5/22 Gus PMPS 445/+2=359

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Gus is purring and acts as if his mouth no longer is sore. Now we can get down to some real business of regulation. Happy Sunday! ~O) :smile: ~O)
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ ?6CYCLES?

Awesome that his mouth seems painfree. Now the fight begins in earnest!! Have a great Sunday! :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ ?6CYCLES?

I asked for dosing help last PM and Libby, you gave me your opinion and I appreciate it. But isn't my objective to get Gus to the blues without the use of R? I just don't understand the logic of keeping him at a dose that constantly requires R to keep him lower...and his numbers are going steadily up. I've probably offended you without meaning to, but I think that Gus needs to get <200 faster than holding for 2 more cycles. Obviously, this is not going to be Gus' breakthrough dose. Looking at Gus' SS, he has only been below renal level 2 times and that was only because of R. I don't see how holding him for 2 more cycles at this dose is the right thing to do. I probably shouldn't have bothered you with my question if i didn't want to follow your advice. I apologize for that. If I'm wrong in my thinking, please let me have it. I hope disagreeing doesn't count me out of low dose help in the future.
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ ?6CYCLES?

no offense! This is a discussion group, that's what we're here for.

I always try to give advice based on the protocol, but what you're suggesting.... well, honestly, it's what I would probably do if Gus was mine and I could monitor as much as you do. I'm usually more conservative with other people's cats than I am with my own. ;-)

One thing to keep in mind is that higher doses create bigger sheds. After 4 cycles, his shed is probably not completely full. Increasing after 4 cycles *could* allow you to find yourself a little over dose once he starts to catch up. As long as you're monitoring frequently and can deal with the lower numbers, you should be fine.

Interesting that you mention that the goal is to get him to blue without R. I've been studying the spreadsheets of the old-time acro kitties, and they ALL used R in almost every cycle. They intentially kept the Lantus/Lev dose a little lower and used R to steer the cycles. I don't understand it well enough (yet!) to apply that technique, but I'm experimenting a little bit with Jazzy this weekend to see what I can learn. I wanted to increase her Lev dose, but instead I'm using a bit more R. We'll see what happens! She is so sensitive to small amounts of R, and so far she has dropped farther than I expected at +2 so I might have to call off the experiment.
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ ?6CYCLES?

Great question about the R Bev! I've been wondering that myself! I do feel it's working so well for Guinness, I don't want to stop using it yet. Guinness hasn't been diagnosis as an acro kitty, but he's certainly acting like one and the R is really helping to keep him out of those 400 and 500s. Also, great explanation from Libby...thanks for experimenting on your own cat, so we can reap the benefit from all that knowledge!

Have a great day Gus, you deserve it!
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ ?6CYCLES?

just stopping in to cheer on you and gus, bev. can't offer any thoughts about the R, which :lol: i'm sure can be a blessing not to have 40 opinions about what to do!

glad gus' mouth is doing better.
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ another ?

OK, I think I understand the 'steering with R' concept...I think. I'll have to process it a little more. But, my question now is: When Gus was at 9U, wouldn't that have provided him with a full shed when I changed his dose to 6U? The shed idea is one that "makes me go Hmmm". I'll be running out for a couple of hours but will check back in hopes of learning some more.
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ another ?

bev5477 said:
OK, I think I understand the 'steering with R' concept...I think. I'll have to process it a little more. But, my question now is: When Gus was at 9U, wouldn't that have provided him with a full shed when I changed his dose to 6U? The shed idea is one that "makes me go Hmmm". I'll be running out for a couple of hours but will check back in hopes of learning some more.

9u would have helped his shed, but you only had two cycles of 9u after the dental, then you had two reduced shots before going to 6u. The shed was looking pretty drained by 5/20pm.
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/+2+441/R.25/ another ?

Bev, wonderful discussion you started this morning, those are things i've been wondering myself.. It almost seems like the more R that is used the more R the kitties require it to maintain an acceptable number range..
With Tommy, I don't know what's going on with his little brain right now.. He's got me going in so many different directions right now @-) @-) .. I think your right in your thought process and Libby has, as always, good thinking too. I'm also glad she is using Jazzy as the "guinea pig".. I hope Jazzy knows how grateful we are for that :-D

Very good to hear that Gus's mouth is no longer sore and is being a happy happy purrrrr kitty..
Have a great Day Bev, I'll be back by to see how things are going over here..
 
Re: 5/22 Gus AMPS 318/R.25(x3)/+7=491

Thanks Libby. That makes sense to me about his shed being depleted after the lower/partial doses.
 
Hi guys - I can't really help with the dosing, but did want to say HI! and that is is good to see Gus is feeling better, and that his mouth does not bother hi, Good news, and now back to business. :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top