worry. Yes, I know there are Drs in Canada...but still. I'm very worried. And my class graduates without me tomorrow, and that makes me very sad. And on and on...
Jus thought I'd pop in and let you all know how my pair of sugarbabies are doing...
best-
Michele