5/24 Curry PMPS~96 +3-76 +4-67 +5.5-52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday Dental Condo

OK call me chicken or stupid, but I didn't shoot this 67 this morning. I was all ready to shoot a F1.00(had the syringe filled) and thought for sure she was going to be higher this morning since she has not had insulin in her for 48 hours. She gave me a 67.... I couldn't shoot this. I know Mr P must be working over time right now having just come off a unit of insulin so quickly, but my gut told me not to shoot this.

She seems fine this morning. Eyes are still wildly dilated and very, very, very affectionate. She still looks like a furry alien w/those dilated eyes. Definitely hoarse. But doing well.

I have the girls completely separated now. Will continue to do so until I can get the Vetty smell off of Curry and she calms down a bit.

Vet report from yesterday was very good. Only had the tartar around the left molars....Evidently she chews mainly on the left side of her mouth. No evidence of any more reabsorptive teeth issues. So the higher WBC count could have been due to the gingivitis...although the Vet said that usually doesn't happen w/a stage 1 gingivitis issue. But every cat is different.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Oh Tena. I had your condo up to post in it last night, and then I fell asleep with it open on my screen. I'm glad the dental went okay.
I think it's good to follow your instincts, especially today. What a nice AMPG. I hope her mouth feels better reallll soon.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Hi Tena, I am surprised she is so low since she has had no insulin in 48 hours. Do you know hw much glucose they gave her in the IV, kind of a dumb question, I know. Yes, I agree with Dyana, follow your instincts. I am wondering why her eyes are still dilated? Maybe give your Vet a call when they open and just check in with them and voice your concerns. Hugs and scritches to Curry.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Sounds like Curry had an easy dental...although she might disagree. Glad you didn't shoot the 67 as it sounds like she is still clearing the anesthesia. Is she getting Bupe? My vet told me the bupe will make them very, very, affectionate. It did for Gary when he was neutered.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

I hope Curry recovers quickly and her mouth feels better soon. No way would I have shot the 67. I'm too chicken for that. Good luck.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

I definitely would not have shot the 67 either. Especially with the unknown of how the dental would impact Curry's numbers. Hope y'all have a great day and hope Curry has a great day of healing and recovery from the dental.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Tena, I am surprised she is so low since she has had no insulin in 48 hours. Do you know hw much glucose they gave her in the IV, kind of a dumb question, I know. Yes, I agree with Dyana, follow your instincts. I am wondering why her eyes are still dilated? Maybe give your Vet a call when they open and just check in with them and voice your concerns. Hugs and scritches to Curry.

Regarding the dilated eyes.....This happened last time....the effects of the meds given and anesthesia .....it took a couple of days for her body to clear all this crap out of her system.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

I wouldn't have shot that either...their bodies definitely do funky things for a few days after anesthesia, so better safe than sorry.

Have a great day!!!

Amy
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Dilated eyes....And her shaved leg....It took over a year for her hair to grow back on her leg last time. Vet didn't know why....I do...Its Curry.
 

Attachments

  • Curry-one-day-after-dental.jpg
    Curry-one-day-after-dental.jpg
    164.6 KB · Views: 1,133
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

Wow...she looks adorable with those dilated eyes - very, very alert!

I think the hair not growing back (or growing back so slowly) is a diabetic thing. Trixie had her belly shaved in January for an ultrasound, and she's still bald with only a few stragglers growing in. Same with her front leg from the dental last month...no sign of fur growing back yet.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

She is so wild eyed, but absolutely beautiful! I'm glad to hear that the dental went well. I wouldn't have shot either at a 67, but I am so scared of going to low. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

What big eyes you have Curry!

What a gorgeous cat, I love that pic. Hope the hair on her leg grows back quicker this time, but if not, no biggie, she's so beautiful no matter what.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48-67 Dental yesterday..no shot this mornin

OMG - Curry is beautiful - even with those dialated eyes!

Perhaps she's done with all this insulin business?????
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Curry is absolutely beautiful, big eyes and all.. I wouldn't have shot that number either.. You did good following your gut on that one.. Hope she's feeling even better today :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

I love those big eyes on a kitty! :) SO very pretty! :) I don't think I would've shot, either. Glad you went with your gut instinct on this one. I'm glad that Curry's dental went well. She'll recover fully from the anesthesia (sp).
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Hi Tena. I'm repeating what everyone else said. Curry is beautiful, dilated eyes, or not. :-D
I'm glad her dental went well, and she didn't need any extractions. :smile:
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

So Glad the dental went well--Some cats do go low after the anesthesia, so good that you didnt shoot--
Moonie's eyes dilate when I'm going to test or shoot her, Curry looks so cute--
Maybe her numbers will go down from the dental, and something great will happen(antijinx!)--
Hugs have a good day.. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Kristin and Abby said:
OMG - Curry is beautiful - even with those dialated eyes!

Perhaps she's done with all this insulin business?????

Ummm. I think just prior to her dental that she was beginning to show some pretty nice numbers. She had even forgotten to eat one of her late night snacks recently and her morning number was still low. That was a first. She would usually bounce if she didn't eat it.

I think a number of things are contributing to her low numbers right now w/o any insulin....her shed emptied, anesthesia might still be clearing, slightly elevated WBC count might be resolving and her pancreas is working a bit better. If she is deciding to go off the juice, I would have preferred the slow method of stepping it down so as to not overwhelm her pancreas.

Will just have to watch to see how this all plays out over time.

And I'm kinda liking this kitty in her drug induced state....she is so affectionate. :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

wow, she does look a bit high! :lol: she's one gorgeous cat - such a beautiful expression!

i also think you were wise to let her be this morning - if she comes up you're ready to help her then. in the meantime, you're not worrying about her going too low.

have a great day with your druggy affectionate "i love ya mom" kitty! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Tena and Curry said:
And I'm kinda liking this kitty in her drug induced state....she is so affectionate. :lol:

That's so funny...Trixie was all about the luv for a few days after her dental, too. It was a hoot...
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Amazing stuff going on here today. Love the photo of Curry - wild eyed and all. It too took Mannie a couple of days last dental to clear all the stuff out of his system. it will be interesting to see where her BG is when that happens. Go Curry! Wise decision not to shoot this morning. :-D

And I thought it was just Mannie that took forever to grow fur back. Last time it was months... Weird how that is.

have a great day Tena - Curry is looking good!
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Wow, this is all so interesting! I've learned alot on your condo. My girl has not had a dental yet, so I'm filing this away for the future. I saw that you said her late night snack keeps her AMPS down. My girl is the very same way. I guess they stress out if they get too hungry throught the night. Curry must be a hover kitty, too? She doesn't look overweight though?

Also, Curry is absolutely beautiful and I'm so glad she's recovering from her dental.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Curry has the puss-in-boots eyes goin on! She is such sweetheart.

She's got awesome numbers BTW!

Leo had his neck shaved at the beginning of April for his blood work when he was dx FD and his fur has grown in already. So has his injection site that i had shaved for better aiming and that was done maybe 3 weeks ago.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry +48hrs-67 +51hrs-69

Hi Tena, I'm just catching up on your condo, and I love the beautiful wild-eyed Curry! She is a beauty; thanks for explaining the dilated eyes. It's been a while since Maggie's last dental, so I forgot the meds do make the eyes dilated. So Maggie will come home all affectionate and wild eyes, too, unless she's mad at me for taking her to Vetty (then no affection) and no food, except a smidgeon of Gerber bf! Glad, too, you didn't shoot. I'll be anxious to see Maggie's numbers tonight and tomorrow. I'm glad to see Curry doing so well.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96

Wild amazon kitty greets bean and wanting fuds now. And asks to get the smelly Vetty stink off of her immediately.

Yay....Shot the full dose and her comment while eating her food was, I swear it sounded like, "mine, mine, mine". Maybe cuz she's still a wee bit hoarse. Eyes less dialated now.
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96

YAY - and GO CURRY!

Love the food comment - bet she was more than Happy to have regular normal fuds... :cool: :-D

Sounds like she is back to normal, which also is very awesome. Good luck wit the dose. After Mannie's I had to reduce the dose - maybe just watch curry cycle tonight, to make sure she doesn't dive on ya. ECID, but just as a precaution?

Curry?? Did I hear that you have vetty smell, and you want it removed like yesterday? Me and the KTSS specialize in that ya know... so we an come and take care of you. We gots to visit Maggie too, and Tess's bean. so. YAY!! On our way - we gots scented oils and stuff and everything! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96

I love that picture!! It seems she's saying, "Did you see that? Huh? Did ya?" Totally sweet looking!!! I'm glad everything went well and I plan on following Curry's numbers so I can see how this plays out with her numbers. I'm so new at this and I want to see as many variables in as many different cats as possible so if Champ ever does something new for him, maybe I'll be able to relate it to another kitty and what was going on in their environment at that time.

Good luck!! :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96

And no we will not call you "chicken....stupid"!! I call you a GREAT mamabean for watching out for the most beautiful and lovely Curry. And I have always thought she is absolutely gorgeous. I think she had an amazing day with no juice!!! Even her PMPS....weren't you just a little tempted to see how long she'd go in normal numbers? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96

Tena, I wanted to come by again tonight and thank you for dropping in on me and Tommy too.. :-D :-D You've been quite the busy bean today and tonight.. I have to say, with following Curry's dental and how you've handled it and the support and advice when you needed it, not to mention Punkin, Gus, Maggie and i think a few others who have had dentals recently, I'm feeling much more comfortable about getting Tommy's done as soon as i can.. It's nice not to go it alone huh? Everyone here is so amazing and i'm thankful everyday for finding the LL Family. I've learned even more just from your condo the past 2 days.
I'm glad his eyes are returning to normal.. He looks a lot like my Abbey, Just one big fluff ball of love!!
Have a good night Tena ;-)
 
Re: 5/24 Curry PMPS~96 +3~76

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I think she had an amazing day with no juice!!! Even her PMPS....weren't you just a little tempted to see how long she'd go in normal numbers? :lol: :lol:

Marje....It was a surprise this morning by golly. Had the insulin in the syringe read to shoot and then saw her numbers. And to answer your question....yes and no. Yes cuz it was kinda neat not having to give the insulin and No cuz I knew Mr P was gonna have to work overtime since we just came off of a Fat 1.0 units. Didn't want to have to deal w/Texas Fried Pancreas. ;-)

And thanks for all the support today from folks. Y'all are the BEST!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top