5/23 Wonton Skipped shot, lowish numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
Last night at 6:15pm Wonton was at 401. I could tell she wasn't feeling up to par, she had vomited a large hairball and after I fed her she was hiding in the corner. I gave her 1.5u and left her to relax. An hour later she was by my side being playful, so I knew she felt much better. I tried getting a +4 evening shot but no luck, tried on both ears for awhile, felt bad and let it go. This morning I felt comfortable giving her 1.5u. I will go home at noon to check her numbers.
By the way, I went and bought an automatic feeder and it seems to be working. I set it last night for a small snack at 3am, this morning the door of the container was up and the food gone. So this morning I set a snack for 10am. So far I'm thinking we'll be loving that feeder!
I need to figure out how to keep it cold, maybe put the dish part in the freezer over night (it's plastic like some ice cube trays) and add cold food from the frig. Or look for very small ice packs.
And also so the food doesn't dry out during the day, I'll try adding alittle mineral oil. Plus the oil might help with hairballs. I'll let the boards know how it works out.

Wishing everyone a happy, healthy day!

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71550
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

Hi, glad Wonton is feeling better and maybe the vomit was just a one time thing. Maggie vomits when eating too fast. Great news that she took to the auto feeder, as some of us have a time with it. Have a nice day and Wonton is looking good this morning.
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

I don't think we have stopped by to welcome you so Welcome!! Nice sunny numbers for Wonton. Great news on the autofeeder. I have a skittish kitty who runs when the feeder opens so we don't use one. Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

That hairball could have been behind last night's 401...a lot of times, kitties who are working hairballs will have higher numbers until the hairball is gone.

Great news about the feeder! If you post that you have a question in your subject line, someone will definitely be able to offer suggestions about how to keep the food cold in there. Like I said last night, we didn't have any luck with Trix and the feeder, so I have no experience, but I do remember seeing numerous conversations about how to keep the food cold...I just don't remember the details :roll: :lol: !

You may already know this, but even when you're not successful with getting blood with a test, give Wonton treats. That way she'll always associate treats and good times with testing.

Great job getting a few more tests in! It's hard juggling it all, but before you know it, it will just "fall" right into your normal routine.

Have a wonderful day!

Amy
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

Thank you Ann, Melissa and Amy for your posts and encouragement. Once I'm sure I know what I'm doing I want to help others too and pay if forward. Everyone here is as nice and helpful as can be, it's truly an amazing place!!
Peace and blessings,
Carolyn
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

Hi guys .. nice yellows today wonton! Glad you are having luck with the feeder .. mocha took to her's right away too thank goodness .. I know some people take portions of wet food and freeze them, with a little extra water .. you could start doing that and then pop them in before you leave for work .. they should thaw in time for her snack and still be cool .. maybe someone mentioned that to you as well? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

Yes, I did try to freeze food w/some water in ice cube trays. They seemed to thaw pretty quickly, especially since the warmer weather, but i may try freezing a larger portion. So I came home from work and took her 12:30pm reading, it's 85...her lowest number so far. I have to go back to work now, but will see what it is at 5:30pm. This Sat. I should be able to take more frequent readings all day.
Have a good afternoon!
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton AMPS 255 +1 241

Very nice with that 85 - this is very good info to have! That's also a pretty decent drop, so don't be too surprised if she bounces up into higher numbers by the time PMPS rolls around. She may do some bouncing until her body readjusts to being in those lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP not sure if I should shoot

Wonton's numbers are sooo good today, at +12 she is 163. I couldn't believe it...She's usually in the 300's. Question: should I shoot her regular 1.5u? She's due right now.
Will I need to check her at +6 around midnight?
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

This would be the lowest number you've shot before, right? Did you give her insulin yet? If not, you've got several options:

You can stall...not feed her, and test again in half an hour to see if her number is rising. If so, you should be good to shoot.
You can shoot a "token"/reduced dose
You can skip
You can shoot the full dose

Do you have lots of test strips and high carb food on hand? If not, then you probably do want to skip.

If you do shoot, since this is your lowest pre-shot yet, you'll need to get tests at +1 and +2, to see where the cycle is heading.

It would be great if you're able to get Wonton on a solid 12/12 schedule. She's responding so well, but skipped shots do through her for a loop.

I'm gonna go grab a few bites of dinner, but I'll be back, and I'm sure others will be around to help soon as well.
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

Her 163 reading was at 6:15pm. I fed her right after that. She was due for insulin at 6:30, it's now 7pm.
I do have lots of test strips and HG food, and karo syrup. I'll get a reading at 7:30.
If it's still pretty low, I was thinking shooting a low dose. Would 1u be too much?
I'd hate to not give her shot and then she'll go high in the red numbers, thus the rollercoaster.
Thank you Amy!
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

I think 1U would be fine, if that's what you're comfortable with, especially since you're prepared for test strips.

Don't forget that tomorrow morning's shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, so since you work, you do want to take that into consideration as well. If shooting late tonight pushes you too far off schedule for tomorrow, you may want to skip and start back up at your usual shot time in the morning.
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

I agree about the schedule. I think I will skip tonight's shot.
In the future in a situation like this, would it be ok to shoot less than 1u? I thought 1u since i've read going up or down doses shouldn't be drastic.
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

I'm sure you'd be OK to shoot less that 1U, but it's probably not necessary to do so. 163 is actually very nice, shootable number, but I know you're new at this dance, and you don't have a lot of data yet, so I totally understand why you're more comfy with skipping. Been there, done that - that's for sure!

I know you've asked a few times if you should reduce her dose...I am wondering if you should, so you'll be more comfortable with shooting a regular 12/12 schedule, rather than skipping. If necessary, you can always increase her dose, but at least you'll be getting insulin into her twice a day. Just my 2 cents...hopefully someone else with a bit more experience will chime in shortly!
 
Re: 5/23 Wonton HELP Not sure if I should shoot now

It sounds like you have decided to skip. You need to do what you are comfortable with shooting. Eventually you will shoot a number like this without batting an eye.

It depends on the feeder you have, but some have a small space for an ice pack in the base. You can get replacements at Amazon. Try to find a small glass or ceramic bowl that will fit inside the feeder. You could freeze the whole thing and the cold bowl would extend the chill time. Inserts are also goo because some cats develop allergies from eating from plastic bowls.

I would definitely add water, but I don't think I would add mineral oil. I make Tess's food almost into a soup, the more water they get w/ their food the better. Since the feeder is covered until it opens it should still be nice and moist when it becomes available.

Where are you located? It helps to know because of time zones.
 
Thank you Ann and Amy and all :-D
Thank you for the heads up regarding plastic bowls, hadn't heard of that. I will also add more water to her food. Will also take a reading before bedtime.
I'm on the east coast, NY.
Have a wonderful evening. Wishing you and your kitties happiness and sweet dreams. :YMHUG:
 
If you've not read (or printed out) these two posts, they will be helpful. They are also embedded in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky:

A bit of information will also help. If you are considering stalling, do NOT feed. If you are stalling and you feed, your next test(s) will be influenced by food. You want to see where the numbers are going without their being effected by food.

With someone who is new to FD, we suggest that you skip the shot if numbers are below 150. I can understand your apprehension if you can't be home. I agree with Amy -- the 163 was a good number to shoot. What I would suggest is still getting some tests tonight so you can see when Wonton's numbers start to rise. My guess is that you will probably see a high number in the AM due to the skipped shot. By seeing when the rise occurs, you have a sense of when that upward rise starts.

If you don't feel like you can consistently shoot, it may make sense to lower Wonton's dose. We do this so you can give a shot twice a day. Now, with skipping every couple of shots, Wonton is losing the momentum that occurs when you see lower numbers. Rather than allowing a drop below 50 and being able to reduce the dose, you're skipping, seeing high numbers and repeating the process when you see good numbers.

ETA: When you have a chance, can you complete a Profile on Wonton?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top