5/22 Jupiter PMPS/263 +2/265 +5.75/194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95818

Hmm. I do not know whats going on with all these high numbers! He was doing great on 1.75u before and now hes back up to 1.75u so I am really hoping we will see some better numbers soon - although I dont think the better numbers will be in this cycle :sad:

Dane and I are both still sick (fever-cough-sore throat-stuffy nose)... man I really hope this passes soon... Im exhausted enough without having a cold!

Not sure whats up with Lumpkins(civie) - he is still rubbing his butt on the floor :sad: Vet said he could use to lose some weight - he weighs 15.5lbs (and he is not a long cat like Jupe... Lump has a reallllllyy round belly). She said he probably has a hard time cleaning himself too. He also eats like a chipmunk. Dane took Lumpkins in after danes neighbors moved away and abandoned him. I think he was starved so when he eats he doesnt eat a piece at a time he shoves as much in his mouth as possible - he does this with both wet and dry food.


Any suggestions on what I can try to do to prevent him from rubbing his butt across the floor?


Todays numbers:
AMPS-255
+2-278
+5-226
+7.25-222
PMPS-263
+2-265
+5.75-194
+8-201
+10-252

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-282
+2-280
+4-229
+6-232
+8.5-240
PMPS-227
+2-269
+4-265
+6.5-279
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

Jamie

I'm sorry you are all still feeling poorly.

If you feel like you could deal with any possible low numbers, if he doesn't come down today, I'd increase his dose tonight. Or if you prefer, tomorrow morning. If he doesn't respond to that, I'm wondering if you should try a different pen just to see if there is a response. Sometimes when they sit at higher numbers longer than they should, then you have to get back to a breakthrough dose and sometimes that dose is higher than what previously worked.

When does the pen you are using now expire? Does the insulin look ok?
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

Hi guys .. bummer on these higher numbers .. crazy how sometimes one dose can bring nice numbers and another time that same dose does nothing! No advice on the scooting .. hope it stops soon .. and that you both feel better soon! have a great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

Hmmm I compared the pen I am currently using to that other pen that is 2/3 full. It looks like there might be air or something in the pen I am using....? I did not push insulin back into the pen I am using so I am not sure??
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

Hi Jamie,

I hope Jupe's numbers come down for you ~ it is so frustrating how unpredictable our kitties are :shock:

My older dog, Britty has always had butt problems, and she actually had an anal sac burst. When that happened, vet told me to hold warm, moist compresses against her butt for a few minutes a few times a day. (she actually grew to enjoy it) Not sure how Lumpkins would like it, but it would probably make him feel a little cleaner there.

Hope you and Dane feel better soon!
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

I sometimes have had air in my pens and they have been fine. don't know how that happens but it has and does
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278

I dont think Lumpkins would like that - but maybe we can just wipe it when it gets bad... is it okay to use a baby wipe or something else?
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278 +7.25/222

I think a baby wipe would do fine. Probably unscented, and I would warm it a little :smile:
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278 +7.25/222

I got air in a pen as well--it did not affect his numbers as far as I can tell. Goodluck if you go with the dosecrease. Does the insulin look cloudy or is there any particle(s) floating in it? If so, you will need to throw it out and use a new pen...
 
Re: 5/22 Jupiter AMPS/255 +2/278 +7.25/222

I dont not see anything in the pen... its new i just started using it a few days ago
 
I am worried about sleeping through my alarm since I am taking nyquil. I am not sure if I should leave out MC just in case???


dane will be waking up at +9 for work so he will be able to test a little after that but I am really hoping to be able to wake up before that to test again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top