5/24 Wonton AMPS 327 reduced to 1.25u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
I just read yesterday's last post of Sienna's this morning. I had not taken any more readings last night. Since I already fed her dinner I thought it would've affected the true results.
This morning she was 327, to be expected. I gave her 1.25u instead of 1.5u and will continue this dose and see how it goes and will be taking more readings.
I do have a copy of the how to handle low numbers, I need to re-read it. thanks for the links. I don't remember reading about the stalling thing, but will learn more about it.
I do want to get Wonton's profile and picture posted in the next few days.
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71618
 
Not a bad AMPS with the skipped shot from last night. Good luck with the reduction...hopefully the lower dose will help you feel comfortable and you'll be able to get into the groove of shooting twice a day. Remember, someone is almost always around, and we all help eachother out! If Wonton starts heading into really low numbers, no doubt someone here will hold your hand every step of the way. We've all been in your shoes!

Personally, I've got mixed emotions about stalling. The idea is to see if the number is naturally rising - without the influence of food. If the the number rises without food on board, then you know the kitty IS heading up, and it would be safet to shoot. But, by that point in the cycle, a lot of kitties will continue to go lower, for the same reason - not having food on board. I stalled a few times early in this dance, and ultimately ended up skipping shots, because Trix's numbers continued to head down because she hadn't eaten...so stalling can be a double-edged sword, IMO.

And, of course, once you stall, your shot schedule is all wonky, and depending on how long you stall for, it can take several days to get shot times back to where you want them to be.

But, sometimes stalling is necessary...like, if a kitty isn't eating, you don't want to shoot an inappetant cat, so you would want to wait and see if kitty does decide to eat before giving insulin.

The nuances of FD can be complicated, but we're all here to help you get Wonton feeling good, and being safe about it.

I have to work late tonight, so I probably won't have a chance to check on Wonton's progress today until late into the evening.

Have a great day!

Amy

PS - Looking forward to seeing Wonton's picture!!
 
Hi guys .. well I agree with everything Amy wrote .. FD can be nerve wracking and frustrating and scary .. but someone is almost always here to help guide you through those times, you have to know we are all animal lovers and would never put wonton in any danger .. :YMHUG: have a great day!
 
Yes, I'm not sure about stalling but it does have it's place in certain situations I would imagine. Wonton was 226 at 6pm and 171 at 10:45pm. I'll stick with 1.25 u/2x BID and hopefully her numbers will be lower.
I know I've really bonded more with Wonton since her diagnosis. I got her when she was 8, she'll be 12 in Oct. As I look back I'm pretty certain she was sick for awhile. Now she looks like a different kitty, she's slimmed down, her fur is so soft and even a darker grany, and her mood is much better.
Thank you Amy and Mocha for your posts :YMHUG:
You and your kitties have a wonderful night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top