5/23 Rocky PMPS 221 +1 180 +2.5 143 +7.5 101 +8 269 +11 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
OMG!!! -- :o

I forgot to give Rocky his shot this morning.. :shock: Seriously. I was busy doing something else while heating up his rice sock in the microwave and had his food in the bowl ready to go. After I did the BG test I came out of his room and then instead of going to fridge to get out his insulin, I made a phone call. In fact I made two phone calls. Then, I fed another cat and went back to bed. Just completely spaced the insulin shot... @-)

And I was so tired and seriously lacking in sleep. I-)

I fed him again at what I thought was AMPS +1 and thought, "I'll get a +2 test because his AMPS BG was in the pink." So I then went back to bed again. When I got up the third time I looked over at the stove and felt something was wrong. I then looked into the fridge. The insulin had not been moved since last night! ohmygod_smile

I then debated on skipping his shot altogether but when I took his BG at what was now PMPS +14 he was at 407. I decided I should give that shot even though it was 2 hours late.. :YMSIGH: ** huge sigh ***

Can I give him his shot 15 minutes early tonight? I gave him the shot at 11am this morning, so can I give him his evening shot at 10:45pm tonight?

With all of his late night runs of BG's in the greens and having to monitor him so late this is going to be hell on me.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119157

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 298 +2 300 +4 149 +4.5 111 +5 100 +5.75 103 +7 125 +11 195
PMPS 178 +1 261 +2 234 +4 315 +12 356
 
Re: need shot time help! 5/23 Rocky PMPS +2 398

yes, you can give it 15 minutes early tonight - i don't think there would be any concern about that.

If he's over 300 at 10:00pm i'd think you might be able to even give it an hour early. Sometimes shooting earlier can take advantage of Lantus' overlap and it can smooth out the numbers. Just depends on the cat. There are some mentions of this in the "low numbers" sticky that you could read about. I probably wouldn't shoot an hour early if he isn't high. But right now he looks like he's in a bounce from the blue numbers yesterday. His past few bounces have had a day of high in between the lower cycles - and today looks like his high day.

I say that as an option for you. There is always the chance if you shoot significantly early like that that he'll end up in low numbers. If you do shoot early, know that's a possibility.
 
Re: need shot time help! 5/23 Rocky PMPS +2 398

Thank you Julie! :YMHUG: I didn't even think to perhaps shoot an hour early to take advantage of the insulin overlap. I am going to do that, I am going to give him that shot at 10pm instead of at 11pm.

I feel a lot more rested now and would be able to monitor him for sure tonight if his BG should start to come down.
 
Re: 5/23 Rocky PMPS +2 398

you're welcome.

on your subject line today - do you maybe mean amps 407, +2/398? you don't have a pmps yet, right?
 
Re: 5/23 Rocky AMPS 407 +3 398 +6.75 304 +9.75 231

Yes, Julie, you're right, I meant the subject line to read AMPS!!! I even put the wrong BG in there. @-) haha_smiley I have changed it to be correct now. Well, maybe I'm still not quiet rested? :?

It looks like I do not get to give his evening shot one hour early tonight, at 10pm because he is already at 231. Who knows, he might even be at a blue number by his evening shot time!! :lol:
 
Re: shot question 5/23 Rocky AMPS 407 +3 398 +9.75 231 +11 2

I gave Rocky his AMPS shot 2 hours late this morning. So, he got it at 11am instead of at 9am.

I wanted to make it up tonight and Julie suggested that I might shoot one hour earlier, 10pm instead of 11pm, if Rocky was still in the 300s.

Rocky is now in yellow numbers and looks like he is still coming down. Do you think it's safe to go ahead and give him his shot 15 minutes early? I want to get him back on the 9am -9pm schedule.

Or, if I give him his shot at 11pm tonight, do I give him his shot at 10:30am tomorrow? How much earlier can I give his shot tomorrow morning if I don't move it back by 15 minutes tonight?

I hope that I'm making sense.

I haven't weighed him yet... I forgot to weigh Rocky today. ohmygod_smile It's just been one of those kinds of days. I wonder what percentage carb I should feed him for his mini-meals tonight.

Update: I just fed him 1/2 can of the 5% FF Beef Feast for his PMPS pre-shot meal and I gave the shot at 10:45pm, so 15 minutes early.


If he has dropped by more than 20 points at PMPS +1 I think I should probably increase his carbs to at least 11%.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top