5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95 (PMPS question inside!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95

I would encourage you to get a +5 or +6. With a +4 of 95, Johnny could be in low numbers and possibly earn a dose reduction.

You have not done a full curve (i.e., a test every 2-hours). I would strongly encourage you to get a curve this weekend so you have a better idea of where Johnny's Lantus onset time and nadir are. Likewise, with this kind of spot check number, it's possible you are missing dose reductions and some of your higher pre-shot values are due to rebound from lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95

Thanks, Dyana! Love the surf comment. :)

Sienne, thanks for the feedback. We plan to do a curve tomorrow, testing every two hours. I agree that a dosage reduction is likely in order. I'm just nervous that tomorrow's AMPS number will be lower than we feel comfortable doing the shot. Weird to pray for a 200+ number, but I am hoping for that in the a.m. so we can feel comfortable giving the shot and then observing the numbers throughout the day. Is a 12-hour curve enough in your opinion?
 
Re: 5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95

12 hours is usually good, but if you can get a check or two that evening too that is even better. Every test fills in another piece of the puzzle.

If you get a number you're not sure about shooting, please post here and let us walk you through some options, rather than just skipping.
 
Re: 5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95

Libby and Lucy said:
12 hours is usually good, but if you can get a check or two that evening too that is even better. Every test fills in another piece of the puzzle.

If you get a number you're not sure about shooting, please post here and let us walk you through some options, rather than just skipping.

Thanks, Libby. We'll definitely post here in that case.
 
Re: 5/22 Johnny AMPS 328; +4 was 95 (PMPS question inside)

Just took his PMPS....111! We're glad to see it, but the 2u seems like too much for this number. Should we skip this shot, so we know that tomorrow a.m.'s number is going to be in shot range and then do the curve as planned tomorrow??
 
what I would do if Johnny were my cat would be to change my plans (because cats love to make us do that!) and do at least part of a curve tonight.

Are you home tonight to get some tests? And do you have high carb wet food on hand in case we need to use it to guide the cycle? If so, I would test again in 30 minutes (don't feed yet) to see if he is going up, then we can probably shoot. I do think you'll be happier if you reduce his dose a little bit, to say 1.75, so he'll get numbers you're able to shoot every 12 hours.
 
We are typically homebodies, but are supposed to meet some friends out in about 20 minutes. They are in from out of town and we only see them about once a year. I hope I'm not sounding like a bad kitty mama...
 
we can do it another time. Do consider reducing his dose, though. We don't want you skipping shots regularly, that will impede his progress and Johnny is doing so well.
 
ps, didn't mean to make you feel bad talking about impeding progress. It's just that cats who respond this well so early in the game have a pretty good chance at going OTJ, and it's nice to try to help that happen. :smile: Reducing the dose will pull Johnny into numbers where you can shoot more consistently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top