5/23 Kasha AMPS 413 PMPS 531 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Ate full breakfast. With some, but not too much encouragement. She's been very playful since yesterday. Played with my headphones for quite a while last night - usually she loses interest and motivation pretty quickly. She's also moving more quickly than usual - trotting and darting from place to place.

Yesterday
 
Re: 5/23 Kasha AMPS 413

Glad you are doing the ketone testing with these higher numbers. that's a good thing. I was wondering how much chicken/turkey you are giving Kasha....and if you are supplementing at all....did Kasha eat canned this morning?
I loved reading about the darting from place-to-place...LOL...I just LOVE trotting kitties! they look so happy and full of themselves, right? Shadow does that a lot...Raja, not so much.... :lol: Raja "scurries" around.... :lol:
Hope you guys have a good day!
 
I am soooo sick of the high numbers!!!

534 @ +11. Really?

Kasha eats canned for breakfast and dinner - I don't usually give the chicken/turkey snacks until she's eaten some canned. That said - she probably eats around 1 - 2 Tbsp canned per meal. I aim for 2 Tbsp and then if she wants more, great. Sometimes I'll open up a different flavor an hour or 2 after meal time and she'll have some more. Tonight she ate over 2 Tbsp of her canned kitten food. We also had our 10th Baytril (4 more to go).

Tuesday we have our Internal Medicine appt with the specialist. Kasha's nadir today was in the blues, so that's not too bad, But why the constant jumps back up to the reds and beyond? I thought today was a fairly gentle curve for her - she didn't drop like a rock into the greens like she has on occasion, even though I guess she did drop quite a bit. But even so... even with lots of snacking to even things out... I get home and bam! 500s. Hate it. I've had a hard enuf week...
 
Hello Krys,

Please do not get discouraged by the reds and the blacks.... and I realize that it's easier said that done. The good news is also in your SS! I see a couple of things.... I see Blue and yellow and I see that Kasha looks consistent.... and rebound only last the evening! That's good stuff if you ask me.

Ok.... now... tonight was c9 of this dose (1.25U) and I don't think that the 1st green counts because you had changed the dose that day (so could be NDW). If Kasha doesn't give you better than blue on this dose, tomorrow might be your dose increase day per the protocol....

Don't be sad... you're getting close!

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

And one last thing, a sad face on the subject line means horrible things with respect to the health of the cat...
 
If you guys suggest a dose increase, sounds like a plan. Only thought is whether to increase tomorrow morning (when I won't be home to monitor) or tomorrow night.

Also, Tues. morn we have to drive nearly an hour to see a specialist and she's supposed to have a "light breakfast" in case they need to sedate.

Any thoughts on whether I should wait to increase the dose or just go for it?
 
it's up to you, if you would rather wait that's fine. I'm just trying to make the black numbers go away. However (I've said this before, I'm sure), when the infection does clear Kasha's numbers will probably drop. It might happen suddenly (let's hope it clears soon). You have to be comfortable with what you're shooting and your ability to monitor. Last time you increased, she did hit green that first cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top