5/24 MOUSE advice on shot....asap? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

5/24 MOUSE advice on shot....asap?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mouse & Me

Member since 2016
I haven't been on for about a week....threw out back

Mouse was going back up with her numbers, so I upped the dosage today to 2.75. I got a PMPS of 58!

so far, her shot will be delayed....I was trying to update my temporary "sheet"...still can't get access to my sheet with google. I will fill in more while I wait for advice
 

Attachments

  • temp sheet.jpg
    temp sheet.jpg
    116 KB · Views: 51
Can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food? Hopefully you are delaying a wee bit without food.
 
I forgot to add that Mouse has been reticent about getting her ear pricks for two days. I had to coax her out from under the bed. Her brother picked on her badly, so she's been in a locked room, so she can get over it.
I'm not sure what is causing the hesitation for the blood tests....also coincdes with her higher numbers...she's been reaching low 300s again
 
imho, I think i would go back to the 2.5 ....

looking at your snapshot....
on 5/21 you started with a yellow, went up to pink, and just 5 to 7 hours later went to the green floor.
and did that again today, looks like it's happened before.....

I would be suspicious of the pinks, that Mouse is seeing green.....
She can drop in a few hours from a yellow and you could easily miss it.... She changes so quickly.
 
Can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food? Hopefully you are delaying a wee bit without food.
No,no, no.....I fed her at 8pm...her number went up to 79.
wrong?
still no shot yet...I'm not sure what dose to give her
 
imho, I think i would go back to the 2.5 ....

looking at your snapshot....
on 5/21 you started with a yellow, went up to pink, and just 5 to 7 hours later went to the green floor.
and did that again today, looks like it's happened before.....

I would be suspicious of the pinks, that Mouse is seeing green.....
She can drop in a few hours from a yellow and you could easily miss it.... She changes so quickly.
She does love her trampoline.
 
imho, I think i would go back to the 2.5 ....

looking at your snapshot....
on 5/21 you started with a yellow, went up to pink, and just 5 to 7 hours later went to the green floor.
and did that again today, looks like it's happened before.....

I would be suspicious of the pinks, that Mouse is seeing green.....
She can drop in a few hours from a yellow and you could easily miss it.... She changes so quickly.
Just gave her the shot, 2.5, she was at 156. I gave her a perfect portion serving of sheba pate
 
meanwhile, you still will need to monitor for the next few hours since she got a little more juice this morning.
Will do. I just finished a big order for my at-home job, and planned on surfing through my videos anyway. I have plenty of supplies, HC food, honey, etc. extra meter, extra strips, (just placed order for more strips), just got 600 lancets in the mail today....all set!
 
Sorry, I had to step out for a bit.
No,no, no.....I fed her at 8pm...her number went up to 79.
wrong?
Wrong to feed while stalling, unless they are under 50 and then you only feed a tsp if not coming up. You might want to reread the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. Better yet, print it off, in case you ever are faced with this situation and the power is out.

Mouse has been diabetic over a year. You are trying to battle glucose toxicity. She didn't earn a reduction today. IMHO, I would go back to 2.75 units tomorrow morning. I don't know how much later that PMPS of 156 was from her normal shot time. But I'm glad you got insulin in her. Looks like she's ready to zoom up.
 
Did your vet say anything about any dental conditions?

You might want to ask your vet if he did x-rays? A very common condition for cats involves cracking teeth over time.
My cat had it.
http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.co...treat-feline-odontoclastic-resorptive-lesions

x-rays are necessary because vets can't see it until it's really bad. X-rays are the way to see bad roots, or cracks. If there were no x-rays in February, they may have missed something.

This might be part of what keeps Mouse from getting down to the green floor all the time. ( tight regulation) or even remission.
Teeth are a big issue for diabetic cats.
I had to take Shadow for dentals repeatedly, she even had her fangs taken out, only had a few teeth left.
 
Did your vet say anything about any dental conditions?

You might want to ask your vet if he did x-rays? A very common condition for cats involves cracking teeth over time.
My cat had it.
http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.co...treat-feline-odontoclastic-resorptive-lesions

x-rays are necessary because vets can't see it until it's really bad. X-rays are the way to see bad roots, or cracks. If there were no x-rays in February, they may have missed something.

This might be part of what keeps Mouse from getting down to the green floor all the time. ( tight regulation) or even remission.
Teeth are a big issue for diabetic cats.
I had to take Shadow for dentals repeatedly, she even had her fangs taken out, only had a few teeth left.
I'll make an appt next week, after holidays, no one is open.
I've been noticing her chewing, swinging her head up in the air to one side. Hmmmmm....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top