5/24 Shiloh ~ AMPS 287, +3 230, +5 226, +7 277, +10 230, PMPS 206, +2 202, +3 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

I definitely think she is due an increase. I will give my vet until tomorrow to answer me about the increase to 2.75, then I think I will do it myself. I just wish that my husband could understand why I don't necessarily think the vet is always right.
 
Take a look on the New to the Group sticky, slide down to the last section where there are links to single topic posts, and look for the one on Glucose Toxicity. Holding a dose too long that doesn't get a cat into normal blood sugar range causes the cat's body to accept that higher range as normal.

When that happens, it's called Glucose Toxicity and the consequence is that it takes even more insulin to bring the glucose down into normal range.

Are you following the Tight Regulation Protocol or Start Low Go Slow?
 
I guess I am following the Tight Regulation. Hadn't really thought about it. But after reading the protocol, that appears to be what I am doing. On the average lately, I tested 4-5 times a day. I read that on Glucose Toxicity, and will be increasing tonight even if I don't hear from the vet. I looked at the info on how to measure the .25 doses, so hopefully I can get it right. May need some stronger reading glasses!
 
I'd get a +2 test. If it's below the PMPS test, it could mean an active cycle with more monitoring required. Exciting means not quiet. But cats don't always follow the rule book. That +2 test is a good guide as to what the cycle will look like. If it's about the same as the preshot, then you'll have a normal Lantus cycle with a curve. A higher number means a quieter night (and earlier to bed). A lower number could mean a drop with a steeper curve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top