5/23 Pixie 0.25u PMPS=108, +1=112

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good Morning everyone - quite a bit of rain today but the week-end promises to be hot. Happy Memorial Day week-end to our friends to the South. Safe travels to all who are travelling.

Pixie seems to be doing well on the 0.25u dose which is challenging to measure out accurately. I was afraid it wouldn't be enough to keep his numbers low but so far so good - today should tell us for sure.

One thing I'm wondering is...how long before Pixie starts to put on weight? Is it unusual that Pixie is still having difficulty keeping the pounds on? Don't get me wrong, Pixie is looking a little better but he's certainly not 100%. I sure hope there isn't some underlying condition that I'm missing.

Hugs and healing vines to all that need them. Anne

P.S. Thanks Julie for the information about photos. I'm hoping to get a photo of Pixie up soon.

Yesterday's condo - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119125
 
Re: 5/23 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +1=106, +2= 65, +3=52

Looks like you got the picture up. I just love those markings on his face.

And it looks like the new dose is doing great too.
 
Re: 5/23 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +1=106, +2= 65, +3=52

Hi guys .. well look at pixie go! Numbers are looking puurfect on this dose .. and that photo is adorable, what a looker! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +1=106, +2= 65, +3=52, +4=54

What a cutie pie -- er...handsome devil, that is. :-D

Pixie's numbers are looking awesome today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

On the food, my guy started gaining weight fairly quickly once we started insulin. I can't remember if you've said whether Pixie tends to be picky, or not, but there are foods that are more calorie dense than others, so you could experiment with some more calorie dense foods and see if he starts bringing up the weight a bit. You could calculate what Pixie is currently getting in calories per day, and if you want him to gain weight, add more calories for about a week, weigh him and see if he's gained weight, and adjust the calories accordingly.
 
Jen's got a good idea there! the calories are available on http://www.catinfo.org - this whole site has lots of good info and is written/maintained by a vet who sometimes posts here, Dr. Lisa. If you want to go straight to the food lists click here.

hmmm, i'm seeing blues creeping into his spreadsheet tonight. they are still under 120, fortunately. let's see what he does in tonight's cycle, but if he is trending up, i'd go back to 0.5u immediately.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

I love his sweet little face! what a cute boy! glad you could get a picture posted - it's so nice to attach a face to a name!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top