5/23 Checkers pmps 201 +2/138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43907


Checkers was tested at +11.5, and got no shot, because I had to leave house, and didn't know how long it would take.
If I had any flexability, I'd kick myself in the pants. I fed civvies thier kibble, and half asleep, forgot to close the door.
When I walked by, there was Himself, sitting in front of a bowl, licking his lips and grinning at me!! Brat!

I'm not as upset at the high numbers, as the fact that it ruined what could have been an experiment to see just how high he goes, without his drop of insulin.
Although, shouldn't the kibble have worn off, by 5.5 hours later, when I was able to test?
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237

Hi guys .. oh checks you little sneak! I can't find you at fault though .. I go for the naughty food too :lol: My guess is that the high food should have worn off by now, but who knows with these kitties ...
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237

I am so glad I don't have to deal w/ multiple diets and have no kibble in the house. I sometimes wonder if extra carbs kick start a bounce that otherwise would have been low. he'll be down again, just maybe later rather than sooner. :?
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237

Barb & Checkers said:
Although, shouldn't the kibble have worn off, by 5.5 hours later, when I was able to test?

Things happen.....if somebody left a bag of Hershey kisses out around me all that would be left is a pile of wrappers and I would have a smile on my face too. :-D
The dry takes longer to get in the system and longer to leave so you may still be seeing the effects of the dry.
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237 +8 /164

Awww Ann, that was so nice of you.
I've been saying that there are 3 drops in 0.5u.
After reading that post, I realized, there may be 3 drops of WATER in half unit, but that doesn't mean it's the same with Lantus.
So now I have to waste some insulin to count drops?

Yaaaaaaaaay, he's coming down on his own.
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237 +8 /164

Hello Barb & Checkers! Checks, you sneaky little buggar. Isn't that always the way? I'm sure he was very proud of himself too. They wait for that one second of forgetfullness and capitalize on it.

Hope you have a great and kibble free Monday! :lol:
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237 +8 /164

I'm glad this cycle is over. I know he had some kibble, don't know how much, but it proves that he isn't anywhere near ready to get off insulin, even with the tiny dose he gets.(one drop) How frustrating.

My boy has a tiny sore in front of his ear. I'd think he got it from tussling with Clancy, except there are several tinier sores near it. sort of like a rash,
I cleaned it and put Polysporin on it. Of course, it wasn't there, when he was at the doc's last week.
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers pmps 201

Ohhhhh Checkers you naughty boy!

He looks like he had a good day despite the contraband. Last week I caught Leo eating dog kibble when I turned my back for a minute, he can be pretty darn fast for a cat with neuropathy.

Even tho he threw you some higher numbers today he's still doing awesome!

Hopefully the sores go away with the polysporin.
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers pmps 201

Hi Barb, Sounds like you had a challenging day! Good luck measuring drops, hiding the kibble, etc. At least Checks is coming down again from his feast. The little bumps sound like insect bites. Perhaps someone feasted on Checkers while he was eating kibble!!

Hope you have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
WOW - challenging day for you. I have this silly image of Checkers grinning ear to ear after his kibble fest.

Good luck with the dosing. I keep meaning to try to measure that, butt hen again Mannie is nowhere even close to that small of a dose that I just never do. I think Ann's method is good, fairly precise. And I know how frustrating it is when you know that they aren't ready to be off the juice, even at that small of a dose. oh boy.... my vet had a cat once that was diabetic - she swore all the kitty needed was to sniff vapors, but she had to have that miniscule amount, like one drop.

Sorry for the sores on Checkers ear. Bites maybe? I dunno - I hope the polysporin helps clear it up.

have a good evening. Did your appt go well?
 
Re: 5/23 Checkers ambg 163+5/237

Miriam and Putty said:
Things happen.....if somebody left a bag of Hershey kisses out around me all that would be left is a pile of wrappers and I would have a smile on my face too. :-D

:lol: :lol:

me too, miriam. nom nom nom. for all i joke about punkin being a hoover, i would hate to have anyone watch me all day! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top