? 5/23/17,Sprocket,AMPs/342. +3.5/247.+5.5/246.+7.75/224.PMPS/213.+2.25/153,+3.6/135.+5.5/113,+7.5/153

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Darnell. With as much as you test and since Sprocket did have DKA, I would switch to TR and not wait 7 days for dose increases. If you can monitor, you could do the increase tonight unless he does something dramatic today.
 
Hey Darnell. With as much as you test and since Sprocket did have DKA, I would switch to TR and not wait 7 days for dose increases. If you can monitor, you could do the increase tonight unless he does something dramatic today.


TR is too stressful for me. I cant wait till he goes under 40 to earn a reduction. That is too low for me to handle. I dont wait to raise him when he drops under 60. He earned 3 reductions in less than 2 weeks for SLGS. Ya I get this last one may not have taken but it less stressful on me and him.
His ear is having issues bleeding lately so that doesnt help. I am usually alone too at home so it doesnt help my stress level.
I already sleep in 3 hr increments and that is taking its toll on me. Now my allergies are starting which wont help. And I have some major petsittig coming up in a couple of weeks so I hope to get him somewhat level by then.

He dropped 95pts this am then flattened 2 hrs later.
I will test at 2pm before I feed him again.
I could up dose tonight but I have earlier appt in am at 11am so I must leave by 1030am tomorrow.

So unless I can do alterations to TR then I need to stay with SLGs. If a dose is not working then I will put back up but going too low with TR I cant handle.
 
????
Now looking at both protocols.
Why is there such a huge difference on bg to give reduction?? SLGs is 90 and TR is under 40. Big difference.

Cant there be something in between for ketone prone cats or people that cant do he TR like anxiety ridden people??
 
It is a big span for the reduction for SLGS and is designed for peeps that can't test as often but, you are testing more like a TR kitty. Some of the peeps that follow SLGS lower their reduction number to something like 70. Is that something that you would be more comfortable with? @carfurby I think is one of them that gave reductions on SLGS a bit lower. Hopefully she will weigh in.
 
Last edited:
+7.75/224.
Dropping yet not enough.

??? Having issue with ear. His ear is getting tough in prick area and less blood going to it. I have had to prick like 4-5times to get enough blood to test and I have used a few strips that didnt have enough blood. His ear was doing so well before. Plus he will only let me do one ear. Other ear he will only let me do if someone holds him.
I try to warm his ears with rubs and make him shake his head but doesnt work enough anymore.
Why is his blood getting difficult now?
 
It is a big span for the reduction for SLGS and is designed for peeps that can't test as often but, you are testing more like a TR kitty. Some of the peeps that follow SLGS lower there reduction number to something like 70. Is that something that you would be more comfortable with? @carfurby I think is one of them that gave reductions on SLGS a bit lower. Hopefully she will weigh in.
I found with Furball that she didn't hold reductions if I used 90 as the reduction point. I changed it to 50 or lower. You can modify your reduction point to what you are comfortable with since you test pretty frequently. If you do make a change, just make a note in your signature like I did. You could try 70 to start with and if he still doesn't hold reductions, lower it.

Do you hold a tissue or something to his ear for 20 to 30 seconds after you test to make sure it stops bleeding? This will also help keep scar tissue from forming. I had the same issue with Furball only letting me test on ear and this helped me.
 
+7.75/224.
Dropping yet not enough.

??? Having issue with ear. His ear is getting tough in prick area and less blood going to it. I have had to prick like 4-5times to get enough blood to test and I have used a few strips that didnt have enough blood. His ear was doing so well before. Plus he will only let me do one ear. Other ear he will only let me do if someone holds him.
I try to warm his ears with rubs and make him shake his head but doesnt work enough anymore.
Why is his blood getting difficult now?
I had the same issue with Bubba after quite a long time testing him and he too would only let me test one ear for the most part. I finally was able to get tests on the other ear which helped because I think he was developing some scar tissue and it was harder to break through to get blood. It seemed like after giving his original ear a break for a bit, it became easier again.
 
I found with Furball that she didn't hold reductions if I used 90 as the reduction point. I changed it to 50 or lower. You can modify your reduction point to what you are comfortable with since you test pretty frequently. If you do make a change, just make a note in your signature like I did. You could try 70 to start with and if he still doesn't hold reductions, lower it.

Do you hold a tissue or something to his ear for 20 to 30 seconds after you test to make sure it stops bleeding? This will also help keep scar tissue from forming. I had the same issue with Furball only letting me test on ear and this helped me.

Thanks.
Yes I hold a baby wipe folded up right after I test to help with bruising and stop bleeding. I read that was good idea in some instructions.
I will take a look at ur ss later. Thanks
 
Omg Really???!!!
Pmps/213!!!
Everytime I have talked about increasing in past month he drops.....
Odd!!!
Hope this is good and not just his body tricking momma!
 
Omg Really???!!!
Pmps/213!!!
Everytime I have talked about increasing in past month he drops....
Yup. They listen to you -- or read your mind -- and decide to mess with you. You threaten an increase, they throw you numbers warranting a reduction. Cats! Go figure!!

One bit of a pattern that we often see is that if a cycle is flat yellow, the next cycle may involve dropping numbers.

TR is meant to be an aggressive approach to FD management as a means of getting cats into remission as quickly as possible. SLGS is, as the name suggests, not as aggressive. It's fine to make modifications to SLGS. In fact, with a cat with a history of DKA, I would encourage you to increase the dose as you think is necessary (although in not less than 3 days). You do what you need to do to prevent ketones from developing.

 
Yup. They listen to you -- or read your mind -- and decide to mess with you. You threaten an increase, they throw you numbers warranting a reduction. Cats! Go figure!!

One bit of a pattern that we often see is that if a cycle is flat yellow, the next cycle may involve dropping numbers.

TR is meant to be an aggressive approach to FD management as a means of getting cats into remission as quickly as possible. SLGS is, as the name suggests, not as aggressive. It's fine to make modifications to SLGS. In fact, with a cat with a history of DKA, I would encourage you to increase the dose as you think is necessary (although in not less than 3 days). You do what you need to do to prevent ketones from developing.
Thank you @Sienne and Gabby (GA) , as that was my thoughts exactly.

ETA: I think the rule books to Protocol and methods go out the window when we are dealing with a kitty who has had DKA.
 
Thank you @Sienne and Gabby (GA) , as that was my thoughts exactly.

ETA: I think the rule books to Protocol and methods go out the window when we are dealing with a kitty who has had DKA.


Ok....then I need the rule book or protocol book for the ketone prone cat....where is that?

Still working on reading the info Wendy gave earlier but kinda hard to read with all the responses. I like instructions...short and to point. Lol
 
Closer to TR IMHO. Since you are not comfortable with that protocol, I would amend the SLGS method and lower the reduction number of 90 to a lower number. But, if Sprocet was my kitty, I would follow TR to get my kitty in lower numbers ASAP. You can do this Darnell.
 
Closer to TR IMHO. Since you are not comfortable with that protocol, I would amend the SLGS method and lower the reduction number of 90 to a lower number. But, if Sprocet was my kitty, I would follow TR to get my kitty in lower numbers ASAP. You can do this Darnell.


TR IMHO? Too many abbreviations..lol.
I will amend. I tried TR and I was losing my mind. I cant handle the stress. Everyone says I should but I cant handle it and if I end up sick n in hospital no one to take care of him so not an option.
I put water in every meal to keep him hydrated. Probiotics in every preshot meal. He still gets his meds: ursodiol, cypro, famotidine, ondansetron.
If I need to get more liquid into him I can open a can of tuna and add water.
Plus I have a bag of fluids on hand when needed.
And I test ketone urine when I see him pee and usually get it in urine stream.
So I try to avoid ketones at all costs.
If I need to do anything else i will but cant handle the stress of TR.
 
Looks like an active cycle so I would give him a little bit of LC food to help flatten him out and keep him surfing. Get another test at +3 and go from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top