5/23 Chuck 385 +15 (stopping Lantus, starting PZ)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
I agree and understand that the Lantus depot should be depleted prior to starting PZ. My concern now is how high do I let him go before I break down and give him some Lantus? He increased from 255 to 325 in 5 hours; then from 325 to 385 in about 2 1/2 hours.

I don't want him to go too high, if possible, but don't want to cause possibly problems with overlap between Lantus and a new dose of PZ on Sunday.

Thoughts? I realize and understand that the vast majority of folks on this board have no experience with Lantus and don't know Chuck from Adam (sorry if there is an Adam here <smile!>)... I do have a hypo kit prepared and it goes with us this weekend, as well as a few LC treats for being good while being stuck multiple times. I don't always give treats, but, gosh, when he purrs through the whole process, he deserves a treat!
 
Yes he deserves a treat whenever he's a good boy.

Lets play it by ear with how high to let him go. Even if he goes high and you want to shoot I would go with the PZ, at least we know that it will be out of his system in 12 hours.

Letting him run high for a few day won't harm him nearly as fast as a hypo seizure will.

Yes, you are right that most of the people here don't have any experience with Lantus or switching from Lantus to PZI, I have used both insulins for different reasone and understand both protocols.

Maybe you could ask the Lantus folks what they think.
 
I did kind of the reverse - only ProZinc to Levemir. Since there's no shed, I was able to do the last PZ shot, and the first Lev 12 hrs apart. Because we were prone to ketones, I had to keep a really close eye on him... But he's also a "big gulper", so there was quite a decrease in the dose from one to the other.

Wishing you both good luck on the switch!
 
Oh, Rob, you are SO right about the hypo seizures! We went through a vet-induced hypo about 3 weeks after Chuck was diagnosed in 2008 -- I NEVER, ever again want to hold him for that drive to the ER while he's seizing. We were lucky -- the hospital was about 5 minutes away from our house, normally requires a referral from your vet, but they took him without question. Good thing, too, because the vet released him to me with a BG of 41!!

Here's the breakdown of that... and, believe me, if I'd known then what I know now, I would have thrown a fit at giving him a full unit of insulin on a vet BG of 171! That single unit of insulin stayed with him for nearly 24 hours! And, blood curves were never done at the vet after this -- I did them at home and sent the results to the vet.

March 21, 2008
07:00 -- blood curve at vet - 171 AMPS - shot 1u
40 +3 -- tried feeding him
31 +6 -- staggering and showing clinical signs of hypoglycemia --glucose
40 +7 -- eating better
41 +8 -- released for home
16 +12 -- 20:00 - seizing, unresponsive, bolus of dextrose (ER)
didn't register on meter at ER - +13.5 -- 21:30 bolus
41 +13.55 -- 21:55
13 +14.45 -- 22:45 - bolus; slight seizure when giving bolus
IV catheter placed -- 5% dextrose at 11 mls/hr
12 +15.50 - 23:50 -- IV increased to 20 mls/hr, left at this flow until 7 a.m.
March 22, 2008
40 +17 -- 01:00
39 +19 -- 03:00
280 +23 -- 07:00 -- after IV fluids for 7 hours -- IV weaned down to 7 mls/hr
359 +26 -- 10:00 -- released to come home -- weaned down and off fluids
296 -- 18:30 -- eating well, very responsive, but we're still watching him closely.
 
What a HORRIBLE ordeal! You are lucky Chuck is still with us. It shows what a fighter he is and what a good mama bean you are.

I hope you never ever have to go through something like that again.

((((Hugs))))
 
OMG!!! What a scary story. I am truly sorry your baby had to go through that. This is why after thinking about it for a short time, I did NOT take my vet's directive to go up to 3 units from 2. I did it for one cycle and he was flat and pink all 12 hours which probably meant he was having Somogyi effect numbers. I went down at the PM shot to 2.25 and have had much better numbers.

So many amazing people here on this forum. I so appreciate it cause the collective knowledge here is amazing.

We blew off the vet this morning so we did not have to go through another bad day AND so I did not have to explain why I am not giving Simon 3 units b.i.d. but am giving less. My kitty, my choice is my thought. :o

Best of luck with your PZ. From what I hear, it is a gentler insulin than Lantus or Levemir in terms of the way it does its thing. :smile: I am glad they started me on this as a newbie or I would be REALLY nervous about this whole journey we find ourselves on.
 
Sure is a scary story!! YIKES !

I am glad Rumpelteazer is on PZ too. It seems to be a lot less complicated to use + I like that it is pretty much out of kitteh's system within 12 hours.

I have not had RumpelT back to the vet since she upped the dose from 1 unit b.i.d to 1.5 unit and told me to only test at AMPS & PMPS .... was not a good idea.

Ever since, I have been dosing via our knowledgeable friends here and have been using less insulin + understanding more about the ups and downs of BG's.

Much luck to you and Chuck on your switch. :smile:
 
Yes, that 'collective knowledge' helps alot around here. What one person does not have experience with, someone else does. If one person answers your question, maybe someone else wil rmember something else that it's important for you to know.

There is always so much fun stuff to learn from the folks on this board. And not only about diabetes. Having expereinced members with knowledge of other issues is simply invaluable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top