5/24 Maggie +1 175; +2 92; 2.5 70 +3 93; +3.15 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43935 Yesterday

I think I should have given her the usual dose or two drops instead of the bcs or one drop. I didn't exect her to be this high, oh well! I just tested and gave a very little dab of bf. She hasn't had food since 9:00 pm, and the Vet's office said to bring Maggie any time between 7:30 and 8:00 am, and I doubt they will do surgery before 9:00 am! I'm not sure what time they will do her, but I will check when I drop her off. They prioritized last surgery dental when I checked. It's so hard when she first gets up she wants food.

My vet is different than most: water anytime...no taking it away. Food up until six hours before anesthesia. She learned it from our board certified veterinary anesthesiologist who said cats actually do better with a TINY bit of food but not within the six hour timeframe. But every vet IS different so best to follow what your vet says.

Hi Marje, I like what your Vet says - no food after 9:00 pm sounds like too long...but I followed the instructions.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Good morning. And happy dental day for Maggie.

I bet she is hungry.

I gave Curry some low salt tuna juice mixed with water yesterday morning to help with any hunger pains. At least fill her tummy with something...cuz they do get hungry.

Good luck with the dental.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Best of luck with the dental, today, Maggie.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Thanks Tena and Dyana. Oh yes, she is hungry and purring away and waiting for me to feed her! This is the hardest part. I'm trying to distract her. She is so sweet, just sitting patiently waiting. :(

Tuna juice with water, did it satisfy Curry since no food could be given?
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Good luck Maggie. It's worth it. Hope all goes smoothly and Maggie is home purring once again.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Good luck with the dental today. I did give Simon a tsp. of food at 6 am before his dental last month. His dental was scheduled for 12 pm. He was fine and was starving when he came home.

I'll be looking for your update later today.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263 - Dental Today

Much luck with the dental today!!! They do get hungry, but they will get through it. Follow the doctor's orders is best. Different doctors, different style of procedures...they have their reasons.

5/23 Maggie's condo


^5/23 Maggie's Condo Just remove the ^ symbols to create the live link like above.

Name your Condo

I hope that helps with creating a live link.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Thanks Bev, Georgia, Karrie, Blue, Trixie and Natalie. She did come down to 242, so a little better.

Thanks Blue, for those instructions. I wonder how that was done (I'm a little slow on puters). Next I need help with the Profile. :lol: I have windows Vista ..those instructions didn't seem to work...but I'll try again.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Sending good vetty vines. Hope Maggie has an easy and quick recovery
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Good luck Maggie! I hope all goes well.

Maggie?? Don't worry... it will be OK. I have them all the time. MY bean says I am lucky - I dunno.... the KTSS will come and visit you when you are all done. Be brave! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Ann it is better for them to be a little higher when getting a dental...You wouldnt want Maggie to be low & anesthesized...Sending good dental vines to you! Dont worry, Moonie had 2 dentals already with extractions & came home & ate just fine--
See what her number is when she gets home & then decide if you need to shoot or not--SOME Cats bg's do go lower after the dental as Some cats BG's are lowered by the anesthesia---But Maggie may not be one of them..BEST of Luck for an easy dental--HUGS!!!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Just wanted to say we're thinking good thoughts for Maggie today!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Good Luck at the dentist sweet Maggie, Leo and i have fingers and paws crossed that everything goes well for you!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Good luck with the dental. I feel your pain about not being able to give food to your baby when she's hungry. Very hard!!!!

Sending lots of good thoughts your way!! :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Sending good dental vines!

Being higher is better than lower. Anesthesia lowers BG.

Also, remember to get a test as soon as you bring Maggie home so you will be able to compare the numbers to your PMPS.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Hi Ann!

I bet Maggie is being a good girl at the vetty!
Hoping to see ur update later with all good stuff!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Thanks for all the support and good Vetty vines. You guys are the best, and I really appreciate all of you. I dropped Maggie off at 7:30 am, and her favorite Vet Tech talked to me and explained everything. She may be there until early afternoon, which is okay, as the Vet earlier mentioned they would like to monitor her longer since her kidney values were up last labs. They will call after surgery.

Thanks Sienne and Roni & Moonie; you both reminded me it's better to be high than low as the anesthesia lowers their bg's. I will test her as soon as I get her home and then see how her bg is as whether or not to shoot.

Thanks Iorwen, Melissa, Michelle, Kristin, Tommy, Tessielou, Tracy, Patty, and Ronnie & Luna for all the good Vetty vines. Thanks Ronnie & Luna for all your help. She will be flying thru with all those good Vetty Vines.

I'll post when she gets home.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

cat-dentist-toothbrush1-300x199.jpg
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

:lol: :lol: That pic is too funny - I love it, Karrie! Thanks for making me laugh. The Vet just called, and Maggie had only one resorbtive lesion tooth that needed pulled. He said she came thru the surgery just fine, as you all reassured me she would do so! So she has one more tooth for the Tooth Fairy, he said. I can pick her up at 2:00 pm, so just a couple hours. I can't wait to get her home. Thanks again!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Good to hear that Maggie did well w/the surgery. I shut the blinds in Curry's room since her eyes were dilated so much....didn't know if the light would bother her.....it helped her to calm down and relax... Looking forward to the next update from ya and Maggie.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

hope the dental went well....make sure you take it easy on the testing tonight...or we may need a serious intervention!!! all in the name of Maggie ;-)
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie AM 263; +2.5 242 - Dental Today

Rocket & his Mom said:
hope the dental went well....make sure you take it easy on the testing tonight...or we may need a serious intervention!!! all in the name of Maggie ;-)

Rocket & Mom thank you -- too funny. Now that I've had Rehab for the meters... In the beginning I needed a push to do the checks at night.
Thanks Nicole, Tena, Ronnie & Karrie for the good wishes

Maggie is home and her bg is 278!! I was thinking of giving the one drop as with the anesthesia I don't know which way she will go, any advice? She's hungry, so she had a mini meal of FF Seafood Feast, her favorite, and a teeny amount of bf as a treat for the pokie! I should shoot shortly as I normally shoot at 3:30 am! so I'm an hour late!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278 bg Maggie's Home from Vet

One other thought - I could skip tonight's shot and get back on track tomorrow morning at 3:30 am, but that is 36 hours w/out insulin?
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278 bg Maggie's Home from Vet

I can't tell from your notes -- did you shoot? (You're +24 from when? Last PM?) I can't figure anything out because of time zones. I would have tested again and compared.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278 bg Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Hi Sienne, I shot yesterday (Monday) at 3:30 pm with a one drop dose (or half dose). No shot this morning, so that was 12 hours and 3:30 pm this afternoon makes another 12 hours, so it's 24 hours since a shot. She has eaten, so I will test again. Thanks. brb
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278 bg Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Ann, I'm so glad Maggie's home with you and the dental went well.. That's great news.
Thank you for the update :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Pretty Toofes Now huh!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Sienne, I just tested, and Maggie is 275 at +25 hours, so not much change. She's eaten two small meals and is feeling good. She has wild eyes, too!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Glad Maggie is back home w/her bean.

Good luck w/deciding on a dose/shot for tonight.

Either way, Maggie is in good hands.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

It's kind of confusing the way I posted her bg's. I'm thinking her shed is empty, so a little insulin wouldn't cause a hypo. I'm surprised she's so high; there was no IV glucose added.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Shed is probably M-T.

I would feel comfortable giving that dose.

She also had a tooth pulled so that can increase bgs initially...trauma to the mouth...increase in inflammation initially.....Did the Vet give you any pain meds?
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

hi again

i'm leaning towards the drop, but hoping others can chime in too.
and you need to be comfortable with that..
I'm not sure, but do u have an early bedtime? or would u be able to stay up a little?


if u had to shoot, the new shot time is good for you? schedule wise?
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

I can stay up, the reason I was shooting so early was that I had early physical therapy appts, and I have an early appt. Friday, where I need to leave by 6:30 am. so the 3:30 am time slot gave me time to get a +2 and +3 before leaving. I can always keep moving up by 15 minutes.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Hi, it's only 5:00 pm here now, so I'm only off an hour and a half. I feel comfy with the drop dose.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Ann...don't want to get in the middle of your dosing question but just wanted to let you know I have been thinking of Maggie and you all day; didn't get a chance to do condos because of work but I've been hoping that everything is super AOK and it looks like it is!!! I think her BG is not too bad considering she's not had any juice for a long time. I know you are relieved. Gracie and Tobey headed over with the rest of the KTSS for Maggie.

On the picture....I hate to admit it but Gus always has loved doing that and yes, we caught him chewing on our toothbrushes many times so we got him his own with his own plastic toothbrush holder that we have on the floor where he can reach it. Thankfully, he can no longer get on the counter where our brushes are. For the love of the cat :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope you and Maggie have an easy night and she's back in the groove tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

I think 1/2 dose sounds good. Maggie doesn't seem to be dropping much yet, but be sure to test once or twice tonight to be sure.

Good news that everything went fine!
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Thanks Marje, and Tena and Ronnie & Luna & Sienne and everyonefor helping - I'm leaning on doing one drop but would not mind skipping either. she has eaten, but Vet said to give only 1/3 of what she would normally eat. I need to give her pain med and antibiotic later, not sure if that will upset her tummy.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie's Home - DOSE?

Thanks Libby - we were posting the same time. I will give her one drop (half dose), and no problem, yes, I will do a couple or more spot checks. Thanks again.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie

did the pain med and ab's upset her last time?
hopefully smooth evening for you both.

very proud of you by the way, you have BOS Ann!!
(not for the teeny weeenie dose, that's nothing! :lol:
but for getting thru the dental) nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie

Have you given Maggie amoxycillin before? You might want to pick up some probiotic so you don't end up with a poo problem from the AB.
 
Re: 5/24 Maggie +24 278; +25 275 Maggie

Aww thanks Ronnie & Luna. I think she was okay last time with the pain med and amoxicillin.

Hi Sienne, I believe she had the same antibiotic before - by probiotic; do you mean FortiFlora. I have some from last dental, but I wonder about shelf life - I think it's 6 months old.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top