5/23 Johnny (1st curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Very Active Member
I've been reading up on curves, but one thing I'm not understanding is the feeding schedule during curves. Johnny ate one can of FF after the AMPS. We've removed the dry food today entirely. We plan to test every two hours. Does this sound good? And when should he eat again?

Thanks for all the advice lately. I can't wait until I'm on the "giving" side rather than always taking it! You've been literal life-savers!
 
Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

How much will you be feeding him total? That is GREAT about the dry food elimination...whew...really GREAT news!! The food thing is tricky....it is good to have them getting nourishment regularly throughout the day. Ater they eat, their numbers usually go up after about an hour or so.
For myself, I feed my two every 4 hours throughout the 24 hour period. My Raja used to free feed dry and I am basically not sure how much she would eat in a day. She has adjusted to the canned for over a year now...

Definitely after the AMPS and PMPS and then smaller meals in between those hours. Some of us have feeders that open during the day/night so that they will have the food at proper intervals if we are away from home. (Do you have a supply of hich carb canned that has gravy for when the numbers drop qui9ckly. You will see how the gravy raises the numbers when the time comes. We use use food to control the deep drops that happen sometimes during the cycle)

If you will give snacks in between the PS times, make sure you feed 4 hours before you test so that the number will not show a food spike. KWIM? I feed them at +8 as well as PS times.....that spreads the food out over the day so they don't get overly hungry...

The curve plan sounds good...more data the better to see his pattern. Have you read and reread the stickies at the top of the page? you will find this in one of them..
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

It's wonderful that you've eliminated the dry food!

Your feeding schedule doesn't need to change when you're doing a curve. Just do what you usually do. The curve may actually help you to take a look at how and when you're feeding. Many of us (most of us?) don't feed just at shot time. We either give a slightly larger meal at shot time and LC snacks during the day or we've customized how we feed. For example, some cat's are prone to having their numbers drop quickly early in the cycle. As a result, the day's food is spread out over the first several hours of the cycle. Others, like Pat, break the meals into equal portions and feed throughout the cycle. Smaller, more frequent meals are easier on the pancreas and keep the metabolism stoked.

Looking at Johnny's numbers so far, you've seen a 100 point drop by +2. That's good to see from the standpoint of his numbers. A "typical" curve would have the pre-shot and +2 number being roughly the same. It may mean that Johnny is very responsive to Lantus and it's onset is around +2 or he's one of those cats who has an early drop. You'll have a better sense of how his numbers play out as you collect data today.

Actually, I would correct what Pat said. You want to hold food 2 hours prior to shot time to prevent a food spike.
 
Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

Just to clarify, I took the dry food away for today only, since it would be harder to know when he'd eaten throughout the day. He is really close to being all wet food though. What's stopping me is that we have two other cats who eat more dry than wet. We're transitioning them towards the wet, but so far we still have the food out all the time. It's high protein/low carb, but I know that wet is still better.

Thanks for the encouragement!
 
Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

Hello and welcome to lantus land!

For safety reasons and so people can see at a glance the information regarding Johnny, could you pls add to your signature that Johnny eats dry food and, if you are transitioning, also make a note of that. It's important for people trying to help you to have all this information handy. If you want to see the obvious improvement on a cat's numbers with the food change, I recommend visiting Do Lou's spreadsheet (SS). You'll see that it's totally worth a total switch....

Welcome!
 
Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273

Curve results so far (also in SS).

AMPS ~ 363
+2 ~ 273
+4 ~ 116
+6 ~ 60

So, I think we've found his nadir, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top