5/24 Cain PMPS 78; +2 90; +9 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

Tonight I'm going to be out again during nadir so hopefully Cain will do well today. Last night he went a little higher than usual. I didn't get to chart it as much due to exhaustion apparently. My usual method of making sure I wake up to my alarm worked for the +5 but not the +7. I didn't wake up until about +9 or so when Cain started poking his head near my hands.

I'm going to be out getting cat food and cat litter. Both are low. Be back soon to get a test for +1 or just after.
 
Re: 5/24 Cain AMPS 64; +2 59

+2 59

Looking good. Surf safely, Cain! I'd like to be able to go out tonight. :) I'll get a +4 test before I'm out the door. That'll show me what kind of food to leave out.
 
Re: 5/24 Cain AMPS 64; +2 59; +3 77

+3 77

Hmm that's all food there I think. Ok I'm going to leave out some LC meatsicles and ask my mom to feed them while I'm gone if it doesn't look like they're eating the meatsicle. I'll check when I get back.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 5/24 Cain AMPS 64; +2 59; +3 77; +8.17 70

+8.17 70

Well looks like he did well while I was gone. They (or just Cain) ate at least half of the meatsicles I put down. I put on some freeze dried chicken crumbles (the bits left at the end of a bag of treats) on the meatsicles. I think that might have helped. Of course both were looking at me for food when I got home. :)
 
Re: 5/24 Cain PMPS 78

PMPS 78

Cain started following the red laser dot for a little bit before he stopped. He even batted at it. He's starting to play again. :D
 
Re: 5/24 Cain PMPS 78; +2 90

+2 90

Hm, this is the second or third rising +2 at night I've seen on this dose. He's been going lower at the +2 for a while until this dose. Not sure if this is normal, or there was an air bubble I didn't catch. Or it just points out that I really need to get calipers on this lower dose. I'll have to check the card tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/24 Cain PMPS 78; +2 90

Cain is just showing some beautiful numbers! What nice surfing. I don't think there's anything to be concerned about with a +2 that's a tad higher - all these values are in a very nice healthy range. Sometimes they can do long slow rolls that don't coincide exactly with shots, but that's the idea with a long-lasting insulin ... relatively flat cycles. You also changed to a new pen, and while you don't have a lot of data with the new pen, the values might be a smidge higher with the new one and you're seeing a couple that stick out in your head. Or maybe your measuring like you said, but whatever you're doing, it's terrific because Cain is looking great!
 
+9 83

@Lisa - They are great numbers. I think I got too used to him for a bit giving me numbers in the 60s so seeing higher, yet still good numbers, lately makes me scratch my head at him. On the plus side, since I can't seem to hear my second/third alarm of the night lately, it does allow him to be safer at night. Thanks Lisa! :-D

Now if I can figure out how to get rid of pesky air bubbles. Flicking the syringe to get the bubbles to the top and pushing a little extra insulin out doesn't seem to get them much. Silly bubbles.
 
Ack, the bubbles. Yes. Some syringe manufacturers are worse than others. One technique that a lot of people use around here is to draw in more insulin than you need and withdraw the needle (like you probably already do), flick the air as close as you can to the top, but instead of pushing the air bubble OUT, keep the needle upright and draw a little air INTO the syringe. The idea is to draw in air to "capture" or merge with the bubble to make it a little bigger. You might have to flick around but the two will join to one bubble and the bigger bubble will be easier to center and push out. Sometimes my syringes (Terumo's) get a little bubble stuck on the upper side corner and I couldn't get it flicked over to the center, but drawing the extra air almost always did the trick.

I hope that makes sense!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top