5/23 Gus PMPS/R.25?+3R=HI/Lantus Dose ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

Good Morning Bev and Gus!

Good luck with your R dose today. We had quite the R-fest this weekend and I was happy with the experiment. It seemed very crazy around the board this weekend, hope you survived and are ready for a new week!

Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

Wished for lower. We'll get this yet!

Morning Bev & Gus, I hope Gus comes down today. I know so little about the R and insulin, but you are handling it well. The advisors are so knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks for the good wishes for Maggie's dental tomorrow. Have a nice day and give Gus some scritches from me and Maggie.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

Morning guys! I wish I knew more about R - it is so out of my league. I still think you handle Gus well, his number management is really well done. Kudos to you and all you do for Gus. I still remember seeing all those "HI" readings from not that long ago. What great progress he has made. :-D
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

happy monday! yay for gus staying on the charts! every day that i don't see "hi" i think gus is making progress. it's all relative, isn't it?

you've done great with him - he's trying to keep you on your toes with all the latest bells and whistles.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

Good morning Bev & Gus! Hope the R is working out for you. I am not home enough to experiment with that, but wish I had a chance.

Hope you have a great Monday!!
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s

Good morning guys .. I know you wished for lower but you definitely have the right attitude and yes, you will get this! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

R lost its effectiveness on the 20th/21st. And that is the reason Gus can't be pulled down into lower #s by the R supplement. Getting new R this afternoon. What we're seeing here, is the effect of Lantus alone. My dread is much less. Gus' higher numbers are because he's simply not getting enough Lantus. I'll hold for 4 and increase his dose as per protocol. I'm anxiously awaiting the results of his bloodwork.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Good morning Bev, I'm really sorry to see the +3 number.. what has happened to your R that you think it is contaminated. Good luck with the new one!
bev5477 said:
Wished for lower. We'll get this yet! :-D
Yeah you will!!!
I sure hope Gus finds a better floor today..
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

What an awesome attitude you have!!! He's doing so very much better and it's because of your diligence and being a great bean.

Come on down Gus...you can do it on your lantus!!!
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

I always inject the Lantus alone, first. Then, I inject the R. 2 injections.....2 syringes. I was distracted around the 2oth and 21st. Lots of family activity and chauffering people everywhere. I am reasonably certain that I inadvertently used the same syringe for both insulins somewhere in that timeframe. It's immediately that, Gus'; #s took a turn. You can research the topic on Google. One article actually discusses the human use of Lantus in combo with fast acting insulins and how the secondary insulin gets contaminated by the R if constant precautions aren't taken. It is well worth knowing for any R user.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Wow, good thing you're a research-aholic, Bev!! Good for you on figuring that out. Gus is in great hands and I know things will start to improve again soon.

Have a great Monday!! :-D
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

First, what's the expiration date on the R?

You are correct -- you can't combine Lantus with any other insulin in the same syringe. If you went from R to Lantus with the same syringe, I would not be surprised if the Lantus was contaminated. Other than that, I thought (and this is impression, not fact), that R was pretty indestructible.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Even though Trixie is not an "R" kitty, I always learn so much from Gus's condos....he's one lucky kitty to have you!
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Wow, the things we learn here! Good luck with the new insulin. How old is the Lantus? Maybe you should replace both, just to be on the safe side?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Evidently R isn't indestrucible when it's handled incorrectly. When I realized what had happened, I purchased new R and Lantus, of course. Just posting my experience so that others will be extra vigilant with their 2 separate insulins. You don't need to actually mix and combine them in one syringe for contamination to occur. Just one drop transferred to the other will do the deed. Learn from my mistake.
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

wow .. I'm surprised that just a single drop would contaminate the other like that ...
 
Re: 5/23 Gus AMPS 395/R.5s/+3R=495/contaminatedR

Bev, thanks for the information, that is indeed something I should know.. I hope the new stuff does the trick for your boy.. Will be keeping an eye out for that development.
Have a great evening!! :-D
 
It's obvious to me that Gus isn't doing well at 6.5. We all thought that he'd need less Lantus after his dental. It doesn't seem to be the case. If I hold each consequtive .5U increase for 4 cycles until I get him back up to 9U (pre-dental dose), I've subjected him to about 10 days of dangerous BG levels. I want Gus to have better numbers and I want his basal insulin to be at a therapeutic amount. He has already spent far too long with unacceptable BG. I'd like to increase his Lantus quicker than the protocol suggests because he can handle more. Can any of the dosing experts help Gus?
 
bev5477 said:
It's obvious to me that Gus isn't doing well at 6.5. We all thought that he'd need less Lantus after his dental. It doesn't seem to be the case. If I hold each consequtive .5U increase for 4 cycles until I get him back up to 9U (pre-dental dose), I've subjected him to about 10 days of dangerous BG levels. I want Gus to have better numbers and I want his basal insulin to be at a therapeutic amount. He has already spent far too long with unacceptable BG. I'd like to increase his Lantus quicker than the protocol suggests because he can handle more. Can any of the dosing experts help Gus?
bev, i wouldn't mess around with going back up in increments of 0.5 unit. i'd take his lantus dose back up to 8u in one fell swoop. you've had to use an awful lot of R and it's barely making a dent. the lantus dose is just way too low...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top