Re: 5/23 Johnny (curve today) AMPS ~ 363 ; +2 ~ 273
It's wonderful that you've eliminated the dry food!
Your feeding schedule doesn't need to change when you're doing a curve. Just do what you usually do. The curve may actually help you to take a look at how and when you're feeding. Many of us (most of us?) don't feed just at shot time. We either give a slightly larger meal at shot time and LC snacks during the day or we've customized how we feed. For example, some cat's are prone to having their numbers drop quickly early in the cycle. As a result, the day's food is spread out over the first several hours of the cycle. Others, like Pat, break the meals into equal portions and feed throughout the cycle. Smaller, more frequent meals are easier on the pancreas and keep the metabolism stoked.
Looking at Johnny's numbers so far, you've seen a 100 point drop by +2. That's good to see from the standpoint of his numbers. A "typical" curve would have the pre-shot and +2 number being roughly the same. It may mean that Johnny is very responsive to Lantus and it's onset is around +2 or he's one of those cats who has an early drop. You'll have a better sense of how his numbers play out as you collect data today.
Actually, I would correct what Pat said. You want to hold food 2 hours prior to shot time to prevent a food spike.