? 5/23 Marshmellow +11 105, AMPS 96, +2 57, +2.5 49 and of course a bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Marshmellow rambunctious as usual, meowing for breakfast at 4:30, made it easier getting a +11. I am treating the 105 and 96 as the same number, though she could still be slowly dropping. I elected to shoot the 96 with the full 2.5 and will monitor carefully, as I don't want her to go without again. She may have to get her 2nd feeding at +2 instead of +3, and I have some MC food ready in case.

Unfortunately this is a bad weekend for a dosecrease, will increase on Monday (too much time without being able to monitor) as Janelle works nights and can't monitor during the day.

I hope everyone has a nice day, and safe surfing to all the kitties! Also, thank you all again for the support:cat:.
 
At +2 fed 2 tsp 12c FF to hold drop, will retest in 1/2 hr. I noticed to day, same as I have before, when her BG is lower, she tends not to eat as much. I may have to split up her food even more and spread it out more. Hopefully in this manner she will still eat the same amount of food that the insulin is being based on.
 
Marshmellow held her low numbers the longest she ever has. I'm not surprised of the bounce. Hopefully she can do this a few more times. Thank you all for the encouragement!
 
Here's your Balls of Steel for shooting the full dose into normal numbers! Way to go!
boshand.gif


Fabulous! She spent at least 8 hours in normal numbers, possibly even longer! That's fantastic! You can keep the 2.5u and shoot through the bounce tonight if you want - shooting the larger dose once more right after a bounce has begun is one way to help deal with the bouncing high numbers. Then her new dose would be 2.25u. Watch carefully when she clears this bounce, she ought to end up in green numbers again. Some cats can't handle reductions and "fail" them, so be on alert to see if she can handle having less insulin and still be green.

For now enjoy the bounce and some time off from too much testing until she clears it again.

You & Janelle are doing great, Steve. Have a good weekend!

by the way, the post that Sienne wrote about Low Numbers is also contained on the "Shooting & Handling Low Numbers" sticky, if you need it again. Here's the link to the "Where Can I Find?" if you don't have it bookmarked.
 
You can keep the 2.5u and shoot through the bounce tonight if you want

Thank you, I hadn't seen your post, so unfortunately we gave her the 2.25u, next time I will remember that. My vet thinks I'm crazy, but she does support us, and as she has access to Marshmellow's ss, she thinks we're on the right track. She is a concerned vet, she texts at least a few time a week! Again, thank you all for the support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top