5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue ADVICE PLEA

Well, well, well, Rory, look at you! Do not feed and test again in 30 mins. Are you around to test, have plenty of strips, MC/HC food, honey?
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue HELP PL

OK I just tested 30 minutes later and he is slightly higher.. yes I have strips but I am 35 minutes late to give a shot.. if I even do.. can I reduce the dose if I do and when should I dose him.. thanks for being here Anne and everyone else watching.. I have all those things honey ready and waiting too
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue HELP PL

Do you have your PMPS (+12) test? I see a +11 on your SS but nothing after.

If you think Rory is dehydrated, you can always add some water to his food.
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue HELP PL

I always add water I entered the pm but it isnt registering it is 113
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue HELP PL

he ate a big amount for supper also so its 50 minutes after dosing and 20 minutes after last glucose test..I will check it again now OK??
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue HELP PL

You can test as often as you'd like!!

If you shot, then you'll want to put the dose on your SS. I didn't think you'd given Rory his shot given that the column was empty.
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue NO DOSE

yes he is dropping and the ss sheet is working very slow tonight, so Im not giving him a dose tonight
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM LOW blue NO DOSE

You could still shoot if he starts to go up but only if you feel comfortable doing that.
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

when is it too late to dose, I thought you needed 12 hours between. wont that just make him bottom out and bounce? I will go check it has been 25 minutes again ...brb
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

If you delay tonight, then that becomes the new shot time in the morning. You can adjust by 30 mins per day, either 30 mins at one shot or 15 mins at both shots. Can your schedule accommodate that? It's also difficult because Rory will expect his food at the usual time...
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

he has dropped a little again so I am just going to miss the dose, he wants fed again as usual and just bit his brother because he was feeding.. that has been a problem between them, Rory gets wicked at times towards Reilly, everything is Rory's LOL
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

That's fine. You can shoot at whatever time that you want in the morning.
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

when is it OK to feed him again, I will be checking his blood every 30-60 minutes until it starts to go up
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

I would feed him his normal food. You don't really need to test since you didn't shoot and don't plan to shoot. Maybe just test before you go to bed. Give Rory and yourself a pokey break tonight. :-D He will likely be pretty high in the morning but I hope not!
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

he dropped even more this last half hour and I decided to let him have some food.. since it is lowering so much.. his poor little ears are so sore he is getting so ticked off he is growling and hissing at me, dreading the poke regardless of the extra loving I am giving he is just PISSED at me
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

A couple of things that help the ears is if you apply 20 secs of gentle pressure after the poke. Also, you can put some Polysporin ointment with pain relief on the ears at night. It will help with healing.
Liz
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

Rory really wasn't dropping. The numbers were pretty flat. I'd love to see you start to shoot lower numbers. You shot a 160. I honest think you would have been find to shoot tonight but you need to get comfortable with the idea.
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

I have been applying it after every poke and wiping it off.. maybe that isnt such a good idea because the wiping is probably just as irritating as blowing your nose constantly when having a cold.. I could have thought of worse examples :lol: ......I wish there was something good for bruising like Arnica.. I wonder if Arnica is cat safe!! it works awesome
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

maybe so but I didnt want him to do what he did last night and bounce.. are there not some cats who only require shots once daily
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

Hi Var-ee

Rory gave us the perfect chance for a learning experience :-D

Lets compare yesterday to today.

Both days he started in the 300s and came down....a little faster yesterday. He nadired at +8 and then headed back up...right into the next bounce.

Today...pink, then came down to blue...slower but he never got a nadir...he's been surfing since +11 so thats good! sometimes they keep dropping.

You have a few +1 tests and some times he's gotten a food spike. It might be good to try and get a few more +1 spot checks when you can so you will know if he gets food spikes more often than not or vice-versa.

If you had supplies tonight and were rested and could test, it might have been a good time to shoot on time. Because he was surfing, I bet he would have gone up once you fed. He might have come back down but one of us would have worked with you to manage the numbers. :-D

I hope that helps....next time, if the circumstances are the same and someone is around that can stay with you, it might be good to shoot on time.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

I just fed him and 15 minutes later he went up a little so I feel better.. I will check every hour instead on every 30 minutes
... maybe he will get over the trauma.. :shock:
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

in the morning will it be OK to give Rory the regular dose of 2u since I missed a dose tonight what happens in this kind of situation?
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

I wouldn't test any more tonight.....I'd go to bed. If you didn't shoot, he can't hypo and he's at very safe numbers.

Yes...shoot 2u tomorrow morning. If you liked your shot time, shoot then. If you wanted to move your shot time, you can move it to whatever time you wish.
 
Re: 5/23 Rory am 340 +3 301 +6 248 +9 to PM blue stable, n/d

Thanks so much Marje.. and goodnight, I will feel better that he gets some rest as well. I have left out a little bit of food in case he needs it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top