5/22 Doogle Long night and day. Skip tonight or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Hey guys, sorry I have not posted in a long time but with two jobs, it was hard to do it all the time. School ends tomorrow so at least I will be able to keep things updated. So here is what happened to me last night/today. Yesterday, Doogle was doing really good at nadir yesterday (95). Doogle is on 3u of Lantus. Fed him like normal.He stayed around a very low 100s till +9.5 and he was 61. So fed him a little MC and it helped. So at PMPS he was 203...no biggie, shot that before (or around that). We had to delay the night before. The DH checked him at +2 he was 167, then kept checking him and he continued to go down and down. Nothing we did would help. Honey, HC, Honey in HC ...hell even a few temptations. After his shot in the pm also, he started getting sick....but I didnt know that since I was asleep and the DH was trying to let me sleep because of work. I got work up around +4 and Doogle was throwing up on my bed (we kept him in the room with the door closed so we could find him easier). He was drinking ALOT! which was weird with numbers like he had (44 and lower).He didnt want to do anything, not even play (which Doogle LOVES to play when his numbers are great). So we decided to go to the vet, thinking we may have to put him on a drip. He checked him out, heart is good, teeth are good, temp was good, felt the tummy and that was good. He checked him and of course it was up some due to stress (and the vet knew that). He said to bring him home and continue to test. If things get worse, come back (he is a great vet....came in early just for us). So no shot at the AMPS and its now +14 and he is only 63. He still wont eat, just sleeping. So when we start back on our shots, we will be shooting a lower does (we are going to start at 2u). I have been a nervous ass wreck all day, slept maybe 3 good hours and the DH just went to sleep an hour and half ago after being up for 24 hours. I will update later on.
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

Oh my! I hope everything is ok with him soon and you guys get some much needed rest. nailbite_smile That must have been very scary. I have to say that it is awesome that your DH stayed up 24 hours with Doogle. That is a lucky and very much loved kitty!
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

Sending healing vines to Doogle kitty - hope he feels better soon and stays in safe numbers!
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

Poor Doogle and poor you and DH! I am so sorry. Sending tons of healing vines for the big D. (((((Donna)))))
Liz
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

How scary! That is my nightmare :o Hope Doogle is feeling better soon, and you are able to find out why it happened. Healing vines to Doogle, and hope you and DH are able to get some rest.
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

Doogle is getting better....still not eating but he is at 87. He is still sleeping next to the DH. Thank you to everyone for all the healing vines and hugs!!!!!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

Geez. That had to be scary!

Is there any chance you gave an incorrect dose? It may explain the low numbers and Doogle getting sick.
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

The DH swears he did the right dose. We will never know. He is asleep still, did get up to drink some water and stretch a little but still doesnt want to eat. No shot till maybe tonight. Right now he is at 134 at +18.
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

If this was an overdose, you're smart to hold off on the insulin. Doogle may be sensitive to insulin as a result if this was, in fact, an overdose.
 
Re: 5/22 Doogle Long night and day

We hope that all will be fine now. Doogle may just have to get re-adjusted after that shake-up (whatever it was). Sending lots of vines for a good evening and night and a fine day tomorrow.

Ella & Rusty
 
Well what I am wondering is, should I go ahead and skip tonight? He ate a few pieces of chicken and licked the FF turkey and giblets but he really doenst have an interest in eating. He did play a little bit which is good. But should I go ahead and skip and start in the morning? Still have a few hours to see what happens. Would like to get him back on track. But if we have to wait, we can wait.
 
Oh yeah....let me post them. Sorry...LOL.

Didnt get a test at +12....we were letting him rest after all the stress.
+13 62
+14.5 87
+16.25 134
+18.5 282

I can post the numbers from before we went to the vet and right after if you want....but they went as low as 29 and was literally 42 for three hours in a row....LOL
 
Donna, I hope you guys get some rest tonight I know you've had quite the day. Doogle gave a big scare hope we see some good numbers for the night cat_pet_icon Healing vines going your way.
 
I'm glad to hear that Doogle is ok - wow that must have been scary. Big time exhaustion. I hope things settle down for all of you!
 
Donna:

I asked some experienced Lantus folks to stop by. I don't know if they are available. My inclination is to suggest that you skip. If Doogle isn't eating reliably and given the protracted string of low numbers, there's a strong possibility that Doogle may be sensitized to insulin right now. I really doubt you'd want a repeat of last night.

OTOH, if one of the experienced folks gives you a "go ahead," I'll defer to their expertise.
 
Yeah I think we are going to go ahead and skip. We will check for ketones if possible. He hasnt really gone to the bathroom since 6am and that was soft and tan. I would prefer to side on the ere of caution. I will update yall tomorrow when I come home from my last day of school and out for summer....YEAH!

Thank you to everyone and all your thoughts and healing vines!!!! You have all made me feel so much better. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top