5/22 MAX AMPS 353+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207+4=314

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 418
+2=376
+3=295
+6=189
PMPS 183
+2=182
+4=190
+9=251

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119086

Well back up to pink this morning so I guess he needs more juice but I'm not sure how much. Julie suggested something between the 1.75 and 1.88 using calipers but that seems so little. I was thinking maybe something back to 1.88. Anyone who gives dosing advice available?
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE BUT HOW MUCH?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. it was nice to see max dip into some blues for you yesterday .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE BUT HOW MUCH?

I see you split the dose. Paws are crossed that it will get Max back into consistent greens.

How is your mom....and how are you holding up?
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE BUT HOW MUCH?

sorry no one caught your question before you shot. when i said "a little more juice" yesterday i was meaning giving him a little increase. You could've gone with the 1.88 even though i was suggesting something in between. You know Max best and according to the protocol, you could've increased by 0.25u. Now that you've gone with the 1.83, i'd probably give it 4-6 cycles to see if it's moving him down at all before increasing to a different dose.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE BUT HOW MUCH?

Hi Shelly. Thanks for checking in. My mom is doing well so far and not in pain as of last night. That was our big fear for this week. She sees the surgeon this afternoon. Hopefully whatever he has to do won't cause pain.

Julie, I think you said to try the new juice first before increasing to make sure it wasn't a lot more potent than my older stuff. So I didn't increase yesterday. I don't get why his numbers are so high again this morning. I guess I will try the current dose but not for more than 4 cycles if he still is getting pink numbers. Then I guess I should go up to 2 units? I realize I am getting too far ahead but I just have doubts that today's increase will do much of anything. I'm confused because his highs are so high and yet he did get a high green nadir not long ago. I went from 1.76 to 1.83 on the calipers, I think. It still is hard for me to judge. Hopefully it will be enough. Thanks.

Thanks for stopping by, Devon.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE

That's great news about your mom. Let us know how the visit this afternoon goes.

I wish I could help you with the dosing. The string of high numbers definitely seems strange after all the blues and greens. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE

Good luck with the dosecrease, Elise. I hope it will be the "perfect" one to slide Max down to the lower floors to surf:) I'm glad your mom is feeling better, and I hope your day goes well. Have a good one!
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+2=315+5 =182

It looks like the slight dosecrease you choose did the trick. Good to hear that your mom is feeling pain free. That's wonderful. :-D

What kind of surgery do they do for arthritis of the fingers? Is it specific technique?
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+2=315+5 =182+7=151

Hi Tina. She had something called tophi (sp?) in her finger and it was getting bigger and bigger. This happened to her toes but her podiatrist was on top of it. It took him a hear to get rid of it. She has shown the finger to every doctor she sees and they all said leave it alone as if it is opened it could spread to other parts of the body and there was potential for infection. Recently it started traveling close to her joint so my sister took her back to the hand surgeon. This time he said if left untreated it could open and travel and cause infection. The exact same reasons for not opening it!! Well it ate some of the bone so not only did he have to clean it out but he had to take bone from her wrist and put it in the finger. The surgery took almost 3 hours. He had to clean out out this sticky stuff that was attached everywhere inside her finger and then do the bone graft. She goes back for her first recheck this afternoon. She was on all the meds to melt it but they didn't work.It's so frustrating dealing with doctors. This finger has been huge for 4 years at least and my mom has hated the way it looks. I just hope this is the end of it~ Thanks for asking.

Max is looking better. I'll take blue for a few days, especially if we can not go above yellow the rest of the time. I'm hoping for the same for Rocky.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+2=315+5 =182+7=151

I just looked that up, tophi, it's gout? Is your mom on a gout diet? I have a friend who is an older Native American, gosh he must be at least 80s or 90s now, and he had gout pretty bad.. it would look just like those photos of it. However, if h stopped eating tomatoes and those other veggies in the nightshade family for a few weeks it would pretty much reduce to nothing. But it would come back again once he ate those foods again. He wasn't a smoker, but he did like to drink beer. :lol:
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+2=315+5 =182+7=151

She watches her diet. It's a combination of her body producing it and arthritis. With all her ailments, her kidneys don't work as well as they should either. She's not in danger there, thank goodness, but it causes the gout. It's gouty arthritis.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+2=315+5 =182+7=151

Glad to hear your mom is pain-free and I hope the follow up visit goes well, Elise.

Max is looking better with those blues. Hopefully, he's just still wobbling around a little bit and will continue to come down (safely) some more for you.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 DOSECREASE+5=182+7=151PMPS 144

Looks like Max surfed in blue all afternoon. Let's see if he can stay under 200 and over 70 tonight. That would be really nice.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 INC+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207

He's heading up again. Maybe I should have taken him back up a little more than I did to the previous 1.88. It's so hard to know the best thing to do. I don't think I will ever get used to this.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 INC+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207

When I was looking at his SS, I thought it would have been reasonable to take him up to 2u. Sometimes, they do better with a bigger increase if you want to get them kickstarted.

Also, when you start a new vial or pen, it might take a cycle or so to start seeing better numbers. I think if you want to give him two more cycles at this dose, because he is seeing blue, you could. But I wouldn't be surprised if he will need more insulin. (Maybe now the gauntlet is down, he will see green ;-) ).

I've been thinking of your mom and I'm so glad all went well.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 INC+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207

Thanks Marje. I was thinking the same as you but with the new vial went with the smaller increase. I'll see what happens tonight and tomorrow and if he's still too high go up.
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 INC+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207

Ok. It's kind of a big spike at +2 but I've seen some cats get a dramatic food spike. Guess we will see :-D
 
Re: 5/22 MAX AMPS 353 INC+5=182+7=151PMPS144+2=207

Hi Elise: I totally know how you feel - there just is no second guessing this thing. Just when you think you have it figured out, you get thrown a curve ball. At least Max is out of the pink numbers for now. I hope he surprises you and does well with this dose.

Sending healing vines for your DM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top