5.22 Jane AMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.
Kris -

I'd suggest getting a +1. If you see a drop, add a little Karo to Jane's food. You should expect to see a food spike at +1 although that may depend on how much Jane ate (vs. grazed).

If you've not see this chart, it's helpful with regard to what to expect with a "perfect" curve. It may help to guide you with when to encourage Jane to eat to offset her numbers plummeting.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
i'll get +1 in a minute - then +2 and +3 - she's sound asleep, poor muffin!

yes, i know that curve well -- Jane, however, is quite unacquainted with it. ;)

she likes to blaze new trails - she had a type of cancer that is common in dogs, but virtually unheard of in cats. SHe would be the one to say curve, schmurve.

I will pick up some 8-12% today for post-shot feeds.

Thank you, Sienne (or are you Gabby? which one is the furbaby?) - your vigilance and help are so very appreciated.
 
Gabby's my kitty. I'm Sienne (actually, Cheryl -- some people here use both to the utter confusion of many -- my first and middle initials are C.N.).

At least you know that Jane likes to be the outlier so you're not surprised.
 
Kris, one other thing I keep meaning to mention -- just to complicate things further ;-)

Since Jane is also dealing with renal issues keeping an eye on the phosphorous content of her food is also important.
Are you using a phosphorous binder? If not, you may need choose foods with lower phos.

keeping my fingers crossed for you guys!
 
Dear Jane:
You are really challenging everyone, eh? You GO Girl! :mrgreen:
I love the special attention they have to give you....you are so lucky!!
What a Princess you are! You got it down much better than I do...kudos!
I hope you do well on the new dose.

Hey, can you come by to help me get ready for the Full Moon party?
It's going to be on Thursday and you can wear your diamond tiara or do a
crown of flowers. It's the Full Flower Moon of May so it is going to be so much fun.

We are having decorating parties from tonight until Thursday...so anytime you can make
it is fine. Can't wait to see you!! I need some smart kitties to be with...my brother is so
lazy and I am so sick of the way boys just joke around and don't DO anything! Sigh!
Your friend
Raja
 
Boo said:
You are on a tiny, tiny dose - .15. Jane simply cannot hypo on a dose like that, so there is no need whatsoever to feed high-carb or karo. A 53 is a very, very normal number and a 53 at +3 makes me think her pancreas did the work, not the insulin. This is a good thing.

I just wanted to make sure you see this, as Heather makes a really good point about her pancreas doing the work!! (i kinda think that as well... )
And about not needing the high carb and karo? - well she may be right about that as well.

I said yesterday that I thought you were right to give it, simply because my cat has gone low on doses as small as 0.1 - so I tend to be a bit liberal with the used of carbs on an early dropping number. But Heather is absolutely right that 53 is a very normal number - which is good!!
 
except for Jane, that early - i didn't want to risk it. she's a bungee jumper.

I just compiled a list from Janet's charts of canned with low, med and high carb content but all lower phosphorous numbers. she's not on a binder, so you make an excellent point. off to the store to get some new food for her!
 
Kris & Jane said:
except for Jane, that early - i didn't want to risk it. she's a bungee jumper.

yep, and I would have done the same thing. :)

I just compiled a list from Janet's charts of canned with low, med and high carb content but all lower phosphorous numbers. she's not on a binder, so you make an excellent point. off to the store to get some new food for her!

good!! I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Ordinarily, I would agree with Heather. However, Janie is not a younger cat. With age, all bets are off. Any drug is metabolized differently. From what Kris has said, Jane marches to her own drummer. Until we have data to inform a decision, I don't want to apply a generalization in order to insure Jane's safety and Kris' mental health!
 
Not that this relates necessarily -- has anyone heard of cats with non-insulin induced hypoglycemia like people get? Heather's comment that no cat can hypo on this low of a dose had me wondering if there was more to consider like a non-insulin induced hypoglycemic episode.
I have odd periods where my sugar will drop so low I start shaking and feeling like I am going to pass out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top