5/22 punkin amps 287 +6/257 pmps 283 +3/257 +5/255

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

ok, i feel certain it's the new pen. i examined it closely this morning and there are tons of bubbles inside the pen. big ones, little ones. don't know how i missed them before but i guess i wasn't really looking.

other than a high amps, punkin is his usually happy purry, cheery self. he eats as loudly as he purrs, and he's going strong right now. nom nom nom.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

What bad luck with the pen. I wonder how often this happens with the pens. Makes me kind of gun-shy about trying them now.

I hope you have a nice Sunday...with no cleaning involved!! :-D
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

ugh, well we didn't get the dishes done last night - and i used regular plates and silverware, so there's no tossing them out. the kitchen now looks like the exploded place, but this morning i'm feeling pretty good. a little more caffeine and i'll go tackle them.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

HI Julie,
Nice to read, belatedly, about your party yesterday and hope that the dishes don't stare you in the face too long! Bummer about the bad pen. You should send or take it back for a replacement. Punkin will enjoy a new pen, that's for sure.
Have a fine day today,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

Julie, can you explain to me the problem with the pen and the bubbles.. Are the bubbles being in there making the insulin bad.. Forgive my ignorance but i'm new to that.. Tommy's last pen had a few bubbles in it but i didn't notice a difference in his numbers because of it..

Sorry to hear about the kitchen explosion.. No way they can clean themselves huh? :lol: I'll get another cup of coffee and be right there to help, K?
Punkin, come down for your bean ok she's had a busy weekend and needs some relaxation~~Tommy
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

i've not seen a pen w/lots of bubbles unless i put them there.....ummmmm. here's a bump for the xperts here.

is punkin any good at doing dishes? i know my girls are. :lol: :lol:
funny-pictures-cat-licks-your-dishes-clean.jpg
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

Bummer about the pen, makes me not want to try them.

Punkin come down from there would ya? Leo has the same +4 as your AMPS, and thats not a good thing :lol: Leo does not need company!

Love the pic Tena!
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

I hope Punkin comes down a little bit. That is really strange about the pen. I haven't used pens before so I have no idea about why they would have bubbles in them.

Julie, thanks for the post in Simon's condo. You are right, Simon has trained me not vice versa! Good luck on the clean-up.. ugh!
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

I've also read a few people having trouble with pens too...not a lot, but a few. I haven't tried them myself yet either.

I hope the kitchen isn't too daunting...I'm sure the party was well worth it!

Amy
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

Here are the older condo topics about pens and bubbles in pens. It sounds like sometimes it's human error (I know I've found a couple small bubbles that are all my fault- didn't push enough air out, didn't push the button at the top, etc...) and sometimes is manufacture error, particularly the larger bubbles with brand new pens. i asked my diabetic friend who is entering his residency about it, he also uses lantus, but he hasn't hear the manufacturer put out anything to hospitals concerning it... so right now it seems to remain a fluke:


here are the previous condos, I hope they help:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41025&p=437740&hilit=lantus+pen#p437740

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40949&hilit=Solostar+Pens
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287

About the mess in the kitchen....i thought that's what we had kids for, we cook and they clean. Yeah, right!!! The only time my DD cleans a plate is when.... oh wait, she doesn't :lol: :lol: :lol: I should say that. She's been living in the dorms for the past couple of years. Now that she's home, it had better be different!! :-D
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

mo, not to be stupid but how do i look at those posts? it's not a hot link and i tried putting it into the search box and it popped out "too many words." eta: never mind, i got it.

ran one load of the china - all plates & glasses. the serving dishes are left, but i'll probably get those in by hand. michelle is still on percodan from the wisdom teeth - mostly sleeping all day, and jason went back to his house an hour away by the end of the party.

what did you mean about pushing the button at the top? this is our 3rd or 4th pen and i haven't pushed any buttons . . . i'm certain it's not "user error" unless there's something like that. at least i'm certain i didn't inject any air in - i push tightly on the plunger of the syringe so it's all expelled from the syringe before i insert the needle into the rubber stopper. i think i'll try to post a picture of the pen, although i pretty much fail at posting pictures. they seem to be too big and i don't know how to shrink them. maybe i'll try like an avatar though.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

Not sure what Mo means about pushing the button at the top.....mine don't have a button....they just have the dial for beans to dial in their dose....not used for kitties.

Like Ella said...I would take it back. I know some folks have had bubbles in the pens with no problems and I occasionally will have a small bubble and it hasn't been a problem. But it's not out of the realm of possibility to get a bad pen (and I've had one).

So sorry about your dad passing last year.....he lived to be a wonderful age and I bet you were his pride and joy!!!

Yuckus on the dishes and sorry DD is still not totally recovered to help with them!! Have a wonderful day Miss Julie.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

i read all the old posts i could find on the pens and bubbles - and none of them mentioned that the bubbles might have impacted their cats BG numbers. so i don't know if that has anything to do with his rising numbers or not. perhaps it comes down to the cat, not the insulin.

that's what i was wondering about squirrel, if the bubbles indicated the insulin was bad because punkin's numbers have gone consistently up the last few days. but i'm new enough to this maybe i just don't know that this is how it goes. it just seems like he's kinda lost regulation - and there's no need for a dental, no infection, maybe this raises again the question of acro. idk.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

maybe this raises again the question of acro. idk.

Or maybe he has just stalled at this dose. It happens......just saying BTDT ;-) ;-) ;-) I know you don't want to take him up. What do our wonderful dosing gurus think???
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

This has been my first experience with the Lantus pens and I have a big-aaaa...bubble in the pen. I just try and get the thing to float to the top before I try and pull insulin into my inserted syringe. Are you finding that the bubbles are preventing you from getting a proper measurement? I would call the pharmacy and see if they would replace it.

Sounds like your party was successful if you had a lot of dishes to do this am! Bet you are beat today! Enjoy your Sunday!
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

What I have been doing with the pens is that I dial to a big number 7 or so, and then press the button several times until it gives no more. It keeps the pen under pressure.

Doesnt that make any sense?
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

thanks natalia! i'll try it. i also read in the past condos a suggestion to try to pull out the bubbles with the needle.

it doesn't sound like anyone thinks it impacts the quality of the insulin though, so that's good. maybe we just needed to up the dose again, which i did this morning.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

natalia is actually the one who i think gave me the idea for the push the button trick, i've been able to do it couple times at zero as well.

in some ways insulin has always been a little bit of a mystery to me- how some people were able to use a bottle for months with no problem, others could hit the 28 day mark and it would go like that! i just had to move under the assumption that it was kind of like yogurt. sometimes i could open up a yogurt i just bought yesterday, and it would already smell funny, and other times i would find a yogurt in the back of the fridge that had last week as an expiration date, but it still tasted amazing (i'm paying student loans- don't judge ;)

i think you're playing it smart by going on what you see in his numbers.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

Whoopsie....sorry I missed the dosecrease today. :oops: :oops: :oops: Hope you are just seeing some NDW and he'll come down.

BTDT: been there, done that.

Ok...I concede...I'm older :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I can't get away with anything!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284

Hi Julie. I recently tossed a pen, because not only did it have a bubble, that I just one day, noticed, but it kept getting bigger. At the same time, Checkers' numbers were higher.
Then someone mentioned the membrane on the pen, and it all made sense. I had noticed that when the needle was in the pen, it felt 'loose'. I think the membrane was defective, and air was getting in it, so I tossed it.
I think I'd been using it for only a couple of weeks, and all I could think was, "there goes $40.
Checks numbers improved when I started a new pen.
I wouldn't know what happened to the pen. I didn't bother to call the pharmacy, cause I couldn't prove I didnt damage it.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284 +6/257 pmps 283

i messed with the pen tonight - watched the directions on the lantus site http://www.lantus.com/solostar-insulin-pen/how-to/step-by-step.aspx on how to remove bubbles from the pen, but i couldn't get it to work without the attached needles that are supposed to go with it. tapped the pen to make the bubbles release from the sides and go up by the rubber stopper. tried to use the "set it to 2u, press the end of the pen" to expel the air bubble. tried to suck out the bubble with the syringe, no luck. if anything, it seemed like there was MORE air in there when i got done, but maybe it had just coalesced into one giant bubble instead of 50 littler ones.

switched to my other needles, which are awesome but expensive - i got them from the vet at the beginning. i love them except that they don't have 1/2 unit markings and the needles are a little longer than i'm now used to. anyway, the needles are great and i was able to get all the bubbles out of the insulin i was injecting into punkin, so at least i know he got an accurate dose.

it was a little bit strange, though, as i was withdrawing the insulin from the pen, every time i let go of the plunger the suction was strong enough to suck the plunger (and therefore the insulin) back into the bottle. i wonder why the suction would be that strong if there was air in it?

i am going to go to the pharmacy tomorrow with the pen and talk to the pharmacist. it's a dinky little pharmacy in the back of a grocery store and the pharmacist is super nice - so i'll see what she says.

Punkin has an appt at 9:30 to get the blood drawn for the acro/iaa tests.
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284 +6/257 pmps 283

When I used Lantus (with Stu), I used the cartridges. They don't make them any more, only the pens. But with the cartridges I never had the kinds of problems you guys are describing with the pens. The only bubbles I would get would be occasionally in the syringe. Anyway, good luck. And we'll be thinking of you tomorrow when you go for the acro test. I hope that all will be OK.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/22 punkin amps 287 +3/284 +6/257 pmps 283

Good luck with the testing tomorrow!!! I hope it all comes back negative, even though positive results would give you some much needed answers.

I got your last post in Champ's condo, but thought I'd comment on it here. I sure hope Champ let's me sleep tonight, but look at his numbers for all day yesterday on his SS. If he follows his normal way of doing things, he usually goes low at night, ESPECIALLY if he starts with a mid pink number. Go figure. You'd think it would be the opposite, but not for him!!!! He's just a wacky cat, I guess. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top