5/22 Cobb PMPS 209 +1.5 300 +4.75 370(3uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Well, since yesterday's R didn't go quite the way I had hoped, I adjusted my scale a bit for this morning and bumped it up a bit. A nicer PS but we can do better.

Nothing much else to report this morning. Thanks for all the kind words yesterday. I appreciate them!

Hope everyone has a great Thursday. Almost to the weekend!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127

Hi guys .. well that wasn't a bad start to the day today, and that +2.75 looks pretty nice too! have a great day!
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127

Continuing to keep you and Cobb in my thoughts and prayers.....I can only imagine how difficult this is for you! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +4.5 113

I'm sorry you're having such a frustrating time with the high dose:( I'm glad to see a nice low blue for Cobb today! Hugs to you, I hope you have a good day and continue to see good numbers:)
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +4.5 113

Nice looking cycle today Cobb! Good luck with the revised R scales.

Sorry I didn't stop by yesterday, although I did read Cobb's condo. :YMHUG: One of the things I've been thinking about is split dosing. I remember reading over on the acro/IAA forum that some people will split the larger doses into two injection sites for better absorption. So, one on left, one on right, R in the middle. It's not something you'd do the same time as an increase. You might want to pop over there and search around for some references. We never got high enough to try it. I'll ask Julie if she knows more.
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +4.5 113 +6 95

WOW!! Look at Cobb!! Is that a GREEN number?

That's awesome Suzanne! Especially without using any R today!

Keep surfing right there Cobb!

(Suzanne, it's 5/22, not 4/22....lol)
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +4.5 113 +6 95

Dammit Chris!!! Why is it not still April?!?! I'm going to have a one year old next month...OMG.
 
Re: 4/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +4.5 113 +6 95

Hi there :cool:

((((Suzanne))))

I started splitting BKs Lantus dose out of necessity.
When it reached a size that required a time to push that was longer than the time I was able to sustain a steady hand, it was furshot after furshot.
So he would often get 3 shots at each PS- 2L and 1R.
Each shot was placed as Wendy described - 1 to the right, 1 to the left and a 3rd in the middle.
However I did it all the time, regardless of whether I was increasing or not - It was the only way I could manage.
Whether it benefited absorption I don't really know - my goal was just to get the insulin into him.

It is certainly worth a try.
If you do it's important your mind be fully present when preparing the syringes and that you take a moment to cross check before shooting.
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb AMPS 267 +2.75 127 +6 95 +8.25 103 +10 129

great cycle today for mr cobb!

i know about the split dosing. Jojo had a post somewhere that said once a cat got to 8u there would be better absorption if you split the dose. I didn't do it primarily because i felt like punkin was getting so many pokes that i didn't want to add more. he got shots for Vit b12, the sub-q fluids, adequan, bupe, and of course the Lantus and R. So I just opted to stay in one shot.

It's certainly worth giving it a try to see if it helps.

It's always interesting to open Cobb's spreadsheet. A very ugly black/red spreadsheet when it first opens, then as i scroll down it it goes pink/yellow and then gets into good numbers. Then there are repeated phases where his numbers go up and the ss goes pink, and then you whack them back down again and the ss goes mostly blue. Then pinks reappear, and you whack them back down. This repeats several times. Have you noticed it? You're gaining control over the blood sugar again right now. Well done, suzanne. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209

Thanks all! Cobb and I needed today!

Julie, I have seen what you're talking about. I do wish there weren't those jumps because I don't know if I slacked off in being aggressive that led to them. I'm now scared to not give R with his Lantus shots. Obviously the preshots are going to be higher because the L is wearing off. But I don't want him to do the bounce that takes cycles to clear and ends up in a dose increase. I hesitate to put this out there but I can't help but notice today's numbers came on the second cycle at this dose. I wonder if it means anything to see it so soon - especially with so little R given in the past 24 hours.
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209

Hi Suzanne and Cobb!

I'm not sure I've commented on Cobb's condo before, but I just wanted to send some cyber-hugs your way. We all know that our cats aren't just their numbers, but man...sometimes a good cycle really can lift your spirits just when you need it. :smile: Congratulations on a really good looking cycle for Cobb today. :-D

I don't know the first thing about fighting IAA or acro, and can only really offer a little bit of moral support, but the boundless love you have for your big orange head boy is absolutely evident in your efforts with him each and every day. cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209

i don't think his need for dose increases come from something you are doing or not doing, suzanne. we aren't in control of what's going on in his little sweet body. If he has acro, the tumor can ramp up production or slow down. it's just hard to know other than by what numbers you see, then making decisions to adjust his dose based upon those. I'm not sure what you could do other than what you are doing.

I'm not sure what you're saying about him increasing on the 2nd cycle after the dose increase. Are you worried that he needs more frequent dose increases of L in order to bring down his numbers?
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209 +1.5 300

No no. I should not write while I'm rocking a squirmy baby to sleep. ohmygod_smile

I noticed that today's nice numbers came on the second cycle of this dose. Usually Cobb doesn't respond to a dose increase this quickly. It's usually the 4th or 5th cycle. I was hesitant to put that out there as it may be too optimistic to hope this may be a good dose. I'm sorry, I didn't explain that well in my first post.

No, the NDW that Cobb usually experiences is reason enough for me to know to hold the dose at least 4 cycles. And I don't want to jump around on the depot either. I like rules I like order. I like the protocol, as frustrating as it may be. :lol:

I see Cobb has started his bounce. Mr. Liver needs to understand that I know what I'm doing. There's no need to freak out. :roll:
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209

Jen&Eddie said:
Hi Suzanne and Cobb!

I'm not sure I've commented on Cobb's condo before, but I just wanted to send some cyber-hugs your way. We all know that our cats aren't just their numbers, but man...sometimes a good cycle really can lift your spirits just when you need it. :smile: Congratulations on a really good looking cycle for Cobb today. :-D

I don't know the first thing about fighting IAA or acro, and can only really offer a little bit of moral support, but the boundless love you have for your big orange head boy is absolutely evident in your efforts with him each and every day. cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
Thanks Jen (and Eddie)! My orange guy and I have been through a lot. I often joke he was the baggage that I brought into marriage. :lol: Oddly enough, Matt doesn't contradict that statement. Hmmm.... :lol:

We love moral support!! Honestly, sometimes that is more helpful that dosing advice! :smile:
 
Re: 5/22 Cobb PMPS 209 +1.5 300

isn't that true!? moral support is everything!

ah, i get now what you mean. thanks for explaining it further.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top