5/25 Ella PMPS 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71673

Good Morning LL,

So Ella was really close to the yellows and I can't come home at all today so I gave her 1u. By tonight, I will decide if that was my BCS or if I will go forward with it in the hopes of being a good 'blue' match for Ella. Looking at her ss, I realize that she was in the pinks on 1u but that was around the time she was constipated so perhaps it will be a good match. I am prepared to see higher numbers with my experiment.

Thanks for all of your continued suggestions and support while I try and wrap my head what works best for Ella and me.

Sending healing vines to all the kitties and beans that need them. I hope those living in the USA have a wonderful long weekend:)
 
Re: 5/25 Ella AMPS 311

Good luck. I hope you can find a dose that you can be consistant with, soon.
 
Re: 5/25 Ella AMPS 311 +1=293

Hi guys .. I hope this is the dose that she likes and will give off some pretty blues and greens with it .. it's all a matter of finding just that right dose when everything else is working right too :-D Hope you have a great weekend!
 
Was out and about this evening and couldn't post but prior to leaving I had an extremely frustrating experience with trying to get the air bubbles out of the syringe. It took me 40...that's right...40 minutes to get the air bubbles out of a syringe. I wasted 8 syringes and probably 20 units of insulin! ohmygod_smile
I was so frustrated that I didn't realize how long the insulin was out of the fridge. Is there a time frame that it can be left out for?
To top it all off the shot time was late by 40 minutes so I guess that acts as a reduction which was unfortunate.
Oh well...tomorrow is new day!


Thanls to all who visited today:) Wishing you all a lovely long weekend!
 
Oh, yes, I do hate those bubbles. I get so aggravated with them, I bang the syringe on the faucet, when my fingers get too tired of flicking it.

I hope tomorrow will be better and Ella won't notice the 40min. too much. (don't forget to change your time in the AM, I don't want to advise to what, but maybe someone will come on to tell you).
 
Hi Tamara,

My vet told me that the lantus isn't as delicate as people think it is and if it's not really hot it can be unrefrigerated for quite a while, hours even without worry. She said shaking it is much worse for it but even that if only done by dropping or something like that, won't destroy it if the bottle doesn't break. If it's clear and doesn't have bubbles, it's ok.

What syringes are you using? I use Walgreens. I put the same amount of air into the bottle that I'm taking out before withdrawing, slowly, and I never have bubbles anymore since I started doing that with these syringes.

I hope that helps.

Melanie & Racci

going to give Racci her PMPS
 
If you are using a Lantus Solostar pen, please do not follow Melanie's instructions. You do not want to inject air into the pens.

Since this is a long weekend, I was going to suggest that you use it as an opportunity to shoot your usual dose and see where Ella's numbers go during the day.
 
Thanks for you responses everyone:) I'm using the vial but it was quite warm here today so I was a bit worried. I left my last vial out for 10 hours once and it seemed to be ok although it was the dead of winter! I haven't put air in the vial the last little while so perhaps that's what I need to do.

Sienne, our long weekend was last weekend. I WISH we had another one!
I've decided to shoot her 1 u for a couple of cycles as I've been all over the dosing map the last few days and want the insulin in her shed to be consistent before going back up to 1.25. I'm trying to figure out a safe dose that may get us into the blues until I'm done work. Of course Ella will be leading the way but I'm hoping she will co-operate:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top