5.24 PMPS 422 +2 279 +4 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Active Member
Any ideas why it might be going up only four hours after injection? I really thought the +4 would be lower. I will do a full 12 hour curve on my next day off. What a stressful mess!
 
To be perfectly honest, I'm not sure! You had a pretty big drop at +2. Your +2 should be roughly the same as your pre-shot (PS) number. It may be more that the +2 is wonky and you're seeing more of a gradual decrease at +4.

The first few days of Lantus will not be entirely typical. You are still in the process of building a depot (what we call a "shed") and not all of the insulin you are giving is fully available for use. Just be patient! (You'll hear that a lot.)
 
I still am not clear why you are giving a lower dose at pm - I think you are going to run into shed issues when you are changing the dose every single shot.
You will have NDW all the time because you are giving a decrease then an increase, then a decrease, then an increase again.
You really need to be giving the same dose for each shot I think.
 
I am giving the different dose amounts (3u am 2u pm) because that is what my vet instructed me to do. Do you think I should even it out at 2.5 at am and pm?
 
Yes! I am not sure why your vet said different doses but it will mess up Trouble's shed and you will have weird numbers all the time.
What dose did you start at, initially for Trouble? Did you begin right at 3u in am and 2u in pm?
I can't give dosing advice but you should give the same dose consistently. You would be better at 2.5 for both shots than changing all the time.
Let's see what the others say about what dose would be best to try, maybe 2.5u would be good. It would definitely be much better that 3u and 2u.
 
His very first injections were at 2u in both am and pm. His numbers were still high at next weekly vet visit, but she only wanted to increased the am dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top