5/23 Luke AMPS 265, 242 + 1, 131 +2, 69 +3

Kristen ardito

Member Since 2023
previous posts for continuity:

yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-1-321-3-319-6-313-10-338.277819/

previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-b-311-5-236-6-221-9-292.277785/#post-3073361

Help! I just don't understand. Yesterday I was thinking that Luke maybe was ready for a dose increase. Then overnight his numbers stabilized into the 200s so I held off, thinking he was coming off his bounce. I held his dose to 1.75 this morning and now his numbers are plummeting. Libre shows trend going down so I just gave him some food with gravy and am going to monitor closely.

So now, I have a new question: Does this warrant a dose decrease now that he's dipped into the 60s (I double checked accuracy with Freestyle Lite and got a 63).

What a roller coaster!

Editing newer numbers:

+ 3 - 69

15 min later: 65 - gave fancy feast w gravy
15 min later: 62 - gave 7 pieces small dry food
15 min later: 54 - gave little syrup
15 min later: 69
 
Last edited:
It was likely a bounce clearing cycle that gave extra momentum. With TR and a human meter you reduce if the bg falls under 50. It hasn’t. Remember normal bg with a human meter is 50-90. This was a nice pancreas healing cycle. It’s exactly what you want to see, lots of green.
Do you feed a small snack at +1 when the bg is lower than the preshot? Big drops create bounces as do being lower than the cats body is used to until they become regulated.
 
Greens are scary at first but if 50+ totally safe. They soon become contagious. This is the best cycle yet! :D He let you know not to increase.
 
Thank you thank you thank you!! ok, I admit, I panicked. :arghh:.

I even read and reread the sticky saying "don't panic" and I've given him a bit of dry food (about 7 pieces, each hour) and some syrup on his gums and a little food with gravy.

Just checked again and he's 63 (now at +6)

I will talk myself off the ledge. :)

I also think it's b/c the Libre was giving me alerts for low that I was scared.
 
Also, I should say he's acting fine. Totally normal and if anything, wanted to play a little while ago. So that's something. :)
 
I think we ALL were scared when we first saw BG under 100. It’s normal and good because you never want to become complacent. Good job handling this even though I know how scary. Handling lows in the middle of the night is fun too!
 
Back
Top