5/24 Mr. Kink AMPS - 420 - feeling very discouraged

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
Tuesday's condo

Trying not to feel discouraged, but can't help it. Dosecrease doesn't look like it's having much of an effect, though we did get a blue last night. But we also got a blue on 1u BID, too. Need to stay positive, but sometimes I let all of the new responsibility get to me. Everything seemed so easy before dx!

Anyway. Sorry for being a Debbie Downer. Hope everyone in LL is having a wonderful day!
 
Hi guys .. What you are feeling is perfectly normal! I think every one of us here have felt what you are feeling .. it always seems so easy looking back doesn't it? Slap down a bowl of food and scoop the boxes and be on your merry way! Now it's testing and shooting and fears and tears and worries and stress .. ((hugs)) You are fine .. mr kink will be fine .. it's just a matter of getting that right dose .. no worries .. we're all along for the ride!
 
Caitlin & Mr. Kink said:
Tuesday's condo

Trying not to feel discouraged, but can't help it. Dosecrease doesn't look like it's having much of an effect, though we did get a blue last night. But we also got a blue on 1u BID, too. Need to stay positive, but sometimes I let all of the new responsibility get to me. Everything seemed so easy before dx!

Anyway. Sorry for being a Debbie Downer. Hope everyone in LL is having a wonderful day!

I have a question for you: How long has your cat been diabetic?
I'll answer it for you: You don't know.

None of us really know how long our cats have been diabetic, so before you get discouraged after a week, here's something to keep in mind. Many cats have been diabetic for a length of time, before being given any insulin, and those bad numbers of theirs actually feel like the good numbers. Think about someone coming along and telling you that you have been wearing your shoes on the wrong feet all your life! Put your shoes on your opposite feet now and how does it feel? Bad! They feel bad! And you can't wait to get those shoes back onto the 'right' feet.

You are doing the same thing with insulin now, and his body needs to do some major adjusting.

Before you see lots of good numbers, you are going to see signs of improvement in other areas. It may be drinking less water, or less urine in the litter box. It could be a better looking coat on him, or maybe some habit of his that you realize he had stopped awhile ago. Those are the first signs you see once you first start on insulin.

It'll all come soon enough, and that will be when Mr. Kink is ready.
 
Hi Caitlin, Mr. Kink is probably bouncing off that 180 last night. They do that when they get down to numbers they are not used to. It also means Mr. Liver is working just fine although he really doesn't need to be quite so diligent. :lol: :lol: Sometimes it takes a while for a dose to seem to have an effect too. So put on those patience pants. You are doing a great job for Mr. Kink. I totally understand about how it feels overwhelming sometimes.
Liz
 
Hang in there Caitlin. It will get easier, it just takes some time to used to the upheaval you're feeling right now.
 
Caitlin,

I know how it can feel. You do everything right and the numbers are still out of whack. Stick with it, be consistent and things will improve. Take a look at Gracie's SS. She was all over the place, and high for weeks even though I was on top of everything and testing like a mad man. One day, out of nowhere, her numbers just got better, and stayed that way. It doesn't happen that way for everyone, but things do tend to get much better as time passes. The single most important thing is consistency, and adherence to the protocol. You are among people that have ridden the same roller coaster as you are on, so lean on them when you get down.

Jason
 
(((Caitlin)))) You're not being a Debbie Downer! It's perfectly normal to feel discouraged from not seeing much action. I totally understand how you feel as Ella was in the pinks and reds for three weeks after a beautiful string of greens. We had to drain her shed for safety reasons and I was SO discouraged to see those nasty colours that I began to think I would never see her on lower levels again. We're finally seeing some action and you will too. Hang in there:)

:YMHUG:

Tamara
 
I have a totally different perspective. It's a perspective born out of almost being at our 3 year anniversary. Mr. Kink was diagnosed with FD 3 weeks ago. He was probably FD for some time prior to that. You've already seen him drop into blue numbers -- and he bounced. That's both normal and expected. Mr. Kink is doing well. We just need to get his liver a bit better trained.

Again, as a matter of perspective -- how is Mr. Kink feeling? Is he acting and feeling better than he did before you started insulin. What's your relationship with him like? Most of us find that with the kind of emotion that goes into treating a diabetic cat, you form a very special bond.

I know you're probably sick of hearing this, but this truly is a marathon and not a sprint. And, you're not the one in charge -- Mr. Kink is.
 
Can't thank you guys enough for the words of encouragement today. They were so needed.

Liz - putting my patience pants on RIGHT NOW. I'm not takin' 'em off. They're not even getting washed. :mrgreen:

Jason - I checked out Gracie's numbers, and they definitely gave me some hope. All over the place, just like his! Thanks for the kind words, too, much appreciated.

Sienne - totally get where you're coming from. I hadn't really thought about it, but was telling my sis about this thread and your questions and she pointed out that he's able to walk longer distances without sitting down as much than just a few weeks ago, he seems to have more energy, definitely not camped out at his water bowl anymore (that was taken care of right after the diet switch!) and they're just glimpses right now, but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel starting to peek out.

PeterDevonMocha, Gayle Shadoe & Oliver, arozeboom, & Tamara - :YMHUG:

Planning to start off tomorrow with a better attitude. Thanks again, guys.
 
Some of our most helpful courses in learning all about FD:
Remedial Liver Training 101 - talk therapy for the liver with issues
Carbing the wet food diet 201 - how to read food charts & cat food cans
Karo or honey 301 - how to manipulate the sweet & sticky
Mr P Training 401 - teaching the balky pancreas how to mind bean commands (senior level course, often has to be repeated multiple times-very hard course to pass)

And Zener's motto - "pet more, worry less".

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Please know you are doing just right for a new person & kitty here!! Patience & consistancy is what is needed! You are doing a good job--He didnt become FD in a day, & he wont get better in a day!
We are here 4+yrs and are still improving & working it--
For a newbie you need to hold a new dose 5-7 days before anything can be determined!
You had a nice blue number already!! That IS Progress!!!!
So turn your frown upside down(corny :lol: ) and look at the bright side--Your baby is getting the help he needs &
You are the one who is helping him!!!--Seriously, Welcome to our LL family, if I didnt say it!
You are doing just fine--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top