5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 PMPS~132 +1~98 +2~63 +3~62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15139&p=151882#p151882

see prior thread for trend. we were up at 1.75units for a while and she kept dipping a lot with a lot of high carb food rescue, so I gave 0.5 units x2 now.

Well, her trend is still overall ok. But, I'm afraid that I brokedown her shed a little. I'm giving 1unit this AM.. I have a feeling that 1 unit is where we might be settling based on her trend.

Mr. Weathergirl
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113

It's best to decide on a dose and stick with it. Lantus likes consistency. You may get wonky numbers if you keep changing the dose. I know you have a challenging schedule with a petsitter helping out over the next week. Do what you can to keep the dose stable but safe.
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113

What dose do you suggest? 1.75units is way too much, it bottomed her out consistently. There were two times in a row that it took two High Carb cans within 12hrs to keep her out of <40.

I want to be consistent, but feel that we practically changed her dose when we changed to syringes.

I am imagining that 1 unit might be a good balance for her and a place to establish a trend from now on out.
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113

Libby, who is a very experienced member here, suggested the following last night:

Libby & Lucy said:
Here's my thinking. You don't really need to reduce the dose just for the petsitter, since you'll be home at +2 or +3. But I was on the fence between 1.75 and 1.5 for Vesta's dose. Usually I like to be aggressive and hold onto a dose for as long as possible. That side of me wants to hold Vesta's dose at 1.75, to find out for sure whether the 40 the other night was running off of shed action or not. But, seeing that you won't be home a lot for the next week or so, I think I would go ahead and reduce to 1.5. She did earn the reduction, plus it will be easier for the petsitter to measure a dose on a line.
If you're not comfortable with 1.5u, then I'd keep it at 1.0u.
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113

Sienne and Gabby said:
Libby, who is a very experienced member here, suggested the following last night:

Libby & Lucy said:
Here's my thinking. You don't really need to reduce the dose just for the petsitter, since you'll be home at +2 or +3. But I was on the fence between 1.75 and 1.5 for Vesta's dose. Usually I like to be aggressive and hold onto a dose for as long as possible. That side of me wants to hold Vesta's dose at 1.75, to find out for sure whether the 40 the other night was running off of shed action or not. But, seeing that you won't be home a lot for the next week or so, I think I would go ahead and reduce to 1.5. She did earn the reduction, plus it will be easier for the petsitter to measure a dose on a line.
If you're not comfortable with 1.5u, then I'd keep it at 1.0u.

I agree with Libby - she was a very good coach for us also. If you change the dose too much, you will have numbers all over the board. If you think 1U is best for now while your schedule is difficult, settle there, but be consistent.

BTW - you just changed syringes. Can you do a test to see if the same amount is held in each syringe? Like pull 2U of colored water or juice into one, squirt it out in a bowl and take it into the other, just to make sure both syringes read exactly equal. Even a drop or two can make a difference with Lantus. Perhaps the syringes are not well marked. It has happened before. Someone had me test that when I went from U to 1/2U marked syringes and got some wonky numbers.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0002.JPG
    IMG_0002.JPG
    203.5 KB · Views: 59
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 +2~50

First, I am listening to everything everyone is saying to no end, but my gut has held me back and now I know why.

Second, GREAT SUGGESTION TO COMPARE THE TWO INJECTORS.

We were first using the LantusPen ITSELF to inject by turning the dial. Bad idea.

So, when injecting the LantusPen into a glass, then sucking it up with the syringe. On 6 tests of volume, it comes darn close to 1 unit on the syringe (some fat, some on the line)

So, every 2 unit mark on our schedule is a farce!!

So, I think we need to rethink the dosing. The 1unit now is equivalent to 2units prior. We were going to go down on the dose from 2. So, our thought between 1.75units and 1.5 units becomes 0.75units or 0.5units. Agreed?

Thoughts?

Again, GREAT IDEA TO COMPARE VOLUMES, I FEEL LESS INSANE NOW.
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 +2~50 ADVICE!?

Glad you did the test! Will wait for other dosing specialists to drive by your condo and give some advice.

Bump!!!
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 +2~50 ADVICE!?

I'm not sure when the +2 was, I just got home, but I would feed that drop. You can feed a couple tsp of HC food, and test in 30 minutes (or if the test was more than 30 minutes ago, please test again now).
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 +2~50 +2.5~48 +3~63 +4~66 PMPS~132

Mrs Weather Girl here (after a nice long 6hr drive from Sacramento... ugh!)...

Nice PMPS of 132, followed by a .75u shot. Ate a fabulous 1/2 can dinner of LC.

Crazy times with the whole dosing differences between the new (awesome Relion) syringes and the old (cruddy) Solostar auto-dialing syringe. I can't believe there was almost a 200% difference!

I'm pretty sure we're going to hold a .75u for a bit right now... get her settled. Between the DPS, the wonky dosing of the last few days, and just the whole me being out of town for the next 9 1/2 days, it should hopefully get her numbers less up and down. (That's about the equivalent of the old 1.5U, if you're comparing the two). It's down a tad from what she *should* have earned, per say, but at with DH's schedule, it just feels better right now.

Thank you all so much for your input in the last two days... Sienne, Linda, and Libby... your help is VERY much appreciated.

Also, I'm adding a nice big note in the spreadsheet about the wonky dosing numbers... Could you read it and make sure it's clear?
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 +2~50 +2.5~48 +3~63 +4~66 PMPS~132 +1~98

I'd suggest giving Vesta a bite or two of LC, or maybe even some HC given the drop at +1. You usually expect a food spike at +1. I'd also encourage you to get a test at +1.5 or +2 to see if she's still dropping. You might want to put some coffee on. This looks like it could be a long night!

It may be that Vesta is wanting a decrease. It's hard to assess the situation given that you shifted doses over the last day or so.

The note on your SS is very clear. (And the calibration on the pens is probably better in larger doses that humans would use. The dosing is completely inadequate and unreliable when it comes to the kind of micro dosing that we do.)
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 PMPS~132 +1~98 +2~63

Well isn't this going to be a fun night... +2 of 63. Fed 1/3 can HC (appetite hasn't been a problem so far feeding this much, and have gravy if it gets to be one later).
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 PMPS~132 +1~98 +2~63

Hi Jamie
Welcome back.
I had a smil omy face when I saw Mr. Weathergirl posting today. How cute was that. :-D
Very well done. I'm glad that Vesta has a good appetite, just be sure she will have room for more HC gravy.
Looks lke it will be a fun night. She is doing so well.
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 PMPS~132 +1~98 +2~63

I think Vesta might nadir at around +2,3,4! Looking at your chart, seems like she dives fast, then recovers within about four hours. But there's still not a lot of data to go on yet. When you get a break from work, test every hour for 24 hours so you can get a good clear picture of Vesta's curve. But beware, catties move their nadir as soon as you find out where it is - LOL!

I wouldn't go HC at a 63. Reserve that for under 50.

Maybe try 1/2 spoon snackuses of LC at +1, +2, +3 after you test to see if you can surf her. Might be all she needs.

You guys are doing a great job :) Go Vesta go!
 
Re: 5/22 Vesta AMPS~113 PMPS~132 +1~98 +2~63

Randi & Max said:
Hi Jamie
Welcome back.
I had a smil omy face when I saw Mr. Weathergirl posting today. How cute was that. :-D
Very well done. I'm glad that Vesta has a good appetite, just be sure she will have room for more HC gravy.
Looks lke it will be a fun night. She is doing so well.

He is cute, huh? He was very concerned about doing the wrong thing, whether it be overdosing and hurting her or underdosing and hurting our progress. Crazy about the whole syringe thing, glad we got that worked out.

Gave a tbsp of MC at +3 with her 62. I know 60's are borderline feeding numbers, but with it being so early in the cycle, got nervous.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top