5/22 Heidi AMPS 141--no shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidismom

Member Since 2012
This morning Heidi's bg AMPS was 141--pretty low considering I skipped her shot last night. So far I'm skipping this morning's shot, but wonder if that is the right thing to do.

I think her body is mending from the prednisone reduction and that is why her bg is looking pretty good. I'm contacting her vet but I think maybe she doesn't need insulin at this time.

Corinne
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've been in Heidi's condo before, so welcome from us! I don't have any dosing advice, but that 141 sure is a nice number after a skipped shot! have a great day guys!
 
Hi PeterDevonMocha,

Thanks for your welcome. Actually I wasn't sure if I should start a whole new condo for Heidi--she had one going yesterday.. But someone told me yesterday to start a new condo then. Now she has three! Not sure what the procedure is.

Take care,
Corinne
 
That's the trouble, I won't be here from 10 a.m. til 1 p.m.

Thank you Marje, I appreciate your trying to help me. I am sort of starting to "get" this, just a little. I don't want to make the error of not giving her enough insulin but if her body is mending from the prednisone damage, maybe she is bouncing back quickly and the insulin would be more likely to throw her into hypoglycemia. ?

Corinne
 
Corinne

I understand and we need to keep them safe. But steroids can really do a number on the pancreas and if she is trying to heal, you should be giving her support so her pancreas can generate new beta cells and so you don't have to do
this the rest of her life. The fact that she is getting into these nice numbers on a lower dose and on skipped shots is really exciting! If you were able to shoot her consistently, she might be off insulin soon....I have no idea but
she is looking pretty good.

Having said all that, with the way she has been going and with that low number yesterday, if you can't monitor her, I wouldn't shoot. She was extremely low yesterday and we were all lucky that she did not hypo. Hopefully, you can
get back on schedule tonight and will start to shoot these numbers consistently. As Sienne said we will help but you will have to test her....she seems to be on a mission.

Have a great day. :-D
 
Wow, we are of a like mind on the healing from steroids and needing support in the meantime --I was thinking something along those lines, too, Marje, although I couldn't verbalize it scientifically as well as you. She seems to be accepting the testing sometimes a little better, now, so I'll keep on monitoring her. I don't want her bg all wonky while she is trying to heal.

She is eating but her appetite isn't huge--I guess my perception about her appetite might be "off" because this diabetes thing had been building up for awhile and I was used to her gobbling the food down. Also, she is still drinking although not as much as when the diabetes was raging untreated.

Thanks again. Have a good day.
Corinne
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Did you try the lancets? How are those working for you?

You know, I tried the lancets--not the 30 gauge, the 28 gauge--and they just aren't working for me. I am going to watch the video again, and try again--I must be missing some detail. It seems as if, if I warm her ear up enough, it doesn't take as much of a jab, and I am sure it hurts less.

If I disappear for awhile it's because I'm trying to get ready to leave. I plan to come home at 1, test her and then I have to run to the vet to pick up more test strips that I ordered. I still have 8 strips or so left, but to me, that is "running out of strips" .

Later,
Corinne
 
More good news. Assuming that Heidi's shot schedule would have been back to usual today, 8 a.m. and 8 p.m., I just tested her at 1 p.m. which would be her +5 reading, and she's at 111.

I can't believe it. I just hope this holds! We may be discontinuing prednisone completely--I"m waiting to hear from the vet. I am going to keep watching her like a hawk and testing as much as I can. Poor little thing, every time we do the test now, she has this little "sob" noise her body does.

Corinne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top