5/23 Heart AMPS 402, PMPS 167 - Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
After I almost reached my wit's end with all of the high numbers, starting to feel some dispair and worrying about ketones (hence the more aggressive increases after only four cycles each dose), I finally saw not only a nice blue, but a green last night. I almost shed a tear of joy I was so happy to see a 90 at +7. Sure enough this morning I got a 402. Being an hour and a half late doesn't help, but I'm bringing him to a weekend schedule since I've been setting my alarm at 5am for his AM shot so that I can give his PM at 5pm between work and activities. Anyway, I'm assuming this is a bounce (or NDW) since we haven't seen normal numbers in over two weeks?

So here is my impression of Levemir - I don't like how long it takes to bring him down, and how brief the bottom of the curve is before he shoots up again a couple hundred points when it's time for the next shot. Is this normal for Levemir? Or just part of finding the dose and getting him used to it? I thought I'd see fewer swings with Levemir. Maybe some Levemir people can chime in (so that I also know who you are and can study your spreadsheets ;)
 
Re: 5/23 Heart AMPS 402 - But I'm pretty sure it's a bounce!

Just like Lantus, Levemir cats have varying reactions to the insulin. Neko has been on Levemir since last September. Other SS to look at are Gracie (Marje), Tess (Ann), JD (Dyana), Rusty (Ella), Juno (Cristina). Some cats are still quite bouncy on Levemir, some not. Heart is probably bouncing due to the green. I'd hold the dose a bit long this time since you saw the green. Looks like you are getting a better idea of when the nadir is.
 
Re: 5/23 Heart AMPS 402 - But I'm pretty sure it's a bounce!

Hi guys .. yay for green last night! Boo on the bounce this morning .. but sometimes, bounces aren't so hard to take when we know the reason behind them, or so I always thought .. have a great day guys!
 
Ummm I just tested a 136, and then a 167 on the other ear. Help? Do I give the same dose again?

Edit: I did. This day looks the same as 5/6, and it was safe then. I feel like I'm an absolute beginner again with Levemir!
 
yes, you hold the same dose unless you catch a number under 50. With Lev, the nadir is later for most cats but just like lantus, you're making dose decisions based upon the nadirs. I only used Lantus. Some of the cats on Lev have late enough nadirs that they are actually at the following preshot time.

if you're home over the weekend, you might try getting tests every 3 hrs or so to try to get a better sense of when Heart's nadir is and what a typical cycle on Lev might look like. With a week on it now, patterns ought to be beginning to emerge.

Regarding your question about how short in duration the low numbers are lasting in the cycle so far, i think it's a matter of allowing a little more time and getting to the right dose. I'd give it a 6 month trial before deciding it wasn't working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top