? 5/23, Stalling? PMPS 106

RebekaShadow

Member Since 2022
@Chris & China (GA)

I think I’m going to cry with frustration & confusion. I don’t have half unit syringes (am in Oz). After looking at yr syringes I rechecked mine & what I’ve been doing. Thinking now I’ve been giving .5U (not .25U as that’s so hard to measure). Feel like an idiot.
But-since his BG is still going down it’s ok. So I fed him at 9pm-gave no dose. Shld I give him token dose now or skip tonite?
(I am middle of ordering half U syringes)

Hi! Good numbers plus a few in green. But 106 just now. Doing SLGS. Read I should stall & test again in 30-60mins? Then if still under 200 to skip dose?
Edit at 9pm. Test an hour later was 113-so no dose.

thanx
Xxx
 
Last edited:
Hi Rebeka

Sorry no one responded earlier. Did you stall without food?
If you are following SLGS, he has earned a reduction to 0.10U after that drop below 90 today.

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 
I think I’m going to cry with frustration & confusion. I don’t have half unit syringes (am in Oz). After looking at yr syringes I rechecked mine & what I’ve been doing. Thinking now I’ve been giving .5U (not .25U as that’s so hard to measure). Feel like an idiot.
But-since his BG is still going down it’s ok. So I fed him at 9pm-gave no dose. Shld I give him token dose now or skip tonite?
(I am middle of ordering half U syringes)
 
Yes, is is hard to measure without half unit markings! If you think you have been giving 0.5U, you could try 0.25U from tomorrow.
(Could you please update the SS to reflect that you've been giving 0.5U? Thanks :-) )

Sorry! I assumed you were going to skip tonight. With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 if you can monitor. It is scary to shoot lower numbers at first and we ask caregivers whose cats are new to insulin to skip the shot below 200. However, once you have enough data on how your cat behaves on insulin, the idea is to lower your no-shot number till you can shoot any number over 90.
 
No tears needed! Those are some beautiful numbers, especially for so early in treatment. There are lots of other people who would kill to get numbers that nice!

Something you might try is to take an old syringe and use a colored liquid of some kind (juice, Kool-aid, coffee, water with food coloring, etc) and pull up what you think .5 is (or .25) It's not as important that you get exactly .5 or .25 but that whatever you decide is .5 is as consistent as possible.

Then when you need to pull the insulin into a new syringe, you can compare it to the syringe that shows where you decided that dose is.

I know I've mentioned trying TR before, especially while you're home and able to test more often. It's a more aggressive dosing method but it also gives Shadow the best chance at remission. It requires the 2 pre-shot tests and at least 1 midcycle on the AM cycle and at least 1 "before bed" (usually at least +2/+3) on the PM cycle (but there may be times when you'd need to stay up or set an alarm to get more tests later in the cycle)

On TR, you'd continue with the .5 dose. He wouldn't earn a reduction to .25 until he dropped below 2.8.

If you want to stick with SLGS, that's fine too. Just make your "template" syringe and fill it to where you think .25 would be so you have something to compare to
 
No tears needed! Those are some beautiful numbers, especially for so early in treatment. There are lots of other people who would kill to get numbers that nice!

Something you might try is to take an old syringe and use a colored liquid of some kind (juice, Kool-aid, coffee, water with food coloring, etc) and pull up what you think .5 is (or .25) It's not as important that you get exactly .5 or .25 but that whatever you decide is .5 is as consistent as possible.

Then when you need to pull the insulin into a new syringe, you can compare it to the syringe that shows where you decided that dose is.

I know I've mentioned trying TR before, especially while you're home and able to test more often. It's a more aggressive dosing method but it also gives Shadow the best chance at remission. It requires the 2 pre-shot tests and at least 1 midcycle on the AM cycle and at least 1 "before bed" (usually at least +2/+3) on the PM cycle (but there may be times when you'd need to stay up or set an alarm to get more tests later in the cycle)

On TR, you'd continue with the .5 dose. He wouldn't earn a reduction to .25 until he dropped below 2.8.

If you want to stick with SLGS, that's fine too. Just make your "template" syringe and fill it to where you think .25 would be so you have something to compare to


Thanx Chris. I feel so dumb. Well-if I’m already doing TR do I keep giving .5 unless under 2.8?
 
Well-if I’m already doing TR do I keep giving .5 unless under 2.8?

I would but that's totally up to you. If he should drop below 2.8 at any time, he'd go down to .25.

If you're concerned about a Pre-shot being lower than usual, stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. See if the number goes up without the influence of food.

It's also good if you use that time to post and use a really strong subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!!"....That usually gets somebody's attention and once you have help, you can go back and edit your subject line to something more normal like Date/Cat's name, AMPS ### (and as the day goes on, as you get other tests, you can add them to the subject line like 5/22, Shadow, AMPS ###, +3 ###, +7 ###......)

The people here that have experience scan the subject lines looking for people who need help first so keeping it up to date with the latest numbers allows them to know if things are doing OK or there's something going on that they need to talk to you about sooner.

In the morning you can also tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @Bandit's Mom ....they should be up around then.
 
I feel so dumb.

Please stop saying that you're dumb, an idiot or any other self-deprecating language. You're NOT dumb! Learning about this disease is a lot like trying to learn a college level course in endocrinology in 2 days. We all understand because we've been there!

When I was new, I'm sure I drove a lot of people crazy with my questions but I not only wanted to know what I should do, but I wanted to know why! I found reading other people's posts was a good way to learn too. Somebody else would ask a question I hadn't even thought of to ask so I would learn from the advice they would get.

Hang in there! Shadow is really doing great for so early in treatment and has an excellent chance of remission!
 
Back
Top