5/24 Ella PMPS 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterdayhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71603

Good morning everyone,

I have a question regarding the shed. It has been explained to me that the numbers we see currently are due to the previous shots but if I skipped a shot yesterday morning and Ella's shed has drained then why did she drop so much last night? If this theory is true, then couldn't it mean that her current dose may be too high?
She is at 163 this morning from 508 last night from a partially drained shed yesterday morning. I'm very reluctant to give her the current dose considering what it did on a partially drained shed. Can someone please explain what they think has happened.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

It will be interesting to read answers to this, because I know others have questioned if the shed can take up to 3 days to fill, wouldn't it also take up to 3 days to drain?

Suze
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

I believe that it takes days for the shed to drain.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

but it must have drained a bit....no?

does it sound like i should give the regular shot dyana?
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

tpr said:
but it must have drained a bit....no?

does it sound like i should give the regular shot dyana?
No, she's dropping. And, I'm kind of getting used to Ella. I would give a BCS dose, and feed her some MC to get her on a surfboard.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

tpr said:
a bcs of how much?
I think 0.75. How does that sound to you?

Normally, a 164 is a very shootable number, but this is Ella, and you have to go to work. On a weekend, when you're home, we need to get you used to shooting some lower numbers and watching to see how she does on those lower numbers. Come on Ella, this weekend, can we please see?
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

ok..thanks Dyana. So is the bcs a one time deal and then back to 1.25?

edited to add: I realize by skipping and reducing shots we are messing with her shed. If 1.25u has such an impact then is it wise to go back up to it if I keep having to reduce and skip shots?

ps: Ella jumped when I gave her the shot. I didn't feel a wet spot or smell insulin so I'm hoping it all went in. Yet another factor to add to the scenario.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

1.25 is her regular dose. This shot was a BCS. According to the protocol; if she gets a test below 50, then she would go to 1.00 as her regular dose. Maybe that will happen this weekend, if Ella cooperates.
When does school end? I just want to see Ella on the road to regulation.. meaning the same dose 12/12. And, then eventually, less bouncing.

I would leave some MC food for her to eat today, while you're gone. I usually leave a bowl in the normal spot, and one in each of the places J.D. tends to lay (so several bowls).

Have a good day. Ella surf nicely.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 (advice needed)

I want to see her on the road to regualtion as well:) School finishes at the end of June. I know I must sound like a broken record but I keep thinking that Ella may have been in the pinks for so long due to her constipation/hairballs. I've been reading in other condos that those facotrs play a role in making bg's higher.
I do want to shoot consistently, I really do, but I need to see for my own eyes that Ella will be safe when I walk out the door.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139 (advice needed)

Hi Tamara, I can understand your worries. Sending some vines for Ella to surf safe numbers while you're at work.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139 (advice needed)

Nice blues today! Sounds like Dyana has got you all squared away. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139+2=142 (advice needed)

Hi guys .. no answers from me as the shed always (and still does) confuse me! But I do know pretty numbers when I see them and ella is full of them today! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139+2=142 (advice needed)

the end of june will be here before you know it. then things will hopefully be a little easier for both of you!

it can take up to 6 cycles for the effects of a dose reduction to be fully realized.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139+2=142 (advice needed)

I'm counting down the days Julie! It's going to feel long though as my students have already checked out now that the weather has gotten warmer.

Devon, the shed is still a confusing concept to me as well. I wish Ella had a little tank meter on the side of her body...I'm a visual learner:)

Thanks for visiting with your well wishes Melissa, Ann and Suze:)


Ella seemed to be in the blues for most of the day. When I came home from lunch she was 157. I gave her some lc with a tsp of mc (might have been a mistake as she was on the rise) but I thought it might keep her stable as she approached what I think is her nadir.
At +10 she was 365 so I have no idea if this number is from a bounce off the blues, less insulin or mc. How long can a tsp of mc linger aound for?

Anyways, I have to say I do like her in the blues. It makes me feel safe when I leave the house and I'm wondering if there's a way to keep her around there for a couple of weeks before we can get serious about greens. Would that be a poor choice? I know there are no guarantees to keep in in a certain bracket of numbers but I thought I'd throw it out there to see if it is possible.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139+2=142+6 157 +10=365 (question)

Tamara

It's difficult to know if she is bouncing but I would presume so.....and possibly less insulin. I doubt that 365 is still from the MC. ECID but usually it seems a couple hours for carbs to wear off.

Unfortunately, with FD, 2+2 does not always equal 4. I think it's good for you to identify your goal and if it's to just keep her between 100-200 until you get out of school, then that's absolutely fine. The question is...can you
find the dose that will do it? For some cats, it's not too difficult. But for others, they seem to constantly be going back and forth from one drop to the next trying to find the dose that keeps them where the caregiver wants.

You'll just have to see how the dose does for her but our sugarbabies change and she can just as easily start needing more insulin or start dropping into green from a dose that kept her in blue. While I think it is a good goal to
keep her safe, I gave up a long time ago with the expectations. We just see how Gracie is doing and adjust as we need to...sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. After all this time, I still have to really focus on the
thought that she is leading the dance...not us.
 
Re: 5/24 Ella AMPS 164 +1=139+2=142+6 157 +10=365 (question)

pmps 407 I shot the 1.25 and we'll see what happens. I want the weekend to come already so I can see what this dose really does for her.
 
Thanks for your reply Marjorie:) I'm not doing Ella any favours by shooting, not shooting,reductions and so on. I'd like to shoot her consistently if I can so if I can figure out a dose that might keep her in the safer numbers while I'm at work that would be wonderful:) We'll see what moves she brings to the dance floor:)
 
HI Tamara & Ella,
Marje is right that sometimes you have to keep trying things to see what works and be ready to make adjustments--in other words, go with the flow. You could try to find a dose that you can consistently shoot for the next month and that will keep Ella in a safe range (100-200 if that is possible). Perhaps do a trial run over the next few days: shoot 1 unit. That would be half way between your "current" dose of 1.25 and your bcs dose of .75. Get the shed to 1 unit and try to keep it there. If the shed isn't always changing, Ella's bgs may settle down. These are just my thoughts. I don't want to give "advice" because I do not feel qualified to do that!

Thanks so much for your anniversary wishes. We had a great day.

Ella & Edward and Rusty
 
Thanks for visiting Ella:) I'm glad you had a special day on the lake :-D

It's interesting that you said to dose her at 1 unit as I was thinking the same thing:) However, I need to take into consideration that when we were going up the dosing scale 1 unit wasn't enough insulin but perhaps her constipation caused her to have higher bg's. It might be worth a try:)

Off to make banana bread to sell at school tomorrow. I'm raising money for Toronto Cat Rescue, the organization I foster for. If Ella co-operates with me, we'll be at the bowlathon on Saturday. I'm hoping she will as she was my first foster failure from TCR so she should understand how important it is...right Ella?
 
Good luck with the Fund Raising Tamara! You've a great heart!
From reading Ella's condo, I felt the most difficult thing to handle is Ella not willing to eat on her own. This makes you frustrated & could not leave her alone at home. If you can try out & find the food Ella will love & eat on her own, the issue is half solved. Find the food, but dont give it to her everyday because cats are easy bored ( at least mine are! :? ) Get as much variety of canned as possible, sometimes a MC will also do since you are not going to feed her every meal. Go back to the usual LC when you are home to monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top