5/23 Ella PMPS 508 +3=385+4=376 (surprised!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71527

Ella surfed the blues all night and has given me a pretty green this morning, although I have a feeling it's partly due to needing carbs. Not sure what to do...it's a work day but I can come home for lunch but that would be +6.

Any suggestions?

edited to add: I'm thinking she might bounce from this too but of course we can't be certain. since she is probably low due to low carbs being a factor...I don't think stalling show us higher numbers.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

oh my!
looks like she saved the best for this morning!

I don't do dosing dealings, but will ask: when did u get that number?
I'm thinking you may want to retest it, maybe try for a retest about 15-20 minutes after you took that 95

I have to go do Luna now, hopefully experienced dosing eyes are around @-)
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Good morning Ronnie!

I just got that number about 15 minutes ago but I really think that because she is hungry we won't see a rise in numbers...
I proabably want to shoot her with something but I just don't know how much.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

I still vote for a re-test!

ur 95 says pmps by the way lol
i had to double check the day
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

tested again 88

do i ever wish it was summer....

she will probably bounce and i know i need to be consistent but i don't know what i should do nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

That's a really nice AMPS you got there, Ella cat_pet_icon
I would not feed her and stall for 15 minutes and see if she comes up, and then shoot.
If you're going to BCS again, that's up to you. But, remember a BCS is a temporary one time dose.

I have to go shower and stuff. I'll be back in a bit.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

too late dyana...she went lower and I'm feeding her. i'm not sure what to shoot bcs wise.

i'm also late on the shot and have to leave by 8:15 so won't be able to get a + 2...some other things to consider.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Dyana said:
That's a really nice AMPS you got there, Ella cat_pet_icon
I would not feed her and stall for 15 minutes and see if she comes up, and then shoot.
t.

Dyana: only shoot if she comes up?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Thank you for catching that...I've been up on and off all night:)
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Are you thinking of skipping? I was thinking you would shoot a BCS like 1.00 (that's 80% of her regular dose), and give her some medium carb food to get her on a surfboard.
If you want to skip, that's fine. She'll probably be high tonight whether you skip, stall, BCS, or shoot her regular dose.

The nice green numbers she is getting now is from the doses she had in the past. What you shoot this morning will affect today and the near future (like tonight, and tomorrow, and maybe the next day or so).

If it were me, I would shoot something (even 0.75, just to get something into the shed for tonight), and feed her well, and leave out some nice higher carb food that she likes. It's up to you.

Generally the options are:
Shoot regular dose
Shoot BCS dose
Stall and shoot regular dose
Skip
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Hi Dyana:)

Thanks for your advice.
She doesn't like any higher carb food...in fact to have to blend it and put it in her lc...which is what I can do. If I re-tested at 7:00 and she was on the rise, could I shoot her the full dose or it is too risky because that number might be due to a food spike?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

just tested and she's 95 again...

edited to add: if i shoot and she bounces...does the insulin help to stop the bounce from going too high?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

I think it's too risky, because of the food spike.

I guess your option now is to skip, and start all over again, tonight. At least if she's high (over 300), you can shoot her at your normal shot time tonight, if you skip this morning's dose.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

just cross posted with you:)
is it too late to so a bcs?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

tpr said:
just cross posted with you:)
is it too late to so a bcs?
No. We don't generally recommend both a BCS and a stalled shot, because the stalled shot acts like a dose reduction anyway. But as we know Ella is special. How about giving her a little insulin? What would you feel comfortable with? 0.75? 0.50?
Any little bit will help her with her bounce a little bit, and will put something into the shed for tonight and near future.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Why don't you test again, before you give her anything, just to be sure.
If you give her a shot and she's still below 100, then mix up some medium carb food to give her and to leave out for her to eat during the day.
My cats love FF Medleys (about 12%), have you tried those on Ella?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

at this point, i can only get a +1...would that be good enough to be safe?
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Ella doesn't like anything but her wellness...she picky.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

just re-tested and she's back to 88...pretty much same number. She's flicking her tail which i think is a sign she's bouncing. I find this whole thing to be so stressful Dyana. I really want the best for her but she's unpredicatable:(
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

tpr said:
at this point, i can only get a +1...would that be good enough to be safe?

OK..this might sound like a doozy of a question but if I skipped and she bounced, are the counter regulatory hormones doing a similar job as the insulin would be?
I have to go now, as I have to get ready for work.

I'm not sure if I understand your question, or if I'm just confused myself. Insulin would bring her BGs down and help her to get the food she eats into her cells to be used for energy. The counter regulatory hormones, I thought, were like glucose that the liver puts out when it "thinks" the body is going too low, so these would make her BGs go higher.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

tpr said:
just re-tested and she's back to 88...pretty much same number. She's flicking her tail which i think is a sign she's bouncing. I find this whole thing to be so stressful Dyana. I really want the best for her but she's unpredicatable:(
If she's back to 88 after eating, then I would just skip.
I know it's hard. And I know it's frustrating. I've been doing this a long time, so I understand :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

I'm so sleep deprived...i wasn't thinking properly and it just occurred to me what i had written so i deleted it!!! ohmygod_smile

That's emabarrasing!!! :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

She only had one part of her brekky...about an hour ago....anyways thanks for trying to help me:)

If i skip then do we start the 1.25 all over again?

Hope you have a great day at work:)
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Have a good day, Tamara. You can go to work, and feel comfortable, and if she's high when you get home (remember you can shoot at regular time, or even earlier if you want, as long as you skipped this morning's shot) you can go to bed early and get some sleep tonight.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Wowz...Ella's being awfully creative with her numbers, isn't she!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Dyana...you are SO sweet! Thanks so much for trying to help me. I really admire your dedication to the kitties on the board :YMHUG:

I wish I had a concrete plan I could use with Ella like if she does this than I can do...

Obviously, I know she's a cat, a very unique one, but I still wish it could be a bit easier to figure it all out and I wish I had the confidence to just shoot and walk away but I get so nervous nailbite_smile I would never forgive myself if something happened to her:(
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

She is certainly being creative Amy and unfortunately I'm too chicken to do something about it.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

I would be too! The lowest I ever shot was around 75 and that was only about 1 drop of insulin. I would never have been able to shoot more then leave!
You're doing a great job with her!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Wow on that AMPS! I don't blame you since you need to go to work. Better to be safe than sorry. Have a great day Tamara!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Let me do a bit of clarifying.

A cat's numbers don't drop because they are hungry. It's usually the reverse -- they are hungry because their numbers are low.
OK..this might sound like a doozy of a question but if I skipped and she bounced, are the counter regulatory hormones doing a similar job as the insulin would be?
Counterregulatory hormones and insulin function opposite of one another. Insulin lowers BG. Counterregulatory hormones (i.e., cortisol, glucagon, etc.) raise BG. Also, if you skip, when you see high numbers you don't know if numbers have gone up because you didn't give a shot and numbers are naturally high as a result OR if, since you have a low pre-shot, you're seeing a bounce. Of course, you could have both contributing to high numbers.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Hi Sienne,

That question about the counter regulartory hormones was a definite doozy. After I wrote it I quickly erased it from my condo but Dyana picked it up before I could terminate it :oops: . I was very fuzzy this morning and I'm a zombie today. I thought I recalled someone saying that numbers could be low due to lack of carbs in the system. If I understand you correctly, this sounds like it is not true.

Ella was still at 95 when I left and this was 2 hours past her meal.
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

What a morning!! Maybe they said numbers can be low due to lack of food?

I didn't see if someone answered your question about dose tonight but I'd go back to the 1.25u you've been shooting and see how she does with that.

Have a great daY!!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella AMPS 95 (dosing advice)

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but wow, what exciting numbers! Of course, they would be more exciting if you could stay home all day right? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 508

We were welcomed with the nasty black hole! It was to be expected. Hopefully she'll clear this soon so she can see some pretty numbers again. Thanks to all who visited today:)
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 508

dramaqueenkittybowl.jpg
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 508

So sorry about the rainbow effect today, but the good news is Ella gets back on track fast. I do hope she will allow you to get some sleep tonight.

Wow on the pic of the Rainbow kitty!
 
Re: 5/23 Ella PMPS 508

Hello everyone.

Love the rainbow kitty picture Wendy and she's definitely a drama queen MJ. So Ella is pulling some serious uniqueness tonight. I didn't get a +1 or 2 as I crashed on the couch. I wasn't even going to do a +3 because in the past when Ella has missed a shot or had a bounce she is high for one-two cycles. Well she presented me with a 385 +3. That's quite the difference from her 508 at pmps. Yikes! What is going on over here?
 
+6=333

She's dropping slowly. I'm still really surprised that she's showing movement at all. I wonder what the morning will bring?!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top