5/24 Rhinog amps 335 pmps 311 +2 246

Status
Not open for further replies.
A belated Welcome to LL, Ruth & Rhinog. I can't help with dosing, but you are right, the protocol says at least 6 cycles. Hopefully Rhinog won't go any higher tomorrow and before you can increase.
 
I think Rhinog's shed is filling. He may just need more insulin! Lantus takes patience. His shed does need to fill, though. Usually we wait 10 cycles/5 days on the first dose since some of that dose goes toward filling the shed, Rhinog isn't going to have the entire dose available until the shed has filled.
From the Dosing Guidelines sticky said:
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Hi!
Well pink and yellow is better than red, but it is still not so pretty. True the shed is still filling, but on this very low dose it should fill quickly (it is after all a very small shed, no lawn mover fits in there :lol: ) Have you been able to test for ketones yet? I think I would give it the 3 days, that means 2 more cycles on this dose and if you still are seeing yellows, pinks or worse I would increase to .5U sooner rather than later. Obviously that means getting a little extra testing before increasing (we need to know if there is any action on this dose before we increase) we are looking for blues or greens, at any time during the 12 hour cycle. Because Lantus is a slower acting insulin curves don't need to be done with a 1 or 2 hours testing interval. Many people do a 3 hour interval during 1 cycle, then another 3 hour interval (using different times) in another cycle.

Example:

AMPS
+3
+6
+9
PMPS
+1
+4
+7
+10 (or +11) depends on how early you get up ;-)

If Rhinog is staying pretty falt in those pinks and high yellows IMO it's time for an increase, the protocol says 5-7 days for the starting dose but does say if the cat stays high then increase sooner. If you were on a larger dose I would say wait longer, but you started quite low and such a small shed fills quick.
 
Ruth and Rhinog said:
Hi,

I was at work all day so frustratingly little data today.

I'm thinking the shed is not getting filled. The temptation is to go to 0.5units tomorrow, but I know I should give it at least 6 cycles before increasing the dose.

hello and a belated welcome to the group!
yes, hold the dose for at least 6 cycles before increasing. tomorrow's numbers may be better! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top