+5 221

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Trey AMPS 300 +3 223 +6 196 pmps 212 +2 216

Not sure what happen here when he BG at PMPS was 212 then +2 up 216 is this not kind of strange will see what his +5 is like I guess :roll:
 
Re: Trey AMPS 300 +3 223 +6 196 pmps 212 +2 216

Hi Kath!

That's considered about the same two numbers (the pmps and the +2) - so according to the information stickies, that signals an "active" lantus cycle, meaning it should drop down til somewhere mid-cycle when it begins to rise.

New to the Group?
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT indicative of a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve this kind of cycle! The example below is what you're working towards. A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
Example of an ACTIVE Lantus cycle for most, but not all Lantus kitties:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.
Video: Levemir: Mode of Action

Initially, don't expect to see "active" cycles after every single shot whether you're using Lantus or Levemir. Chances are, your kitty had diabetes for some time before diagnosis. It requires time for kitty's body to become used to dropping into lower numbers than their bodies have become accustomed. Don't expect immediate results! Regulation takes time and patience: "Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here: Lantus Starting Graph".
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Thank you Julie for that info makes sense oh well we will just keep Trey keeping on Hugs and Happy Mothers Day to all ~O) ~O) ~O) Hugs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top