5/22, Susie, 217 AMPS, 135 @+2.5, 69 @+4, 78 @+4.5, 103 @+6

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-21-susie-282-amps-258-2-241-4-238-6.247628/#post-2793513

I'm thinking that today might show me the actual results of Susie's reduction to 2 units. I hope she gets some good numbers but, if not, I will stick with the 2 units for five more days or consider a switch to TR.

Thanks for the comments sent to me after I went to bed last night. I did leave food for Susie. I did not get up and check her again after the +2. She may have gone pretty low as she was 218 at +2 last night and 217 @AMPS.

Sasha, I get what you mean about the shot times. I get up at 5:30 every morning just to make sure I shoot Susie by 6:00 (droolers come first). I do this so I can shoot her at 6:00 pm so I can get a +2 by 8:00 and go to bed. It is a trade off. I am a morning person anyway but getting up at 5:30 every morning is not fun!
 
Want to hear something fun?
Before all this, I was awake all night. Usually way past midnight, between 2 and 3...
And slept for 8 hours.
Having to go to the vet, dentist, doctor or similar took days of planning so I'd be awake earlier. Now I'm up at 8, 9 the latest. No more planning ahead and I've got a lot more structure in my life.
All thanks to Mauer and her diabetes :D:p

Since you're a morning person that must be why you're online same time as I am :D
 
Want to hear something fun?
Before all this, I was awake all night. Usually way past midnight, between 2 and 3...
And slept for 8 hours.
Having to go to the vet, dentist, doctor or similar took days of planning so I'd be awake earlier. Now I'm up at 8, 9 the latest. No more planning ahead and I've got a lot more structure in my life.
All thanks to Mauer and her diabetes :D:p

Since you're a morning person that must be why you're online same time as I am :D
I wonder what the time difference is between you (Denmark) and myself (EST - USA)? Interesting silver lining for you with Mauer's diabetes. I think I have been calling Mauer a "him" for a long time. Sorry, I'll try to remember that she is your little girl.
 
Looking at Susie's spreadsheet does anyone want to take a guess at her nadir? It looks like it is all over the board. Hard to tell how long to provide small amounts of food if you're not supposed to feed after nadir.
 
Sasha, me, too!!! I needed a reason to be up at 6:30 every morning. Zenny has provided. :coffee: I'm absolutely tired, but I love being awake this early.
Exactly! Before this, I got SO depressed when I was up early. I didn't know what to do. It sounds so simple, but it felt horrible. Now I've got a whole day! :cool::p
 
I wonder what the time difference is between you (Denmark) and myself (EST - USA)? Interesting silver lining for you with Mauer's diabetes. I think I have been calling Mauer a "him" for a long time. Sorry, I'll try to remember that she is your little girl.
In ten minutes it's 3 in the afternoon. Or 15 as we call it :D
No worries dear Summer :bighug::bighug:
 
Looking at Susie's spreadsheet does anyone want to take a guess at her nadir? It looks like it is all over the board. Hard to tell how long to provide small amounts of food if you're not supposed to feed after nadir.
Morning, Summer. :coffee: I'm not very good at analyzing the data or seeing patterns, but that +2 is a bit of a drop from AMPS, so I'd keep feeding her 1 ounce of LC food every 2 hours after each test until +6 and see if she is trending upwards. Susie's nadir keeps moving around because she's not regulated yet, so the crystal ball's a little cloudy. Let the tests guide you.
 
if you're not supposed to feed after nadir

Wait wait wait wait wait... did I miss a rule?!

Granted, we've been trying to get Zenny to gain weight, too, because he got way too skinny. But we might be in a position to do that soon. I can't believe I didn't know that!
 
Morning, Summer. :coffee: I'm not very good at analyzing the data or seeing patterns, but that +2 is a bit of a drop from AMPS, so I'd keep feeding her 1 ounce of LC food every 2 hours after each test until +6 and see if she is trending upwards. Susie's nadir keeps moving around because she's not regulated yet, so the crystal ball's a little cloudy. Let the tests guide you.
I gave her 1.5 ounces at AMPS and .75 ounces at +2.5 and am planning on another .75 ounces at +10. Then I usually hold off until +6 and give her another 1.5 ounces at +6. I like her to have 1 and 1/2 cans (3 ounce cans) in the am and the same for the pm.
 
Wait wait wait wait wait... did I miss a rule?!

Granted, we've been trying to get Zenny to gain weight, too, because he got way too skinny. But we might be in a position to do that soon. I can't believe I didn't know that!
The thinking is that feeding after +6 or whenever your cat's nadir is will work against the waning of Lantus. Once you have better idea of when your cat nadirs and how sensitive to carbs he might be, you can still feed a small carb free snack to tide them over, like a few pieces of freeze dried chicken. I divide Ruby's food up into three meals each cycle: 1 big meal at shot time, and two smaller ones at two or three hour intervals until +6.
 
Wait wait wait wait wait... did I miss a rule?!

Granted, we've been trying to get Zenny to gain weight, too, because he got way too skinny. But we might be in a position to do that soon. I can't believe I didn't know that!
I would double check with more experienced folks but I thought we were not supposed to feed after nadir so the food doesn't impact the insulin later in the cycle.
 
Wait wait wait wait wait... did I miss a rule?!

Granted, we've been trying to get Zenny to gain weight, too, because he got way too skinny. But we might be in a position to do that soon. I can't believe I didn't know that!
Easy Emily, you're still new :bighug:
And every cat is different. In a low dose cat it's often smart to feed three hours before the shot, so the preshot get down. There's soooo many things in this, you'll get there! :smuggrin:
 
Looks like you might not have needed that MC as she went up a lot at +6. Goal is to get her staying below 100 as much as you can while staying in a safe zone. I would have stuck with LC. Maybe Susie will come down a little bit once the food leaves her system.
 
Looks like you might not have needed that MC as she went up a lot at +6. Goal is to get her staying below 100 as much as you can while staying in a safe zone. I would have stuck with LC. Maybe Susie will come down a little bit once the food leaves her system.
I agree. I questioned the MC after she went up to 103. Guess I just got a little nervous again although I am feeling more comfortable with the greens. Still trying to learn what Susie is going to do with the carbs or lack thereof.
 
I agree. I questioned the MC after she went up to 103. Guess I just got a little nervous again although I am feeling more comfortable with the greens. Still trying to learn what Susie is going to do with the carbs or lack thereof.
Rule of thumb is no MC until she dips below 59 or you are struggling to get her numbers up. You don't need to get nervous; keep testing and let the numbers tell you what to do. This information has been gained from the experience of the thousands of cats who have been through this forum. It works, and there's no reason to believe that Susie won't react the same way as every other cat here. You got this, Summer. Your fear will only hold you and Susie back. :bighug::bighug:
 
Rule of thumb is no MC until she dips below 59 or you are struggling to get her numbers up. You don't need to get nervous; keep testing and let the numbers tell you what to do. This information has been gained from the experience of the thousands of cats who have been through this forum. It works, and there's no reason to believe that Susie won't react the same way as every other cat here. You got this, Summer. Your fear will only hold you and Susie back. :bighug::bighug:
Okay, I did use some MC at +4.5 but what is causing her to shoot up so high this afternoon at +9. Am I just feeding too much altogether. I haven't looked at the Catinfo.org site to see what I should be feeding but I find it hard to believe that 2 cans (3 ounces each) would be too much, daily, for a diabetic cat.
 
I still think her nadir is +4 to +6 roughly for a normal cycle. I don't think there's any harm feeding up to +6. Right now the data is "muddled" with the bounce breaks, which makes it appear all over the place.
 
Yes, she does and now she has shot up at +9. Super confused today. Pretty good early and then at +9, without any food on board, she shot up. I did feed a small 1/2 tsp. of MC at +4.5 but surely that cannot still be influencing her glucose - can it?
My two cents, I actually think she's starting to level out a bit. I think this morning was a quick bounce break but not as severe as her past ones.

I suspect it's a combination - it looks like you gave the MC right around nadir, so when it kicked in the Lantus was starting to wear off. No harm done! It could also be another bounce, but next test will tell if that's the case.
 
I still think her nadir is +4 to +6 roughly for a normal cycle. I don't think there's any harm feeding up to +6. Right now the data is "muddled" with the bounce breaks, which makes it appear all over the place.
It is crazy, Melissa. I don't know what to think or what to do. I do not want to starve her simply to keep the numbers low. I guess I will just continue to follow the next 4 days on the two units to see what happens.
My two cents, I actually think she's starting to level out a bit. I think this morning was a quick bounce break but not as severe as her past ones.

I suspect it's a combination - it looks like you gave the MC right around nadir, so when it kicked in the Lantus was starting to wear off. No harm done! It could also be another bounce, but next test will tell if that's the case.
I gave the MC at +4.5 (am). I'll get a +2 tonight. Not feeling encouraged but we will be okay. If nothing else I will sleep.
 
Hi Summer, wanted to give a quick hello and see how Susie is doing. Cats are just so unpredictable at times that you think you’ve got it down and doing everything right and they throw you a curve ball. Hope you have a good evening and Susie gives you numbers that keep her safe and you comfortable. Sending hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:to you two. :)
 
Ah beautiful, she didn't bounce! Or she didn't bounce as high, little hard to tell. The bad news is it looks like she ended up right where she started a few days ago LOL but hopefully that's not the case and she gives you a blue AMPS!

The good news is you're finally starting to get some movement though
 
Great job Summer :cat::cat: It’s very nice to see you are getting more comfortable with the greens, it means that gradually you will intervene with MC only when really needed. We tanked by mistake a few cycles for Chico as well, it’s just a learning curve and there is no harm done long term.

From your SS it is not clear if you fed 1/4 can and 1 spoon of MC at +4 or +4.5. From the thread i understood that the MC was at +4.5 so i guess the 1/4 can was at +4, correct me if i am wrong.

You got a lot of good advice earlier already, a lot of people advised to let the numbers guide you, what it means is that you take one reading and you judge what will the next one be. I guess easier said than done :D but really it doesn't have to be so difficult (at least not with Susie, in my opinion). What we always did (now we have much more data so we don't use the exact same logic anymore) is to take the +2 and see the difference between PS and the +2, in Susie's case yesterday morning it was a huge 80 points drop. This is already information you have about how active the cycle might be. We would always ask ourselves where would he be in one hour if he continued dropping with the same speed and decide when we consider it "worth" taking the next test. In another 1.5 hours Susie dropped other cca 65 points which is very much in line with the drop between preshot and +2.5. We would have tested a bit more around that +2.5 just to have more control on how low she went. It was luckily no big drama and based on her numbers you could theoretically have guessed it but testing more around the active part give us more control and peace of mind. When you saw the 69 at +4 and 78 at +4.5, if you only fed LC you could already tell that she is on the trend upwards. The +6 confirmed the trend upwards. We would have "saved" the pocking and the stripes from the +8 and +9, she was clearly headed up so no need to stress yourself with those numbers: you will learn anyway where she was at at preshot time.

There is a difference between active cycle after a bounce and active cycle after an active cycle. An active cycle after a bounce will make her drop much faster and will need much more intervention with MC and HC than an active cycle after an active cycle. I believe the PM cycle on the 21.5 was active (judging on her +2) that's why AM cycle on 22.5 you needed less intervention than Am cycle on 20.5.

I do not want to starve her simply to keep the numbers low.
Please don't starve her :D You know the amount you want to feed her every cycle, just make sure to give all that food in the beginning of the cycle and if you need more food later in the cycle just use 1-2 spoons of MC/HC depending on how much intervention is needed. If you don't want to overfeed her (due to weight reasons) just decrease this amount from the next cycle. These cases will become more rare when Susie will become more stabilized.

If she will keep on going higher in BG it doesn't mean you have to feed her less it only means she needs more insulin :)

Susie is doing very well, i believe (in my novice opinion) you decreased her dose a bit too quickly but this gives you time to learn more on how to feed the curve, when you will feel more comfortable you will have more courage to go back up :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top