5/22 Newman 78 @+4

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, May 22, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I hope Suzanne & Darcy see this soon. I'm concerned since we have a lot of time to go in this cycle. I think a first green number for us.
     
  2. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Looks like you will need to watch this cycle a bit more closely. If you haven't already done so, depending on how carb sensitive you find him to be, you could feed a teaspoon or two of usual food, or perhaps go up to some medium carb food to slow him down a little. Test again 20-30 minutes from your last test.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  3. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Thanks. I gave him about a tablespoon of his regular Fancy Feast Chicken pate. I tested just now and he is 108.

    How often should I test him at this point?
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2022
  4. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Great job! Good catch on that test, that 78 means a reduction to 2u next shot per SLGS. Congrats on the reducie and your first green :D. He may end up bouncing so don't be too surprised.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  5. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    How often should I test between now and PMPS?
     
  6. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Might be worth checking in 1-2 hours to see how he's doing, and if the number is continuing to rise, you can take a pokie break until PMPS.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  7. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Another drop at +6 to 70, so I fed some Friskies shreds with gravy.

    Plan to check again in 30 minutes, although he has gone under the bed. Wish me luck.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh no. Linda. What’s going on?
     
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I had a feeling something would happen today. He has earned a reduction to 2 units.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  10. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Happy to see you.

    I have posted up to date. He was 78 at +4, then 108 and then 70 so I fed some Friskies with gravy, about a tablespoon. He is 132 at +7.

    The 78 startled me because that is the point when he usually STARTS to drop.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. You did a good job. I’m glad Christie was around. I would trust my own kitty to her!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It’s just so unpredictable. I have been looking at his spreadsheet lately think… looks like maybe this dose has gone stale. And now!
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did he graze at all this morning? I know we talked (I think) about him eating at +1 or +2.
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So it was probably the Friskies with gravy that brought him up to 132. You know you can also mix a little karo syrup into food - any kind of food- to boost the carbs as well.

    When was his last test? What time did you get the 137? Were you able to get him out from under the bed? Are the men at home today in case you need anyone to get him out of there later on?
     
  15. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    It usually goes like this. I test him, feed him 1/2 can of FF and he usually eats all of it. He comes up onto the desk and I shoot him. Then he naps for 3-4 hours before returning for more FF. I give him 1/4 to 1/2 of the remaining can and he usually eats most of it. That is about how it went this morning.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. So he didn’t eat anything until about 3 or 4 hours after his shot. If he had, that may have helped the drop. It was a steep drop. Did he act really hungry when he was at 78?
     
  17. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Last test at 2:30 (+7). My son came home when I called him and he helped me.

    Even if he isn't under the bed, it can be impossible for me to get him. For the last test, he was simply under the dining table, but picture being seated in a wheelchair, my reach is very limited. He needs to be nearly at my feet and if he is suspicious, he doesn't tarry at my feet. lol
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    But if he has a routine of sleeping after breakfast for a long time then I am not sure what to do. Leaving food out for him may do the trick. But if he gets really full at breakfast he isn’t going to want food for a while….. just thinking out loud.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I know! I’m sorry.
     
  20. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Wait, I posted that wrong. The 132 was at 6.5, not +7.
     
  21. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No, I wouldn't say he acted really hungry. He left a bit in the bowl.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  22. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What I mean is that I am sorry to make useless suggestions!
     
  23. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I thought so because I counted the hours from the 8 am shot and didn’t think it could be +7. 3:00 would have been +7.
     
  24. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I just think it is hard for people to imagine how restrictive it is. And, you don't know me to know how much effort I do or don't put into the task.

    My response was for clarification not that I was in any way frustrated with you!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  25. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    How often do you want me to test? Last test was at 2:30 (6.5)
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I would try to test a 3:30 then. I would just like to make sure that he doesn’t drop back down too much after the high carb food has worn off.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  27. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Good, that's what I had in mind.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  28. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Posted 176 @ +7.5
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay good. At least you and Newman can take a break now I think.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  30. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Which days are therapy this week?
     
  31. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I am scheduled for Tuesday and Thursday.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  32. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Tested at 4:00 (+8) to get back on track. He is 182.
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. I feel even more relieved. I feel like I can really relax!
    I know he was sleeping somewhere this morning but today is an example of how getting maybe a +2 test would have clued you in earlier that he was dropping and maybe given you a chance to head it off. But, as you say, he was probably out of reach. So, it’s probably still a good idea to do those in the evening like we were talking about- because he seems like he wants to surprise us. He lulls us into a false sense of security and then… wham!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So do you think it would be possible to feed him a little less at AMPS so that he wants more at +2. Even if he evades your attempt to het a test, the food at +2 would be helpful.
     
  35. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Currently he is getting 1/2 can of Fancy Feast in his bowl at breakfast and he usually eats most of it.

    If I reduce that, he will only be getting about 1/4 can. This, to encourage him to come back sooner than he does now for more. I'm thinking.

    The reason I caught the 78 at +4.5 this morning is because I hadn't seen him for a while and I went looking. He was sleeping quite soundly when I found him in one of the cat beds. Actually, he didn't respond to my voice so I touched him to wake him. So, do I worry if he eats less and I shoot him and he still goes off for his usual snooze is that a problem? Having the insulin on board with less food? Just thinking out loud here.
     
  36. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Don’t forget to take the Help off of your thread title
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  37. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    1/4 of a small FF can is a small amount. I don’t think it’s a problem from an insulin standpoint, but I would worry that he would not come back for more food! The idea is to keep them a little hungry. You know Newman best, of course. I wish he would eat his half can and come back for a teaspoon of more food. As long as he comes back, it’s okay to eat less at the first meal. You didn’t have any trouble getting him to eat today at +4 did you? (I realize you had to wake him, but I am just asking about his willingness to eat. )
     
  38. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No trouble getting him to eat. He was willing and interested.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  39. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    So, I am to reduce his dose this evening to 2.0 u. Is that correct? He is due for that at 8:00 pm. I am anxious to see what his PMPS will be after today's wild ride!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  40. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes on the reduction. You did it just right. He is probably bouncing now.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  41. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Posted PMPS 254 @ 8 pm shot 2.0 u.
    Planning to test at 10:00 (+2)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  42. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sounds good. I hope it won’t be too high. I’ll check in then.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  44. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. He is still very flat. So not much has happened yet. But he’s not really bouncing high either. If you can get him to eat some now, I will be happy. Is he still grazing?
     
  45. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, he just ate some more of his Fancy Feast and he is playing, chasing a plastic ring toy.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  46. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I will stay up and try to test him at 11:00 and 12:00. Hoping he will come for a treat.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  47. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I wonder why he’s not going as high tonight as he has done on so many other nights?
     
  48. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am glad. I am just a little nervous after what happened today. And the fact that he hasn’t followed his usual M.O. of going high in the early part of the pm cycle.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  49. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Good question. Routine tonight is no different than usual. I have been withholding food from 6 - 8:00, test and then he is ready to finish his dinner.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  50. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I tried to get him but he went further under the bed. I will keep an eye out and try to catch him off guard if he comes out. Clearly he is alert and responding.

    I don't want to wake the boys except at last resort and hope I won't need to. They are both up early to go to work.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I understand. I was afraid he would do that. He’s probably got a full belly and wants a nap. I can’t blame him for that.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  52. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, you're right. I can see him, he is grooming.

    I really hope he decides to come out and I can scoop him up. I would like to know what's happening.
    s
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  53. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I don’t see any new number on Newman so I’m assuming everything is ok. See you tomorrow.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  54. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I'm still trying. He is out from the bed, but obviously on guard.

    See you in the morning. Thanks for your help.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  55. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Starting new thread this morning. (5/23/22)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.

Share This Page