5/22 Nellie - AMPS 113 +3 118 +5 101 +9.75 155 - increase slightly

She’s been on this dose quite awhile and hasn’t gotten close to a reduction. Nice to see lots of green. I’d do a full .25 increase.
 
Hi @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko so I'm in a slight conundrum, would love some advice. Today I noticed Nellie's back tooth looking like either it has a small crack OR possibly it might just be tartar, which the vet had noticed mild build up in March. The vet had wanted to wait to get her diabetes more under control before doing a cleaning. I emailed the vet to get a cleaning/dental apt ASAP given the possibility of a broken or chipped tooth and they are seeing her this Thursday am.

Vet thinks she is currently on 3 units of Lantus (I increased to 3.25 last night). On Thursday, they want me to feed her a little bit early in the am but skip her am shot on 5/26, bring her in and bring her supplies and they will give her the dose when it is safe to do so. I am leaning towards reducing to the 3 units this pm and hold that dose until after she has her cleaning, since I know it is a safe dose for her. I want the dose to match whatever the vet thinks she is on during the procedure, in case god forbid something happens.

I know she hasn't earned a reduction, but this will just help calm some anxiety and make me feel a lot better about the whole thing. Did want to check first if this is a terrible idea/get feedback in general. Of course, after the procedure if she is still in these same numbers I will increase to 3.25.

LMK if I should start a new condo. Thank you all.
 
Her numbers weren't bad at 3.0 units - she just could be doing better. I think you'd be fine at 3.0 units, unless her numbers creep up. If she does have an infection or inflammation, it will show up in the numbers. I think I'd be tempted to "forget the supplies except food" when you take her in. In other words, do a deliberate skip. You never know when they'll dose and it could be at a completely inconvenient time for you to shoot 12 hours after that, meaning you'd be skipping later.

And yes, new day, new condo.
 
Back
Top