5/24 - Zen - AMPS 104 | +1 115 | +2 126 | +3 130 | +4 149 | +5 126 | +6 113

Emily R

Member Since 2021
Yesterday's thread

Zen had a great night last night. We got him to finish all but a tiny bit of his second can of wet food for the day at around PM+4, and we left the last bit (maybe 1/8 of a can) of it out for him overnight in case he needed it... and he actually ate it!!! I put the tiniest amount of tuna juice on it and he went for it! No idea when, but I'm just grateful that he's 1) got the strength in his legs to walk to the food bowl again and 2) actually ate the food. I think we have our winner on how to get him to finish his food (at least for now, until he decides the tuna juice isn't good enough anymore :rolleyes:). He stayed blue all night; didn't have to get up and sit with him and coax him to eat, didn't have to give him Savory Selects... it was a good night. Now, let's see what happens when he starts the day blue and eats nothing but DM pate. Cross your fingers!

@tiffmaxee Elise, you asked me a question in yesterday's thread:
I’m curious why you feed at nadir. I found it was better for Max to get most of his food if not all during the first half of the cycle.
The short answer is that I just found out about not feeding at nadir in this thread on Saturday. We also frankly struggle to get Zen to eat his recommended caloric intake in wet food, and we'd been focused on just getting him to eat so his BG didn't tank and so he'd get back up to a healthy weight for his frame. I'm starting to steer him toward not eating when he's at nadir (which for him is typically between +6 and +9, but if he's hungry and wants to start eating his evening meal at +10, I'm inclined to let him until I can get him consistently eating the stuff that's good for him.
 
Nice start to the day, Emily. I'm so glad to hear he is eating.

@tiffmaxee I guess I have not understood about the feeding at nadir. I always feed at nadir. I thought it was okay. I thought that feeding after nadir was not a good idea. Please correct me if I am wrong. I think Susie normally nadirs around +6 so I like to make sure she gets food in her belly at that time because it is another 6 hours before she can eat again.
 
Nice start to the day, Emily. I'm so glad to hear he is eating.

@tiffmaxee I guess I have not understood about the feeding at nadir. I always feed at nadir. I thought it was okay. I thought that feeding after nadir was not a good idea. Please correct me if I am wrong. I think Susie normally nadirs around +6 so I like to make sure she gets food in her belly at that time because it is another 6 hours before she can eat again.
You want to generally feed most of the food BY nadir. Feeding late in the cycle often raises the bg by the next shot time as it shortens duration, especially if the nadir is late and over 100. Every cat is different though.
 
Back
Top