? 5/25 AMPS 7.7 (138) Time for dose adjustment?

Cheryl & Jazzy

Member Since 2020
Jazzy's readings have been randomly lower than in the past. For the last 2 days consistantly lower. There have been times where he hasn't gotten any insulin. He gets .5 units of Lantus. Based on his spreadsheet, would you suggest a decrease in dosing so he doesn't go some cycles with none?
If I can get some advice, that would be greatly appreciated. I haven't had much luck with getting advice here so far, unfortunately. If someone can help, that would be awesome. Thanks
 
I'm sorry no one has responded in the past. It can help if you put a note in your subject line indicating that you have a question.

One of the differences between Lantus and Caninsulin is that you can shoot lower numbers with Lantus with much less worry about the insulin driving the numbers down. A popular saying here is "Shoot low to stay low." Lantus is a gentle insulin (most of the time) and it can be a bit counterintuitive that if you shoot a lower number, it actually flattens the curve vs. tanking the numbers. We encourage newer members to post and ask for help if they get a pre-shot reading below 150.

You have several options if you get a low pre-shot number:
  • Don't feed your cat and stall. Re-test after about 20 min. You're looking to see the numbers rising.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
What you do depends on your comfort level as well as whether you have supplies (i.e., test strips and high carb food or syrup) and will be around to monitor.

At this point, I don't think I would reduce the dose. You would only reduce if numbers drop below 50. (Which, of course, will happen because I said to hold the dose. Our cats read the Board.)

You might want to insert a blank line on your spreadsheet indicating when you switched to Lantus.
 
I've already added the blank line on when I switched, should be visible, I did it in black. (Just checked and it's only shown on the world numbers, not the US numbers... Weird)

So having readings below 150 is still ok to give insulin? I worry that it would cause a hypo reaction. Is skipping a dose more harmful than beneficial? There have been 7 cycles in the last 9 days where I've thought it was safer to skip. Especially in the PM when he can't be monitored closely.

One of the options for a low preshot number is to reduce the dose. So then it would be reduced for that time only?

Thanks for your reply. I'm trying to do best by my cat, but there seems to be so many variables. He's been in Lantus for 2 weeks so I thought it would be a good time to see if any changes are necessary.
 
Well, if you shoot a reduced dose it would be for that cycle unless the next preshot test shows too low for you to shoot comfortably. One thing you could do is try it when you will be around to test frequently and see the response.
 
Back
Top