Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hi everybody. It's been a long time since I posted here on FDMB, and I'm sorry for that. :YMSIGH: First, here's Lucky's spreadsheet and his numbers for today:
AMPS: 338
+9: 54
+10: 99
PMPS: 240
+6: 362
The last few times I visited here on the FDMB I was feeling a bit down, as it seemed the myriad adjustments I was making weren't much improving his strange and unpredictably bouncy numbers. Since I'm not good with keeping up on forums, I decided to try and experiment with all sorts of minor adjustments to Lucky's insulin doses/shot times/shot locations/feeding/daily life schedule/etc., to see what things helped him get better numbers, and what things didn't.
Suffice to say, I'm still not entirely sure what's up with Lucky's bouncing numbers. :YMSIGH: But, there are a couple of things I did seem to learn.
For one, it seems that Lucky's numbers appear to regularly keep dropping past the +12 hour point, on maybe an average of 3 hours after the normal shot time. For some of the times I was experimenting, he seemed to have better overall cycles when I administered his shots in 15 hour intervals instead of 12 (like from 1/24 to 2/8). I'm not sure if it was a fluke, though, as I wasn't able to emulate the same generally good numbers in 15 hour intervals from 2/23 to 3/5.
For two, it seems his numbers can drop really fast (?) within the first couple hours of giving him his shot. I've found on several occasions that his numbers can drop 100 points within 3 hours of giving a shot, which seems like a whole lot to me and gives me the impression that the previous shot's shed might not be draining yet (though I'm not sure if my understanding on sheds is quite right here).
For three, there seems to be a correlation between bounces, higher doses, and lower drops. His numbers seem to generally get better as I approach the 3u mark, but the likelihood for him to drop super-low also increases, and often the low point is at an hour that I only stumble on via random glucose checks, which has been making me paranoid about checking his numbers regularly. @-)
Because Lucky seems to be so prone to bouncing, I've recently decided to switch to the Start Low & Go Slow approach. Waiting for the bounces to clear usually takes several days, which wound up with a situation where his dose was only changing 0.25u every week, and I figured if a week had already passed then I might as well go with the SLGS dosing change approach.
I realize his SS must look a mess, but I've just been trying so hard to figure out what works for him and what doesn't. In a way I'm glad for it, because I think he's been having more greens than before, but again, the SS is kind of messy so it's kind of difficult to tell for certain.
If anyone can glean ANYTHING from his SS and this information that might help me get Lucky on track, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm getting so so tired from trying to figure his dosing out, and any insight would be helpful.
AMPS: 338
+9: 54
+10: 99
PMPS: 240
+6: 362
The last few times I visited here on the FDMB I was feeling a bit down, as it seemed the myriad adjustments I was making weren't much improving his strange and unpredictably bouncy numbers. Since I'm not good with keeping up on forums, I decided to try and experiment with all sorts of minor adjustments to Lucky's insulin doses/shot times/shot locations/feeding/daily life schedule/etc., to see what things helped him get better numbers, and what things didn't.
Suffice to say, I'm still not entirely sure what's up with Lucky's bouncing numbers. :YMSIGH: But, there are a couple of things I did seem to learn.
For one, it seems that Lucky's numbers appear to regularly keep dropping past the +12 hour point, on maybe an average of 3 hours after the normal shot time. For some of the times I was experimenting, he seemed to have better overall cycles when I administered his shots in 15 hour intervals instead of 12 (like from 1/24 to 2/8). I'm not sure if it was a fluke, though, as I wasn't able to emulate the same generally good numbers in 15 hour intervals from 2/23 to 3/5.
For two, it seems his numbers can drop really fast (?) within the first couple hours of giving him his shot. I've found on several occasions that his numbers can drop 100 points within 3 hours of giving a shot, which seems like a whole lot to me and gives me the impression that the previous shot's shed might not be draining yet (though I'm not sure if my understanding on sheds is quite right here).
For three, there seems to be a correlation between bounces, higher doses, and lower drops. His numbers seem to generally get better as I approach the 3u mark, but the likelihood for him to drop super-low also increases, and often the low point is at an hour that I only stumble on via random glucose checks, which has been making me paranoid about checking his numbers regularly. @-)
Because Lucky seems to be so prone to bouncing, I've recently decided to switch to the Start Low & Go Slow approach. Waiting for the bounces to clear usually takes several days, which wound up with a situation where his dose was only changing 0.25u every week, and I figured if a week had already passed then I might as well go with the SLGS dosing change approach.
I realize his SS must look a mess, but I've just been trying so hard to figure out what works for him and what doesn't. In a way I'm glad for it, because I think he's been having more greens than before, but again, the SS is kind of messy so it's kind of difficult to tell for certain.
If anyone can glean ANYTHING from his SS and this information that might help me get Lucky on track, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm getting so so tired from trying to figure his dosing out, and any insight would be helpful.