5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +7 179; PMPS 516; PM +6 495?!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271

Hi guys .. ok Gem, let's see if we can add in some blues today ok? No advice on the fish supplement question .. but I know a lot of times when cats start spending longer times in the lower numbers, their fur starts looking much healthier again .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271

My vet made two recommendations about fish oil. The product she recommended is AllerG3 which comes in a pump bottle. You use about 1/2 of a pump. She also said you can use a human vitamin. I think the dose is about 300 mg. (I'm at work and the info is at home.) Several people here give fish oil. If you put a note in your subject line, people will stop by with info.

Gem saw some great numbers yesterday! It looks like she bounced off of those greens but maybe, the bounce is clearing.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201

Thanks guys - I know I couldn't believe those greens!!

Her +6 was 201 - go Gemmy!!!
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; Fish oil ques

I have used a couple of brands of salmon oil, Grizzly http://grizzlypetproducts.com/ and Wholistic Pet Organics http://www.wholisticpetorganics.com/. I first started using salmon oil on the recommendation of my vet for my Buster (GA) arthritis and now use it as salmon oil is a commonly recommended addition to raw food (which my furkids are eating). The daily recommended dose on the Wholistic Pet Organics (current bottle) is 1/4 tsp for a 1-10 lb cat and 1/2 tsp for a 11-25 lb cat. The Grizzly product also has rosemary extract. I think the Grizzly doses is also based on pumps so they have a cat size and dog size but they are the same contents, but cheaper for the larger one so good to know the tsp measurements.

I can't remember where, but somewhere I saw a discussion that cod liver oil is not as good or not recommended, so check to see what types of fish are in the oil, especially if there are any allergy issues. Also start with half dose, as some cats digestion may need time to adjust to it.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; Fish oil ques

Thanks for all the info Wendy, I will be doing some fish oil research tonight!

OK I am really confused by Gem's numbers today. She was looking good, 179 at +7, then at +9 I got 356. This sounded really high to me so I did it again and got 298. I'm assuming this is the 20% variance that can happen, but still??? Even going from 179 to 298 in 2 hours seems like a lot??
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356

When Neko has had some of her more spectacular bounces, I've seen her go up 200 points in one hour at the end of a cycle. Gem did go from 382 down to 271 in 2 hours on the way down.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356

Wendy&Neko said:
When Neko has had some of her more spectacular bounces, I've seen her go up 200 points in one hour at the end of a cycle. Gem did go from 382 down to 271 in 2 hours on the way down.

That's true! Patience is a virtue, my mom always says, it's so hard though! So you would just hold the dose for a while more?
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356

I can't answer dosing questions, but if you change your first subject line and add "dose question" then someone more knowledgeable will be along to help. I keep on hearing that this is a marathon, not a sprint, and it is so true.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356

I would hold the dose for a while. Those green numbers yesterday were real nice, and not too low, just perfect for now.
And she came down to blues today, so she didn't hang on to her bounce too long.
J.D. bounces like crazy. I would be happy with her numbers, for the moment. Tomorrow is another day. Maybe a little bit more green will show up.

I bought Wild Alaskan Salmon Gel Caps from the health food store, and J.D. did not like them. Maybe, I gave him too much at first. I gave up quickly. I guess I should have eaten them myself :-| yuck.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +2 382; +4 271; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356

Dyana said:
I would hold the dose for a while. Those green numbers yesterday were real nice, and not too low, just perfect for now.
And she came down to blues today, so she didn't hang on to her bounce too long.
J.D. bounces like crazy. I would be happy with her numbers, for the moment. Tomorrow is another day. Maybe a little bit more green will show up.

I bought Wild Alaskan Salmon Gel Caps from the health food store, and J.D. did not like them. Maybe, I gave him too much at first. I gave up quickly. I guess I should have eaten them myself :-| yuck.

Thanks, Dyana…just want to do right by Gem and not cause her more problems.

LOL at the gel caps, I tried to get my kids to take fish oil, that was a no go! Why would I expect my cat to take it!
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +6 201; +7 179;+9 356/298 - Clueless

Maybe you could start with a little tiny bit, and work your way up.
My nose is wrinkling right now, remembering that smell :-| If I took it, would I smell like that :?
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +7 179; PMPS 516!!! Dose ?

I'm of two minds here, looking for input:

Option 1) Gem has shown some nice low numbers the past few days, as well as some high one. She's bouncing and we need to ride it out til she settles into some lower numbers

Option 2) While on 3u, she was not swinging as much, and she had a fructosamine that was "normal", but she wasn't getting numbers as low. I should have left it at that dose. I also wasn't testing as much at that point.

Anyone care to weigh in - since we've had 4 cycles at 2.5, stick with it for another day to get the 6 cycles? Or call it a day and bump back to 3?

All opinions pro and con are welcome & appreciated!
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +7 179; PMPS 516!!! Dose ?

I think there's a bit of a confound on your conclusion about how Gem was doing at 3.0u -- you were doing more urine glucose testing than BG testing. If you recall, the UG tests do not register well in the lower ranges (probably in the blues).

You're seeing bounces. Gem bounced off of the greens and then again today, bounced off of the 200 point drop from AMPS to +7. All you can really do is wait the bounce out given that you've seen green numbers at this dose. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. This is where you take a few deep breaths and be patient. The good news is that you're seeing good results from this dose. The bad news is that Gem's liver is overreacting. The more time that Gem spends in better numbers, the more her liver will get used to being in those ranges and stop reacting.
 
Re: 5/22 Gem AMPS 385; +7 179; PMPS 516!!! Dose ?

You're right Sienne, thanks for talking me down! Trying the deep breathing!

I think there's a bit of a confound on your conclusion about how Gem was doing at 3.0u -- you were doing more urine glucose testing than BG testing. If you recall, the UG tests do not register well in the lower ranges (probably in the blues).

I know the UG is not as reliable. I was seeing some negatives in there. Would it be safe to say it measures the extremes, high and low, better than the middles?

So I can feel ok holding this dose for a bit more. I just don't want to do any more damage to her, kwim?!
 
Gem's really making me nutty today with her numbers….trying to breathe and hang in there. Luckily I tested her urine, negative for ketones!
 
I know the UG is not as reliable. I was seeing some negatives in there. Would it be safe to say it measures the extremes, high and low, better than the middles

Not really. The following is from the position statement from the International Diabetes Federation:
If the urine is free of glucose, it is an indication that the blood glucose level is below the renal threshold, which can vary, but is usually accepted as corresponding to a blood glucose level of 10 mmol/l (180 mg/dl). Results also do not distinguish between moderately raised and grossly elevated blood glucose levels. A particular concern is that a negative test does not distinguish between normoglycaemia and hypoglycaemia.
So, if you get a negative reading, all it's telling you is that Gem is below renal threshold -- numbers are somewhere below approximately 180. However, the negative reading could mean that numbers are 150, 70, or 20. That's the low end. On the high end, you could have a high reading and it could mean 300 or 600. Basically, UG is OK in the middle but not the extremes.
 
Basically, UG is OK in the middle but not the extremes.

LOL, love how I got that totally backward!! Every day I discover more that I don't know!

Well the good news is that I am back to regular BG testing. I'm not understanding what's going on at all, but it's OK, Ill keep testing and watching and learning.

Thanks as always for your input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top