5/25 Brutus +6 42 +11 144 Bounce ? JIll...

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Member Since 2010
We have been staying with Brutus and feeding him through low numbers, today we both had to be gone for about 2 hours and his plus 6 was 42.We are not sure how low he went @+5. so could his +11 144 be a bounce from the 42 or lower?or is this to soon for bounce .seems like a big swing from nadir.we can't seem to get the blues off the ends.
 
Re: 5/25 Brutus +6 42 +11 144 Bounce ?

It's a small bounce although given that the PS numbers are blue, it may be just Brutus' normal PS number. The blues on the ends will come down. They're the last to change.
 
Re: 5/25 Brutus +6 42 +11 144 Bounce ?

hi steve. i've been looking at your spreadsheet. did you feed the 81 @ +4 before you left the house today?
i was wondering if you fed to bump the numbers up while you were gone and still ended up with a 42 two hours later...
 
Re: 5/25 Brutus +6 42 +11 144 Bounce ?

Thanks Sienne , I think we are lucky to have a cooperative cat, easy to test and shoot, and coming down to green a lot.I know many struggle with their cats , to get their numbers under control.I just am impatient because I know the freedom of having an otj cat.Its a lot of of work and love everyone puts in for their cats.

Brutus +1 114 , coming down fast.Bed time avereges about 1:00 am around here.
 
a question...
when brutus was otj last time, what was the "normal" range for him? the last few days of his countdown look like he settled into mostly 80s and 90s, but i can't find any otj data more recent than 2008.

where i'm going with this...
"if" his normal is in the upper double digits... i'm wondering if these insulin induced 40s, 50s, and 60s could be causing brutus to bounce... evidenced by the blue on either end of his cycles. we really can't add to the dose to knock the ps numbers down if you fed hc to that 81 @ +4 and still ended up with a 42 two hours later.

i'm not really seeing any signs of the dose being too high other than the possibility of a bounce. there's 2 options: hold the dose to see if the ps numbers come down or slightly reduce the dose to see if the ps numbers come down. since tonight is only the 7th cycle on this dose, i'd be inclined to hold it for a little while longer before trying a reduction, but... i am really curious to know if brutus ran in the higher end of normal when he was otj.
 
Hey Jill,

I don't have any records of his otj numbers after 08 either.That won't happen again.We got a little to comfortable.I see your reasoning here.I think we should keep this dose a while longer too while we have the schedule to monitor.also as to why he fell off the wagon..., we have a civie cat that begged us for a few bites of dry every morning.Brutus of course was not allowed.But every so often over the course of 6 or 8 months he was sneaking a bite or two.Then one day the bag was left on the counter and Brutus OD'd on dry. I wonder if the cumulative bites and the dry romp pushed him over the edge?

It looks like his 08 otj numbers hit the low 100's sometimes.

thanks for your insight..how is Alex?

By the way @ +2 now 69 feeding ....
 
well brutus wouldn't be the first kitty to be knocked off the OTJ wagon by dry food. we've seen it often.
once you get brutus otj again, test monthly. make it the same day every month so you don't forget. if his numbers rise, it's a huge clue that something *could* be going on with him.

alex is doing good... thanks for asking. she seems to be pretty much back to herself. still on meds. her next checkup isn't scheduled until july. still on insulin, but looking good in that department. i *think* she may be going otj sooner rather than later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top