5/25 Esse PMPS=258 +2=222, Eeyore PMPS=258 +2=50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Very Active Member
Daily Digest:
Esse AMPS=80. Token dose of 0.5U. Fed Innova.
+4=85
+8=165
+11=240
PMPS=258. Fed wellness. Shot 3
+2=222
*********************
Eeyore AMPS=175. s2. Fed Innova
+4=133
+8=143
+11=233
PMPS=258. Fed Wellness. Shot s2
+2=50.
*********************

Esse WCR: Surprising green to wake with. Second time in the last few days she's been in the 80s at shot time, so I'm emptying her shed a tad. Food changes seem to be working. All Ps in order, very snuggly over the last few days - it's been unusually chilly, so it's not uncommon to find her tucked between pillows and other cats (and me) when I wake. After yesterday's trauma/drama, I expected her (and Eeyore) to be wonky today, but no...it's all good.

Eeyore WCR: Wow, 175 for Amps. Pretty darned pleased there. Food changes seem to have helped, and I've been decreasing his dose a bit over the last few days; asking his body to step up and to do what it apparently can do...which is provide needed fuel when his exogenous fuel runs low. Still seeing the dramatic V, but the changes are starting to work, and that's good.

This is what I've changed. I had been giving a lot of food during the day, because of his weight issues, as well as making sure the other 9 have enough to eat. Now that he's a great weight (15.8 pounds, as opposed to the 7.8 he came to me at), and his body has changed...I figured that if I can start limiting the food, maybe his highs won't be so high. I have also come to the conclusion that I have to work **with** his liver, so that we can get a partnership going.

So instead of as much food as possible, I've started limiting. They get a whole large can for breakfast, split between the 10. Then, at +4, 1/2 large can (again split). Then at +8, the rest of the can. Then, for PM, a large can. Then, just before bed, I put out 1/2 of a can, as well as 6 raw medallions (chicken is the current fave; they don't seem to like lamb at all...).

I've also started shortening his dose a bit. A few days ago, I went from f2 to 2. Today, I went to a s2. He did hop into the 4s, but only once since this started...mostly, it's been pinks and yellows...except for this morning, which was a gorgeous blue. I figure if I shorten his dose a tad every few days, we can find the perfect dose for him. I honestly believe, with nadirs in the 50s (that I've caught; some could be lower, some higher), that there is NO room for an increase; and that instead, a decrease is called for. But the last time I did this, it was abrupt, and large...0.5u instead of backing down slowly, and asking his body to come back on line. This time, I'm edging it down a bit, gradually, and seeing where this leads us. I am very happy with the results so far, but then again, it could just be the moon. (However, with Esse's numbers coming down too, I'm thinking...well, maybe the food plan is working, as well as the shortening of the dose. We will see....we will see...).

***LET ME BE PLAIN***: this is not how other people should deal with their kitties' highs. Eeyore is a special case, and, as such, is requiring special tweaking and manipulation. Further, I am well versed in diabetes, both human and feline, AND have a medical background. And lastly, I have tried everything else I can think of before deciding to go this route. DO NOT think I'm endorsing this for every cat, nor for even more than just Eeyore. And I still don't know if this will work; it's very early into things, and we may just be seeing shed emtpying and not a 'clean' number. DO NOT DO THIS AT HOME, in other words. Don't follow my lead - I don't know where this path goes.

As for reference to yesterday's drama/trauma, my bathroom basically exploded. Water pouring out of the drain in the tub, toilet overflowing, sink filling...not pretty in the least; and very stinky. When I noticed bits of wood, I realized...ah, we've got roots in the main pipes. So I called the landlord, who called a huge plumbing team, who went onto the roof and snaked out the pipes, thus frightening every living thing (including me) in the house. After the water drained, I spent hours cleaning (and still will do more today), and not one cat has returned to the windowsill in the bathroom. LOL. So it was pretty wild here yesterday, plumbers tromping in and out, climbing the roof and going under the house, noise in the pipes, geyers in the bath. I expected some weird things on the kitties' numbers this morning, but...happily, nope.

Bean WCR: still having a very hard time. Took Tango to the opening show of the season, and didn't even ride. Someone tried to buy him, though, which made me smile. And our instructor did take him over 3 foot fences in the practice arena, which he doesn't do at home (yet...how things will change now...). Dad is leaving to film a movie in Canada today, and I'm beside myself with worry. Yes, I know there are Drs in Canada...but still. I'm very worried. And my class graduates without me tomorrow, and that makes me very sad. And on and on...

Jus thought I'd pop in and let you all know how my pair of sugarbabies are doing...

best-
Michele
 
Re: 5/25 Esse AMPS=80, Eeyore AMPS=175

Wow!! Great numbers for both kitties.

The bathroom drama was, well, dramatic. It sounds like something out of a sitcom although I'm sure it didn't seem like that at the time. It's probably a time when you were grateful you are renting!

Michele -- what are you feeding? I know you said Innova but is this EVO?
 
Re: 5/25 Esse AMPS=80, Eeyore AMPS=175

Sienne and Gabby said:
Wow!! Great numbers for both kitties.

The bathroom drama was, well, dramatic. It sounds like something out of a sitcom although I'm sure it didn't seem like that at the time. It's probably a time when you were grateful you are renting!

Michele -- what are you feeding? I know you said Innova but is this EVO?
It is funny, now. At the time, it was totally puzzling. I heard water running, went into the bathroom thinking one of the kitties had opened the faucet, and no; up from the drains, out over the sink edges, through the drain in the tub side...so out came each and every towel I own, as well as blankets; trying to prevent the hallway from flooding. LOL. Mostly worked, too. And it was an ugly brown color, and was stinky. I didn't realize how many cats fit under the bed at one time...but apparently, the total is 7. LOL. Eeyore, to his credit, was far more interested in making friends with the head plumber guy than caring there was a flood; he was crawling up the plumber as we stood in the kitchen, and wanted to be hugged by him. To the plumber's credit, he picked Eeyore up, scritched him on the chin, and held Eeyore for a while. I was totally amazed.

I am feeding Innova about every 5th or so can (usually as the +4), Evo often, Wellness often. Occasionally, some Special Kitty, too. The Innova is new, because they were out of Evo, so I just got a case to tide us over until they restocked. So I'm using it up as we go. It's not correlative to the higher numbers (I've checked), so I'm not sure what's actually going on. I know it's higher carbs than we usually eat, but it was what I could get my hands on, so I did. Which is, of course, why we're using it slowly and infrequently. Mostly, it's the usual: Evo and Wellness. The other new addition is the raw medallions for nighttime. And it seems to be working (although, like I said, they don't care for the lamb much at all; use it as a toy and a puck, rather than food. LOL).

My house is apparently on strike - the fire alarm just went off. No fire - I'm washing and drying at the same time, and the humidity is setting off the alarm. Sigh.

I think it's time to go back to bed...go put the pillow over my head, put Eeyore on the pillow, and go hide.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 5/25 Esse AMPS=80, Eeyore AMPS=175

Roots in the pipes, yikes! I know I would NOT want to see a geyser of water shooting out of the fixtures! And it was a Monday, yuck.

It sounds like you have a very personalized plan for Eeyore that may work for him. I sure hope so. And the feeding issue is always something to consider, I know I went through some food switching with BigMac while he was on insulin and saw differences. Kitties can have different needs and sometimes with experimenting you will find the right mix of food, amounts, timing and the insulin.

Hang in there! I'm glad Eeyore likes to snuggle, you could use a snuggle or two.
 
Re: 5/25 Esse AMPS=80, Eeyore AMPS=175

CD, he's a great snuggler. He lives - LIVES - to snuggle under the covers. The other night, I had a very hard time sleeping (kept crying). Laid on my back, Eeyore came and laid in the crook of my arm. Then, when I started crying again, he stretched his head way back, and bless him, tried to smother me with all that fur. He loves to be held tight, and to put his head under my chin...and just sleep there.

He snores.

Other than that, he's a great snuggler. LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 5/25 Esse AMPS=80 PMPS=258, Eeyore AMPS=175 PMPS=258

Both had a great day. Esse stayed level until about +8, and then popped up. But not too terribly high, considering. Great run of green and blue today; I just can't be unhappy about that.

Eeyore also had a great day. Stayed in the blue all day (that I saw; didn't check at nadir), and in the last few hours came yellow. but still, compared to being blue then red, I am quite pleased.

Best-
Michele
 
So, at +2, Eeyore is at 50. That is with the s2...so tomorrow, I'll take him down to 1.75. He has plenty - PLENTY - of food out, so I'm not worried...but still, that's a pretty surprising number (and yes, I poked twice). So...he gets a decrease.

Best-
Michele
 
Hey look at Eeyore! Greenie green for the snuggler. Now don't bounce too high tomorrow, k?
Good luck with the new dose tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top