5/22 Kitty AMPS 63 rollercoaster

Status
Not open for further replies.

laurabe

Member Since 2012
skipped a pm shot the other day then amps was 600,
lowered dose by .5 now skipping am shot because of 63.

seems like lantus is lasting longer than 12 hours.
 
Hi guys .. Boy, you are right about a rollercoaster ride! I hope others will be by soon and can help you figure out something to even out these numbers .. have a great day!
 
thanks.
forgot to put that i went from 2.5 to 2.0 units.
i will drop it all the way to 1.0 unit for the next shot
 
if anyone can help...

should i wait 11 hours to give him next lowered dose or
give him a small dose when his numbers come up a little?

i never gave a dose while green at +13
 
I haven't been on your condo yet but welcome.

Could you please do a Spreadsheet for us? Here is the link for creating a Spreadsheet: Spreadsheet

It is very difficult to offer you dosing suggestions without being able to look at the whole picture. However, lantus likes dosing consistency and the reason you are seeing a rollercoaster is because you aren't being consistent in his dosing.

Thank you.....I'll be happy to offer you some dosing suggestions once I can look at a SS. I'd also recommend you read the Stickys at the top of this forum....they have valuable info including what to do when you get a low preshot number. You will also see a link to that in my signature block.

There are options when you get a low PS number.
1. do not feed, stall, check every 20 minutes until you get a good rise, and then shoot the full, regular dose.
2. shoot a reduced dose on time
3. skip

My concern with you shooting a green number is I can't see what data you might have to tell you what he "might" do after you shoot. My guess is he will skyrocket because of the inconsistent dosing and also because his liver will react to that low number. But there are no guarantees. We aim to build data here by testing so you can see the patterns your kitty might have and know what he will do if you shoot a lower than usual number.

When we stall, we make it up in 15 min increments each cycle or 30 mins once a day. We don't normally stall more than two hours just because making up the time becomes more difficult.

If you skipped the shot this morning, then you would give the next dose at your regularly scheduled time or if you decide you want to change shot times, you could change it this evening.
 
BTW, I just looked back and saw he was on PZI. You cannot dose lantus like you dose PZI. We dose on nadirs with some consideration to preshots. If you bounce him around on dose like you would with PZI, you will keep up this rollercoaster effect.
 
Marjorie has some great advice there. Lantus is a 12 hour insulin, and it takes time to build a shed under kitty's skin. You can read it here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

There are more stickies at the top to help you with how Lantus works. I still fall back on them now and then, and I'm sure that I'm not the only one that does that. People on here want to help you help your kitty. :-D And don't forget the Patience Pants. You're going to need those, too. :lol: :-D Good luck!
 
This is the link to your current spreadsheet. It would be much more helpful if you use the template we all use since having a full day on one line lets us better see the trends.

In order to keep Kitty safe, you need to re-think your approach to testing -- at least from what's on your spreadsheet. At least 4 tests per day are needed. You need to always get a pre-shot test to insure that it's safe to shoot and at least one spot check per cycle is needed. Just like Marje pointed out, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot number. I have no idea whether you are shooting once a day or twice a day from your SS. Even though it's a long acting insulin, Lantus should be given twice a day due to a cat having a faster metabolism than a human.

I'm really not sure what to suggest. There's not enough information on your SS to figure out what it is your doing and I don't know what guidance you've been getting in the Relaxed forum. We're more than happy to lend a hand but could you fill us in on what you've been doing?
 
sorry i am having problems with google docs,

i gave him 1 unit at +14 this morning and he is now at 163 which makes me feel better.

a little high is better than 63 at 12 hours
 
Are you dosing once or twice a day?

If you need help with your spreadsheet, please let Marje know. In all likelihood, she can give you a hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top