5/24 Minnie PMPS 305 (0.25R) +2 346 +4 318

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Yesterday we increased the dose in the evening

Waiting to hear back from vet for follow-up appointment and asking about acro test (still considering the WSU study which pays for the test and, if positive, requires we drive over for follow-up scans - as long as vet thinks she'd tolerate the anesthesia. They said there's a place in Seattle that does SRT and the scans would be sent over.) Also noticed she has started drooling a bit from one side of her mouth and licking her lips, so wondering if that is reason for recent morning drinking since her BG isn't that high and she's not drinking ALL the time. Will get all this discussed during the appointment.

Otherwise she is fine! Kitty hugs for the coming week - all kitties eat well and surf safely. Get your karaoke playlist ready.
 
I hope you hear from the vet soon.
This appointment I'm trying to schedule is with the IM who is only there 3 days a week so probably won't be til next week. Don't expect to hear back from them til later today. The waiting gave me too much time to think so I also called our primary vet to see if the drooling is something that should be checked sooner - dr will get back to me later today. She has a history of resorptive lesions and hasn't had her teeth cleaned in a couple of years so there's that...plus everything else worrying (e.g. acromegaly - do I see prognathism inferior or not, would I even recognize it?). Appetite is still good so I just want to get this seen to before that changes.
 
do I see prognathism inferior or not,
In Neko's 5 years with acromegaly, she never that. ECID in terms of what acro symptoms a cat may have. And the majority have no clinical signs at the time of diagnosis.

Licking lips and drooling can be a sign of nausea. Good to hear appy is good though. If she has a history of FORL, I'd definitely get that looked at.
 
Wendy's got it. When I hear drooling, I think nausea... but her appetite is good... so I think not nausea. I next think teeth.... and you are all over that! And you currently are not giving Cerenia, which can also cause drooling.... so that's out as well. That is REALLY wonderful when I think about it... how great her appetite is, I mean.

I hope you have a great day/evening, Liz.
 
Regular vet called back, she thinks nausea too. Now why is that NOT the first thing that google told me, instead of 'contact the vet'?! (other than eating a bad plant). Going to start with ondansetron once a day...because we love pilling around here. Vet did not think teeth, she said nausea or something more systemic and hopefully not an early indicator of pancreatitis flare-up. She's not familiar with side effects of spiro. She said go with the ondansetron and wait for the IM unless things get worse (BG/Ketones/loss of appetite). Basically punted it to the IM - who hasn't got back to me with an appointment, so I will have to get my nagging hat back on in the morning.

And as I type this, Minnie is scavenging on the floor under her bowl for the few crumbs she left. This is definitely not like the nausea she had before!

On the plus side I guess at least her BG is level even if 150-200 higher than desired. And ketones hadn't increased. And she is eating well (though now she is holding me hostage, there HAS to be some tiny tiger or she stares at me)
 
We need the Plumbs Veterinary Handbook info for Spironolactone. A friend gave me the pages on Cabergoline today — that she got from another friend who has Plumbs. It was very informative.
Maybe I will break out some Tiny Tiger tomorrow!
 
And in this evening's game of R roulette, we had a successful increase of 13 in 4 hours. Ketones at 0.3. I'm not getting up in 2 hours to give another shot of R, will see what the morning brings. She's sleeping and drooling and eating when the food is offered. Poor little girl, I wish I knew what was going on.
 
Back
Top